Wisconsin Car Insurance with a DUI

The Zebra
Aug. 24, 2018

If you get a DUI in the state of Wisconsin, your car insurance is going to be more expensive — it is just a question of by how much. Fortunately, Wisconsin auto insurance premiums are relatively unchanged by a history of serious driving violations, compared to all US states.


Find cheap car insurance today!


How does being convicted of DUI affect car insurance in Wisconsin?

In Wisconsin, a DUI will raise your annual auto insurance premium by an average of $491. That’s 108% less than the national average premium increase after a DUI.


AUTO INSURANCE AFTER DUI IN WISCONSIN — AVERAGE ANNUAL PENALTY
Area Avg. rate - no DUI Avg. rate - with DUI Avg. increase after DUI
Wisconsin $1,040.43 $1,531.14 47%
United States $1,397.11 $2,416.87 72%

How to find car insurance in Wisconsin with a DUI conviction

Finding affordable auto insurance after a DUI conviction is not straightforward. In fact, a DUI typically results in a larger cost increase than any other road violation — more than reckless driving, racing, or an at-fault accident.


Affordable car insurance after a DUI in Wisconsin

If you are convicted of a DUI or DWI offense in Wisconsin, it’s critical to review each of your insurance possibilities with care. Auto insurance premiums after a DUI can fluctuate substantially by company. For example, the most affordable car insurance company with a DUI in Wisconsin, State Farm, advertises yearly premiums 39% below the statewide average insurance rate with a DUI. The second-most affordable company for car insurance after a DUI in Wisconsin is GEICO, while the priciest company is Acuity, with rates 31% pricer than average.


CAR INSURANCE COSTS WITH DUI IN WISCONSIN — BY COMPANY
Insurance company Avg. rate after DUI
State Farm $941
GEICO $1,304
Farmers $1,666
Farmers $1,470
Progressive $1,503
American Family $1,534
Secura $1,700
Allstate $1,769
Acuity $2,007

There’s no auto insurance company specifically offering inexpensive DUI auto insurance. The easiest way to save money post-DUI conviction is to shop policies.

Find rate info online or contact an insurance agent to gauge your choices and find the best policy.

Read more about car insurance options after a DUI.


Wisconsin OWI/DUI laws

Wisconsin considers a driver to be operating while intoxicated, or OWI, when their blood alcohol concentration measures 0.08% or higher. Commercial drivers are OWI if their BAC reads 0.04% or higher.

Drivers under 21 years old are guilty of an underage OWI if they have any measurable BAC in Wisconsin.


OWI penalties in Wisconsin

The OWI lookback period in Wisconsin is 10 years for a second offense. There is a lifetime lookback period for any subsequent OWI offenses.

OWI offenders in Wisconsin face harsher penalties than described below for any OWI resulting in bodily injury or death or OWI with a minor under 16 years old in the car.

All OWI offenses include an OWI surcharge of $435, in addition to the fines below.

First-time OWI offenses in Wisconsin lead to:

  • $150 to $300 in fines
  • License revocation for six to nine months

For a second OWI in which there are no prior convictions within the last 10 years, penalties are:

  • $150 to $300 in fines
  • License revocation for six to nine months
  • Requires the installation and use of an ignition interlock device or attendance in a 24/7 sobriety program for one year

Penalties for a second OWI in Wisconsin within 10 years of a prior conviction are:

  • Five days to six months in jail
  • $350 to $1,110 in fines
  • License revocation for 12 to 18 months
  • Requires the installation and use of an IID or attendance in a 24/7 sobriety program for one year to 18 months

Third-time OWI offenders in Wisconsin are subject to:

  • 45 days to one year in jail
  • $600 to $2,000 in fines
  • License revocation for two to three years
  • Requires the installation and use of an IID or attendance in a 24/7 sobriety program for one to three years

A fourth OWI offense in Wisconsin is a class H felony and results in:

  • Six months to 10 years in jail
  • $600 to $25,000 in fines
  • License revocation for two to three years
  • Requires the installation and use of an IID or attendance in a 24/7 sobriety program for one to three years

Fines are:

  • Doubled if the offender's BAC is between 0.17% and 0.199%
  • Tripled if the offender's BAC is between 0.20% and 0.249%
  • Quadrupled if the offender's BAC is 0.25% or higher

OWI penalties for underage drinkers in Wisconsin

Those under the age of 21 are considered OWI in Wisconsin with any detectable level of alcohol in their system. Multiple offenses within a year will subject them to harsher penalties and fines. In addition, a BAC of 0.08% or higher will result in underage offenders being charged as if they were adults.

A first-time OWI offense in Wisconsin leads to:

  • Up to $500 in fines
  • License suspension for up to 30 to 90 days
  • Possible requirement to complete alcohol assessment, education, or treatment

A second underage OWI within a year results in:

  • Up to $500 in fines
  • Mandatory license suspension for up to a year
  • Possible requirement to complete alcohol assessment, education, or treatment

Three or more underage OWI offenses in Wisconsin within one year lead to:

  • $500 to $1,000 in fines
  • Mandatory license suspension for up to two years
  • Possible requirement to complete alcohol assessment, education, or treatment

Sources and references:

https://wisconsindot.gov/Documents/safety/education/drunk-drv/owi-penchrt.pdf

https://wisconsindot.gov/Documents/safety/education/drunk-drv/owi-youth-penchrt.pdf

Save on your next car insurance policy — compare rates now!

Don't forget to share!