Wyoming Car Insurance with a DUI

The Zebra
Aug. 24, 2018

If you are found guilty of DUI in the state of Wyoming, your car insurance policy is going to grow more expensive — it's just a question of how large your penalty will be. Luckily, Wyoming car insurance prices aren't swayed substantially by your DUI history, compared to all American states.


Need cheap car insurance after a DUI? Start shopping today!


How does a DUI impact car insurance premiums in Wyoming?

In Wyoming, a DUI will raise your annual car insurance premium by an average of $958. That’s 7% less than the national mean premium hike following a DUI.


CAR INSURANCE AFTER DUI IN WYOMING — AVERAGE ANNUAL COST
AreaAvg. rate - no DUIAvg. rate - with DUIAvg. increase after DUI
Wyoming$1,338.41$2,296.1971%
United States$1,397.11$2,416.8772%
"

How to find auto insurance in Wyoming with a DUI violation

Finding reasonable auto insurance after a DUI conviction is not straightforward. In fact, a DUI often leads to a larger premium increase than any other driving violation — more than an at-fault accident, reckless driving, or racing.


Affordable car insurance after a DUI in Wyoming

If you're convicted of a DWI or DUI violation in Wyoming, it’s key to consider available insurance options thoughtfully. Car insurance rates with a DUI can vary greatly depending on the company. For example, the cheapest auto insurance company with a DUI in Wyoming, State Farm, advertises annual prices 52% more affordable than the state average insurance rate with a DUI violation. The second-cheapest option for car insurance after a DUI in Wyoming is USAA, while the most expensive firm is Farmers, with prices 47% above the mean.


CAR INSURANCE PRICES AFTER A DUI IN WYOMING — BY INSURANCE COMPANY
Insurance companyAvg. rate after DUI
State Farm$1,113
USAA$1,298
Liberty Mutual$1,852
Allstate$2,280
GEICO$2,853
Farmers$3,386

There’s no auto insurance company in particular that offers inexpensive DUI auto insurance. The easiest strategy to save money after a DUI citation is to assess your options.

Find quotes online or contact an insurance agent to weigh the choices and find a sensible DUI insurance policy.

Read more about car insurance options after a DUI conviction.


Find affordable insurance today!


Wyoming DUI/DWUI laws

Driving under the influence is also referred to as driving while under the influence, or DWUI, in Wyoming.

Drivers are DUI or DWUI in Wyoming when their blood alcohol concentration measures 0.08% or higher. Commercial drivers are held to a stricter standard and are considered DUI when their BAC reads 0.04% or higher.

Based on observation of potential impairment or other evidence, drivers in Wyoming may also be considered DUI if their BAC is below 0.08% but above 0.05%.

Drivers under 21 years old are DUI in Wyoming if their BAC is 0.02% or higher.


DUI penalties in Wyoming

The DUI/DWUI lookback period in Wyoming is 10 years. Multiple drunk driving offenses within this timeframe will result in harsher penalties. In addition, penalties are also enhanced for a DUI/DWUI that causes an injury or death or while transporting a passenger under 18 years old.

First-time DUI offenses in Wyoming lead to:

  • Up to six months in jail
  • Up to $750 in fines
  • License suspension for 90 days
  • Required installation and use of an interlock ignition device for at least six months if BAC is over 0.15%

A second DUI offense in Wyoming results in:

  • Seven days to six months in jail
  • $200 to $750 in fines
  • License suspension for at least one year
  • Requirement to install and use an IID for one year

Third-time DUI offenders in Wyoming are subject to:

  • 30 days to six months in jail
  • $750 to $3,000 in fines
  • License revocation for three years
  • Requirement to install and use an IID for two years
  • Must undergo an alcohol assessment

A fourth DUI/DWUI offense in Wyoming results in:

  • Up to two years in jail
  • Up to $10,000 in fines
  • License revocation for three years
  • Requirement to install and use an IID for life

DUI penalties for underage drinkers in Wyoming

Those under 21 are not allowed to drive after consuming alcohol and will be considered DUI/DWUI in Wyoming with a BAC of 0.02% or higher.

For a first-time underage DUI/DWUI, offenders will:

  • Be fined up to $750
  • Have a license suspension for 90 days

A second underage DUI/DWUI offense within a year leads to:

  • Up to one month in jail
  • Up to $750 in fines
  • License suspension for six months

A third underage DUI/DWUI offense within two years in Wyoming results in:

  • Up to six months in jail
  • Up to $750 in fines
  • License suspension for at least six months

Sources and references:

https://www.dmv.org/wy-wyoming/automotive-law/dui.php

https://www.edgarsnyder.com/drunk-driving/driving-alcohol-laws/wyoming.html

Don't forget to share!