West Virginia Car Insurance After a DUI

The Zebra
Aug. 24, 2018

If you are found guilty of DUI in West Virginia, your car insurance is going to become more expensive — it's just a question of by how much. Luckily, West Virginia car insurance costs aren't affected much by your history of serious driving violations, compared to all US states.


Need a new car insurance policy? Shop today!


In what way will being convicted of DUI impact car insurance in West Virginia?

In West Virginia, a DUI can raise your annual auto insurance premium by an average of $1,048. That’s 3% more than the national average premium jump after a DUI.


CAR INSURANCE AFTER DUI IN WEST VIRGINIA — AVERAGE YEARLY PENALTY
Area Avg. rate - no DUI Avg. rate - with DUI Avg. increase after DUI
West Virginia $1,378.51 $2,426.47 76%
United States $1,397.11 $2,416.87 72%

How to find auto insurance in West Virginia with a DUI violation

Purchasing cheap auto coverage in the wake of a DUI conviction isn’t straightforward. In fact, a DUI often results in a greater rate hike than any other road violation — more than racing, reckless driving, or an at-fault accident.


Affordable auto insurance after a DUI in West Virginia

If you've been convicted of a driving under the influence offense in West Virginia, it’s critical to examine all possible insurance options carefully. Auto insurance premiums after a DUI can deviate substantially by company. For instance, the cheapest car insurance company after a DUI in West Virginia, State Farm, provides yearly rates 49% better than the state average insurance premium after a DUI conviction. The next-cheapest option for auto insurance with a DUI in West Virginia is Erie, while the most expensive firm is GEICO, at 70% above average.


CAR INSURANCE RATES AFTER DUI IN WEST VIRGINIA — BY INSURANCE COMPANY
Insurance company Avg. rate after DUI
State Farm $1,240
Erie $1,316
Allstate $2,531
Progressive $2,690
Nationwide $2,716
Westfield $2,933
GEICO $4,120

There is no car insurance company in particular offering affordable DUI auto insurance. The easiest way to save money after a DUI violation is to shop around.

Find pricing information online or contact an insurance expert to assess your choices and find a cost-effective DUI insurance policy.

Read more about car insurance options with a DUI violation.


Find car insurance today!


West Virginia DUI laws

Drivers are DUI in West Virginia when their blood alcohol concentration measures 0.08% or higher. Commercial drivers are held to a stricter standard and are considered DUI when their BAC reads 0.04% or higher.

Based on observation of potential impairment, drivers in West Virginia may also be considered DUI if their BAC is below 0.08% but above 0.05%.

Drivers under 21 years old are DUI in West Virginia if their BAC is 0.02% or higher.


DUI penalties in West Virginia

The DUI lookback period in West Virginia is 10 years. Multiple offenses within this timeframe subject offenders to harsher penalties.

Penalties are also enhanced for DUI offenders whose BAC is 0.15% or higher, for a DUI with a minor passenger, or for DUI leading to injury or death.

First-time DUI offenses in West Virginia lead to:

  • Up to six months in jail
  • $100 to $500 in fines
  • License revocation for 90 days
  • May require the installation and use of an interlock ignition device

A second DUI offense in West Virginia results in:

  • Six months to one year in jail
  • $1,000 to $3,000 in fines
  • License revocation for at least one year
  • Requires the installation and use of an IID

Three or more DUI offenses in West Virginia are felonies. Penalties are:

  • Two to five years in jail
  • $3,000 to $5,000 in fines
  • License revocation for at least one year
  • Requires the installation and use of an IID

In addition to the above penalties, courts may order DUI offenders in West Virginia to complete a substance abuse evaluation or DUI education program.


DUI penalties for underage drinkers in West Virginia

West Virginia is a zero-tolerance state and does not permit those under the age of 21 to drive with a BAC of 0.02% or higher.

Drivers under the age of 18 will have a license revoked for as long as the statute demands or until age 21, whichever period is longer.

For a first-time underage DUI, offenders will:

  • Be fined $25 to $100
  • Receive a license revocation for up to 60 days
  • May require the installation and use of an IID

Two or more underage DUI offenses lead to:

  • 24 hours in jail
  • $100 to $500 in fines
  • Installation and use of an IID

Sources and references:

https://transportation.wv.gov/DMV/DMVFormSearch/Impaired-Brochure.pdf

https://dhhr.wv.gov/bhhf/Sections/programs/ProgramsPartnerships/AlcoholismandDrugAbuse/Pages/WVDUIResidents.aspx

Don't forget to share!