Virginia Car Insurance After a DUI

The Zebra
Aug. 24, 2018

If you are found guilty of DUI in Virginia, your auto insurance policy is going to become more expensive — it's a matter of how large your penalty will be. Luckily, Virginia auto insurance rates are not influenced significantly by your history of serious driving violations, compared to all other American states.


Need car insurance after a DUI? Compare rates today!


In what way does being convicted of DUI affect car insurance in Virginia?

In Virginia, a DUI conviction will lift your annual car insurance cost by an average of $661. That’s 54% less than the national average premium hike after a DUI.


CAR INSURANCE WITH A DUI IN VIRGINIA — AVERAGE ANNUAL COST
Area Avg. rate - no DUI Avg. rate - with DUI Avg. increase after DUI
Virginia $900.83 $1,561.92 72%
United States $1,397.11 $2,416.87 72%

Purchasing car insurance in Virginia after a DUI

Finding cheap car insurance after a DUI conviction is anything but straightforward. In fact, a DUI typically results in a bigger cost increase than any other driving transgression — more than reckless driving, racing, or an at-fault accident.


Cheapest car insurance after a DUI in Virginia

If you have been convicted of a DWI or DUI violation in Virginia, it’s essential to mull over available insurance options carefully. Car insurance costs after a DUI can vary substantially depending on the company. For example, the most affordable car insurer with a DUI in Virginia, Erie, offers annual prices 27% more affordable than the state average insurance premium with a DUI conviction. The next-cheapest company for auto insurance after a DUI in Virginia is Progressive, while the most expensive company is Nationwide, with prices 88% above the mean.


CAR INSURANCE RATES AFTER DUI IN VIRGINIA — BY INSURANCE COMPANY
Insurance company Avg. rate after DUI
Erie $1,135
Progressive $1,403
Allstate $1,816
State Farm $1,896
GEICO $2,030
Nationwide $2,940

There’s no car insurer in particular that offers low-cost DUI auto insurance. The recommended way to save in the wake of a DUI violation is to shop around.

Get prices online or contact your insurance agent to survey the landscape and find the cheapest plan.

Learn more about car insurance after a DUI violation.


Virginia DUI laws

Drivers are DUI in Virginia when their blood alcohol concentration measures 0.08% or higher. Commercial drivers are held to a stricter standard and are considered DUI when their BAC reads 0.04% or higher.

Drivers under 21 years old are DUI in Virginia if their BAC is 0.02% or higher.


DUI penalties in Virginia

Virginia has a 10-year lookback period for most offenses, though subsequent offenses committed within five years may lead to harsher penalties.

Penalties are also enhanced for high or extremely high BAC levels or for committing a DUI offense while transporting a passenger who is 17 years old or younger.

All DUI offenders must report to an Alcohol Safety Action Program for screening and review. There may be a required attendance in classes or treatment before license reinstatement.

First-time DUI offenses in Virginia lead to:

  • At least $250 in fines
  • License revocation for one year

A second DUI offense in Virginia results in:

  • Up to one year in jail (minimum 10 or 20 days based on BAC)
  • At least $500 in fines
  • License revocation for three years

Third-time DUI offenders in Virginia are guilty of a felony and subject to:

  • At least six months in jail if offense is within five years of a prior conviction
  • At least 90 days in jail if offense is within 10 years of a prior conviction
  • At least $1,000 in fines
  • Indefinite license revocation
  • Possible vehicle forfeiture

A fourth DUI offense in Virginia is a felony charge and results in:

  • At least one year in jail
  • At least $1,000 in fines
  • Indefinite license revocation
  • Possible vehicle forfeiture

In addition to the above penalties, courts in Virginia will require the installation and use of an ignition interlock device for a defined period of time based on past convictions.

DUI offenders in Virginia may also be responsible for paying restitution of up to $1,000 to first responder agencies responding to a crash or other incident related to a DUI.


DUI penalties for underage drinkers in Virginia

Drivers under the age of 21 are guilty of an underage DUI in Virginia if their BAC is between 0.02% and less than 0.08%. Those whose BAC is 0.08% or above are subject to the same penalties as an adult due to Virginia's Equal Penalties for Under Age 21 clause.

Underage DUI offenders will receive a license suspension for one year and either a minimum fine of $500 or requirement to perform at least 50 hours of community service.

Sources and references:

https://www.dmv.virginia.gov/webdoc/pdf/dmv168.pdf

https://www.dmv.org/va-virginia/automotive-law/dui.php

https://www.edgarsnyder.com/drunk-driving/driving-alcohol-laws/virginia.html

Shop for a new policy now!

Don't forget to share!