Find affordable insurance that works for you in Nevada. Compare quotes from over 100 top companies.
Across the Silver State, there are 71,315 miles of road just waiting to be driven. We’ll get you prepped, then you take the wheel.
Compare quotes from over 20 insurance companies that provide coverage throughout Nevada. Enter your ZIP code below to get started.
Drivers with good driving records typically enjoy lower car insurance costs than drivers with histories of speeding tickets, at-fault accidents, or DUI citations. Nevada drivers without a recent at-fault accident typically save 34% on their car insurance premiums — a bit better than the 32% US average. In addition to earning a cheaper premium for driving incident-free, you may qualify for a safe-driving bonus through your car insurance company. The amount of these discounts may vary, but they typically run between 5 and 10%.
|Rating Factor||$ Savings||% Savings|
|No Traffic Tickets||$367||19.44%|
Young drivers (those between the ages of 16 and 25) pay extraordinarily high auto insurance rates, with those aged 16-19 paying the most expensive premiums of all. Because of the risk presented by inexperienced drivers, teens pay more than three times the national average for car insurance. In Nevada, the typical teen driver pays more than $6,200 annually, far exceeding the national average and about four times as much as a typical Nevada driver.
|Age||Annual Rate with Parents||Annual Rate Alone|
If you have a clean driving record — no at-fault accidents, speeding tickets, DUIs, or other recent citations — you'll probably enjoy relatively cheap car insurance rates. Conversely, a bad driving record will cause your costs to skyrocket: car insurance premiums typically increase by 37% after a DUI, 34% after an at-fault accident, and 19% after a speeding ticket in Nevada. The post-citation penalties assessed by car insurance companies in Cornhusker State roughly align with national averages. If you have a clean driving history, be sure to inquire about your insurance company's safe driver discount.
|Rating Factor||Annual Rate||% Increase|
Every auto insurer advertises its low rates. But as with any product, the most affordable car insurance option is not always the finest choice. Considering the financial stakes, it's worth doing your research to discover an auto policy that protects your car adequately in the event of a collision. Exercise some patience and look for the best value, rather than settling for the cheapest car insurance you can find.
Review local and national insurance companies' financial strength and claims satisfaction ratings to better understand the level of service you can expect. Claims satisfaction — measured by J.D. Power — is ranked on a scale of 2 to 5, with 5 being "among the best" and 2 being "the rest." Financial strength — calculated by A.M. Best and ranging from "Poor" to "Superior" — assesses an insurer's financial strength and ability to meet its policy and contractual obligations.
|Insurance Company||Claims Satisfaction (J.D. Power)||Financial Strength (A.M. Best)|
|Bristol West||Not Rated||Excellent|
The required minimum insurance level in Nevada is $25,000 Bodily Injury per person, $50,000 Bodily Injury per accident, and $20,000 Property Damage per accident.
If you elect the minimum coverage level in Nevada, you could owe an average of $1,128 per year. This is more costly than the national average by 72%. If you want better auto insurance coverage, you can choose a policy with comprehensive and collision coverage, which will protect against the costs of car-vs.-car accidents, theft and vandalism, or weather conditions. However, better insurance coverage has a price: in Nevada, a comprehensive insurance policy with a $1,000 deductible costs $1,677, 49% more than basic insurance coverage. For a comprehensive policy with a $500 deductible, expect to pay 59% more than for liability-only coverage.
Compare average costs for liability-only and comprehensive coverage levels below.
|Location||Liability-Only||Comprehensive — $1,000 Deductible||Comprehensive — $500 Deductible|
In Nevada, each driver must maintain auto insurance at or above the below levels:
The DUI lookback period in Nevada is seven years. Multiple offenses within this timeframe subject you to harsher penalties.
“Aggravating circumstances,” such as DUI while transporting a minor, a BAC of 0.18% or higher, or DUI that causes injury or death, may also lead to enhanced penalties.
First-time DUI offenses in Nevada lead to:
If you receive a ticket or citation, your auto insurance costs will probably go up. By how much depends on the violation, your car insurance company's pricing standards, and differing local insurance regulations. That's why tickets may have a different impact on insurance in your state compared to the national average.
Below is a look at car insurance costs in Nevada after some common violations.
|Violation||Avg. Annual Auto Insurance Rate||% Insurance Rate Increase||$ Insurance Rate Increase|
|Hit and Run||$3,138||64%||$1,223|
|Refused Breathalyzer/Chemical Test||$2,882||51%||$968|
|Driving with a Suspended License||$3,138||64%||$1,223|
|Driving with an Open Container||$2,512||31%||$597|
|Operating a Vehicle Without Permission||$2,730||43%||$815|
|Passing a School Bus||$2,566||34%||$651|
|Following Too Closely||$2,449||28%||$535|
|Failure to Stop at a Red Light||$2,449||28%||$535|
|Driving Wrong Way/Wrong Lane||$2,423||27%||$509|
|Failure to Yield||$2,449||28%||$535|
|Speeding in a School Zone||$2,442||28%||$527|
|Driving Too Slowly||$2,442||28%||$527|
|Driving with Expired Registration||$2,197||15%||$282|
|Failure to Show Documents||$2,026||6%||$111|
|Failure to Use Child Safety Restraint||$2,026||6%||$111|
|Failure to Wear a Seat Belt||$2,005||5%||$90|
|Driving Without Lights||$1,936||1%||$21|
Travelers ($460) and Safeco ($666) offer the cheapest car insurance policies in Nevada. Other cheap providers include USAA, Progressive and Allied.
Your insurance rate will vary based on you and your location. For the average driver with no tickets or accidents, a six-month policy in Nevada costs $895.
Car insurance in Nevada is 28% more expensive than it is across the U.S. This is due to the number of claims and uninsured drivers in the state. If you're looking to lower your premium, use our comparison tool to view your options side-by-side.
Yes. To register a vehicle in Nevada, you will need proof of insurance as well as title and inspection documentation.
Car insurance companies calculate your rate based on many factors, location of the vehicle being an important one. The cheapest car insurance is found in Fallon, Nevada, and the most expensive in Spring Valley, Nevada.
|Rank||City||Avg. Annual Premium|
|6||North Las Vegas||$2,539|