If you commit DUI in Washington, your auto insurance is going to get pricier — it's just a question of how large the penalty will be. Fortunately, Washington auto insurance costs aren't swayed much by a motorist's DUI history, when measured against other American states.
Need car insurance after a DUI? Compare rates today!
How does being convicted of DUI impact auto insurance in Washington?
In Washington, a DUI conviction can raise your annual auto insurance rate by an average of $664. That’s 54% less than the U.S. average rate increase after a DUI.
CAR INSURANCE AFTER DUI IN WASHINGTON — AVERAGE ANNUAL PREMIUM
|Area||Avg. rate - no DUI||Avg. rate - with DUI||Avg. increase after DUI|
Shopping for car insurance in Washington after a DUI conviction
Getting affordable car insurance after a DUI offense isn’t simple. In fact, a DUI generally results in a larger rate increase than does any other driving violation — more than reckless driving, racing, or an at-fault accident.
Cheapest car insurance with a DUI in Washington
If you're convicted of a driving under the influence violation in Washington, it’s essential to consider your insurance choices carefully. Car insurance rates after a DUI often vary greatly depending on the company. For instance, the cheapest car insurance company with a DUI in Washington, PEMCO, advertises yearly premiums 33% less than the state average insurance premium after a DUI violation. The next-most affordable option for car insurance after a DUI in Washington is Progressive, while the most expensive company is State Farm, with premiums 38% above average.
AUTO INSURANCE RATES WITH DUI IN WASHINGTON — BY COMPANY
|Insurance company||Avg. rate after DUI|
There’s no auto insurance company in particular that offers cheap DUI car insurance. The recommended strategy to save post-DUI citation is to compare policies.
Get quotes via The Zebra or contact an insurance agent to assess the choices and find a cost-effective plan.
Shop for a policy today!
Washington DUI laws
Drivers are DUI in Washington when their blood alcohol concentration measures 0.08% or higher. Commercial drivers are held to a stricter standard and are considered DUI when their BAC reads 0.04% or higher.
Drivers under 21 years old are DUI in Washington if their BAC is 0.02% or higher.
DUI penalties in Washington
The DUI lookback period in Washington State is seven years. Repeated DUI offenses within this timeframe subject offenders to harsher penalties and fines.
In addition, a BAC of 0.15% or higher, a DUI with a passenger under 16 years old, or reckless or negligent driving results in enhanced penalties.
First-time DUI offenses in Washington lead to:
- 24 consecutive hours to 364 days in jail
- $940.50 to $5,000 in fines
- License suspension for 90 days
- Possible requirement to use an interlock ignition device for at least one year
A second DUI offense in Washington results in:
- 30 to 364 days in jail
- $1,195.50 to $5,000 in fines
- License revocation for two years
- Possible requirement to use an IID for at least five years
Penalties for three or more DUI offenses in Washington are:
- 90 to 364 days in jail
- $2,045.50 to $5,000 in fines
- License revocation for three years
- Possible requirement to use an IID for at least 10 years
In addition to the above penalties, a judge may order DUI offenders an alcohol or drug education program, 24/7 Sobriety Program, victim impact program, or treatment.
DUI penalties for underage drinkers in Washington
A driver under age 21 with a BAC less than 0.08% is still DUI in Washington. Penalties include up to 90 days in jail and a fine of up to $1,000. An underage DUI offender's license may be suspended until they turn 21.
Sources and references: