If you receive a DUI in California, your auto insurance is going to be more expensive — it's just a matter of how much you'll end up paying.
How does a DUI alter car insurance in California?
In California, a DUI will increase your annual car insurance premium by an average value of $3,069. That’s 64% more than the national average premium hike after a DUI.
CAR INSURANCE WITH A DUI IN CALIFORNIA — AVERAGE ANNUAL PENALTY
|Location||Avg. Annual Rate — without DUI||Avg. Annual Rate — with DUI||Avg. Increase After DUI|
Need car insurance after a DUI? Find a cheap policy!
How to find car insurance in California after a DUI
Purchasing affordable auto insurance in the wake of a DUI offense isn’t easy. In fact, a DUI generally results in a greater rate increase than any other driving violation — more than an at-fault accident, reckless driving, or racing. California is a very poor place in which to be convicted of a DUI: its insurance rate raises are among the nation's harshest.
Best car insurance with a DUI in California
If you've been convicted of driving under the influence in California, it is important to weigh your insurance options judiciously. Car insurance rates after a DUI often vary substantially depending on the company. For example, the cheapest car insurance company with a DUI in California, Mercury, provides annual rates 52% better than the statewide average insurance premium with a DUI violation. The next-most affordable insurer for car insurance after a DUI in California is Infinity, while the priciest company is Allstate, with rates 66% pricer than average.
CAR INSURANCE PRICES WITH DUI IN CALIFORNIA — BY COMPANY
|Insurance Company||Avg. Annual Rate — After DUI|
There’s no auto insurance company, in particular, offering affordable DUI car insurance. The best strategy to save money post-DUI conviction is to shop around.
Compare auto insurance quotes online or contact your insurance agent to shop the market and find a cost-effective DUI insurance policy.
Find affordable car insurance with a DUI today!
DUI penalties in California
California's lookback period is 10 years. Repeated DUI offenses within this period will lead to more severe fines and penalties.
First-time DUI offenses in California will result in:
- Fines of $390 to $1,000
- 48 hours to six months in jail
- License suspension for six months
- The possible requirement of an interlock ignition device for five months to three years
- Attendance in a DUI program (length determined based on BAC)
A second DUI offense in California leads to:
- Fines of $390 to $1,000
- 96 hours to one year in jail
- License suspension for two years
- The possible requirement of an interlock ignition device for one to three years
- 18 to 30 months in a DUI program
A third DUI conviction in California results in:
- Fines between $390 and $1800
- 120 days to one year in jail
- License suspension for three years
- Mandatory IID use for two to three years
- 30 months in a DUI program
Judges may choose to forego jail time in lieu of probation, particularly for first-time DUI offenders. Additionally, offenders may serve time via house arrest or alternative work programs instead of jail.
First-, second-, and third-offense DUI convictions are usually considered misdemeanors. If a DUI in California results in injury, however, it may be treated as a felony. Causing a fatality by driving under the influence is generally prosecuted under California's vehicular manslaughter or murder laws.
DUI penalties for underage drinkers in California
California is a zero-tolerance state when it comes to underage drinking. Those under 21 years old and found to have a BAC of 0.01% or higher are considered DUI.
First-time underage DUI offenders with a BAC of 0.01% or higher face:
- An infraction
- Up to $250 in fines
- A suspended license for a minimum of one year
First-time underage DUI offenders with a BAC of 0.05% or higher face:
- An infraction and underage DUI charge
- $100 to $300 in fines
- A one-year license suspension
- Required completion of an alcohol education program if between 18 and 21 years old
Multiple underage DUI charges may earn enough demerit points to result in a license suspension.
Committing a DUI offense with a BAC of 0.08% or higher will subject the underage driver to the fines and penalties of a standard DUI offense.
Sources and references: