If you get a DUI in Vermont, your car insurance is going to get more expensive — it's just a question of by how much. Luckily, Vermont auto insurance costs are not affected significantly by one's DUI history, when measured against all US states.
Looking for insurance after a DUI? Compare rates!
In what way does being convicted of DUI influence car insurance in Vermont?
In Vermont, a DUI will boost your annual car insurance rate by an average of $764. That is 34% less than the U.S. average premium jump after a DUI.
CAR INSURANCE AFTER DUI IN VERMONT — MEAN ANNUAL PREMIUM
|Area||Avg. rate - no DUI||Avg. rate - with DUI||Avg. increase after DUI|
Finding car insurance coverage in Vermont with a DUI conviction
Purchasing affordable auto insurance after a DUI conviction isn’t simple. In fact, a DUI generally brings about a greater cost increase than any single driving violation — more than reckless driving, racing, or an at-fault accident.
Cheap auto insurance after a DUI in Vermont
If you've been convicted of a driving under the influence offense in Vermont, it is essential to consider each of your insurance choices thoroughly. Car insurance premiums after a DUI often vary widely by company. For instance, the cheapest auto insurance company with a DUI in Vermont, State Farm, provides yearly rates 30% less than the state average insurance price after a DUI violation. The next-cheapest option for car insurance after a DUI in Vermont is Concord, while the most expensive company is Vermont Mutual, with rates 165% above average.
CAR INSURANCE PRICES AFTER DUI IN VERMONT — BY INSURER
|Insurance company||Avg. rate after DUI|
|Union Mutual of Vermont||$4,746|
There’s no auto insurance company in particular that provides affordable DUI car insurance. The best way to save in the wake of a DUI citation is to assess multiple insurers.
Get pricing info via The Zebra or contact an insurance expert to weigh the choices and discover a suitable policy.
Read more about car insurance options after a DUI conviction.
Compare top insurers today!
Vermont DUI regulations
Drivers are DUI in Vermont when their blood alcohol concentration measures 0.08% or higher. Commercial drivers are held to a stricter standard and are considered DUI when their BAC reads 0.04% or higher.
Drivers under 21 years old are DUI in Vermont if their BAC is 0.02% or higher.
DUI penalties in Vermont
Vermont's DUI lookback period is 10 years. Multiple offenses within this timeframe subject offenders to harsher penalties.
In addition to the below penalties, drivers guilty of a DUI in Vermont are subject to an assortment of fees for attendance in treatment programs, screenings, and license reinstatement. Penalties are also enhanced for any DUIs that result in serious injury or death.
First-time DUI offenses in Vermont lead to:
- Up to two years in jail
- Up to $750 in fines
- License suspension for 90 days
A second DUI offense in Vermont results in:
- 60 hours to two years in jail
- Up to $1,500 in fines
- Possible requirement to perform at least 200 hours of community service in lieu of some jail time
- License suspension for 18 months
Third-time DUI offenders in Vermont are subject to:
- 96 hours to five years in jail
- Up to $2,500 in fines
- Lifetime license revocation
In some instances, a judge may require a DUI offender to install and use an ignition interlock device for some period of time in addition to any other relevant sentence.
DUI penalties for underage drinkers in Vermont
Driving with a 0.02% or higher BAC while under 21 years old is a DUI in Vermont.
First-time underage DUI offenders will receive a license suspension for six months. Subsequent offenses will result in a license suspension of one year or until the age of 21, whichever is longer. In both cases, offenders will be required to attend an alcohol abuse program at their own expense.
Sources and references: