Utah Car Insurance After a DUI

The Zebra
Aug. 24, 2018

If you get a DUI in Utah, your auto insurance is going to grow more expensive — it's only a matter of how large the penalty will be. Fortunately, Utah car insurance costs are comparatively unchanged by your DUI history, compared against other American states.


Need a new policy? Compare rates today!


How will a DUI impact car insurance in Utah?

In Utah, a DUI conviction will raise your annual car insurance premium by an average of $373. That is 174% less than the national average premium hike after a DUI.


CAR INSURANCE WITH A DUI IN UTAH — AVERAGE YEARLY PENALTY
Area Avg. rate - no DUI Avg. rate - with DUI Avg. increase after DUI
Utah $1,111.79 $1,484.68 33%
United States $1,397.11 $2,416.87 72%

How to find auto insurance coverage in Utah after a DUI conviction

Purchasing affordable car insurance after a DUI conviction isn’t an easy task. In fact, a DUI often results in a larger rate increase than does any other driving violation — more than an at-fault accident, reckless driving, or racing. Utah is a somewhat benign state in which to rack up a DUI: its insurance rate hikes are among America's least stringent.


Best car insurance after a DUI in Utah

If you've been convicted of a DWI or DUI offense in Utah, it is key to consider all of your insurance possibilities judiciously. Car insurance prices after a DUI can vary widely depending on the company. For example, the cheapest car insurer with a DUI in Utah, Bear River, offers annual rates 60% more affordable than the state average insurance premium with a DUI. The second-most affordable option for car insurance after a DUI in Utah is GEICO, while the most expensive insurer is Iowa Mutual, with prices 38% pricer than average.


CAR INSURANCE RATES WITH DUI IN UTAH — BY COMPANY
Insurance company Avg. rate after DUI
Bear River $597
GEICO $1,174
State Farm $1,662
Progressive $1,722
Farmers $1,727
Allstate $1,787
American Family $1,983
Iowa Farm Bureau $2,047

There’s no auto insurer in particular that sells inexpensive DUI auto insurance. The best way to save money post-DUI conviction is to look at multiple options.

Get rates online or contact an insurance agent to gauge your choices and find the best DUI insurance policy.

Find out more about car insurance options after a DUI violation.


Utah DUI laws

Drivers are DUI in Utah when their blood alcohol concentration measures 0.08% or higher. Commercial drivers are held to a stricter standard and are considered DUI when their BAC reads 0.04% or higher.

In the near-future, the legal drinking limit will be reduced from 0.08% to 0.05% .

Drivers under 21 years old are DUI in Utah if they have any level of detectable alcohol in their system.


DUI penalties in Utah

There is a 10-year DUI lookback period in the state of Utah. Multiple DUI offenses within this timeframe result in harsher penalties and fines.

A DUI leading to injury results in enhanced fines and harsher sentencing. Penalties are also increased for a DUI with a passenger under 16 in the vehicle.

First-time DUI offenses in Utah lead to:

  • 48 hours to six months in jail
  • $700 to $1,000 in fines
  • A 90-day license revocation with the possibility for a longer revocation period
  • The possible requirement to install and use an ignition interlock device

A second DUI offense in Utah results in:

  • 10 days to six months in jail
  • $800 to $1,000 in fines
  • License revocation for one year with the possibility for a longer revocation period
  • Possible requirement to install and use an IID

Third-time DUI offenders in Utah are subject to:

  • Up to five years in jail
  • Up to $5,000 in fines
  • License revocation for one year with the possibility for a longer revocation period
  • Possible requirement to install and use an IID

DUI penalties for underage drinkers in Utah

Underage DUI offenders in Utah may be subject to the same laws and penalties as a driver who is 21 or older.

In addition, a first-time underage DUI offender will face a license suspension for two years or until age 21, whichever is longer. Two or more offenses within three years will result in a license suspension of one year.

Underage DUI offenders in Utah must also use an IID.

Sources and references:

https://www.dmv.org/ut-utah/automotive-law/dui.php

https://www.edgarsnyder.com/drunk-driving/driving-alcohol-laws/utah.html

https://www.sltrib.com/news/2018/07/18/utah-its-cops-are-bracing/

Shop now!

Don't forget to share!