Here's what you need to know when driving in New Hampshire
The average car insurance rate in New Hampshire is $999 per year — 35% less than the U.S. average. Car insurance rates are impacted by more than just your location. Auto insurance rates comprise many factors, including a driver's age and driving history. The Zebra's experts analyzed average New Hampshire car insurance rates for these rating factors in an effort to help you find an affordable policy.
Read on to learn how much auto insurance costs in New Hampshire based on these variables, or submit your ZIP code above to receive personalized quotes from top insurers.
The best car insurance companies in New Hampshire
Based on data from J.D. Power's 2021 Auto Satisfaction Study and The Zebra's Customer Satisfaction Survey, we have compiled a list of the best car insurance companies in New Hampshire.
Along with topping The Zebra's Customer Satisfaction Survey, USAA received a score of 879 (out of 1,000) in J.D. Powers' 2021 U.S. Auto Insurance Study for the state of New Hampshire.
As a highly-rated regional carrier, Amica Insurance scored an 867 on J.D. Power's 2021 auto study.
State Farm placed third in this region with a score of 855 in J.D. Power's 2021 Auto Insurance Study. This carrier also received 4.4 stars out of 5 in The Zebra's Customer Satisfaction Survey.
The cheapest car insurance companies in New Hampshire
These companies offer the cheapest rates in the following scenarios.
USAA is the cheapest insurance company in New Hampshire, with an average monthly cost of just $68. USAA is only available to military members and their families.
USAA was also the cheapest insurance company after an at-fault accident or DUI. If you don't qualify for USAA, State Farm and Progressive came in second place, respectively.
We found that USAA was the most affordable for teen drivers. GEICO came in second place.
Dynamic auto insurance data methodology
Methodology: The auto insurance rates displayed above and throughout this page are dynamic, meaning the data will refresh when the most recent information is made available. Rates are based on a sample driver profile — a 30-year-old single male driver with a Honda Accord and full coverage. This profile was adjusted based on common pricing factors used by major car insurance companies, like age, coverage level, driving record and others.
New Hampshire auto insurance laws
New Hampshire is the only state in the country that does not legally require car insurance. However, drivers remain liable for any and all damage they cause in an at-fault collision. Failure to maintain auto insurance puts you at great risk, as you could be responsible for many thousands of dollars in damages and injury payments.
For the minimum coverage level in New Hampshire, expect to pay about $370 per year. This expenditure is less expensive than the nationwide average by 76%.
For the minimum coverage level in New Hampshire, expect to pay about $370 per year.
State minimum coverage
If you do choose to carry car insurance in New Hampshire, you must meet certain minimums:
- Bodily Injury: $25,000 per person
- Bodily Injury: $50,000 per accident
- Property Damage: $25,000 per accident
- $1,000 per person
Optional coverage in New Hampshire (varies by carrier):
- Loan/Lease Payoff
- Rental Car Reimbursement
- Roadside Assistance
If you opt for better coverage, you can choose a policy with comprehensive and collision, which will protect against the costs of car accidents, theft, vandalism or weather incidents. But better coverage comes with a cost: in New Hampshire, a comprehensive insurance policy with a $1,000 deductible costs $886, 139% more than liability-only car insurance. For a comprehensive policy with a $500 deductible, expect to pay 174% more than you would for basic coverage.
In New Hampshire, a comprehensive insurance policy with a $1,000 deductible costs $886, 139% more than liability-only car insurance.
Compare car insurance rates from the best companies in New Hampshire.
New Hampshire car insurance premiums by rating factor
Your rates are determined by a number of individual factors, including your coverage level, driving history, location and more. Explore average premium costs by rating factor below to get a better sense of how much you should be paying for auto insurance in New Hampshire.
Cheap auto insurance in New Hampshire for minimum coverage
Choosing liability-only at the state minimum level instead of full coverage will make your car insurance significantly lower. In New Hampshire, the average cost for minimum coverage is $31 per month, or $370 yearly — a savings of $643 compared to full coverage.
Cheap auto insurance in New Hampshire with bad credit
Your credit history is an important factor in determining your car insurance rates. Many carriers see those with a poor credit score as being higher risk, meaning you could pay more for your policy. On average, New Hampshire drivers with poor credit pay $1,737 — $876 more per year than those with exceptional credit. Have a look at some common rates by credit tier below.
Cheap auto insurance in New Hampshire with an at-fault accident
Your driving history plays a big part in how much you pay. Insurance companies look for previous accidents for which you have been at fault to gauge the level of risk you pose as a customer. An at-fault accident in recent years could see your car insurance rates increase by as much as $534 per year.
Safe driver discounts
In addition to having a cheaper premium, some companies offer a safe driving discount. While the amount varies based on your company, it can range between 5 and 10%.
Cheap auto insurance for young drivers in New Hampshire
Young drivers — aged between 16 and 25 — pay very high car insurance rates, with those aged 16 to 19 paying the most expensive premiums of all. Because of the risk presented by inexperienced drivers, teen drivers pay more than three times the national average for car insurance. In New Hampshire, teen drivers pay especially high rates: $3,384 per year — $1,855 more than the nationwide average and 239% more than a 30-year-old New Hampshire driver.
New Hampshire auto insurance rate by violation
In New Hampshire, a bad driving record will cause your rates to skyrocket. If you receive a ticket or citation, your auto insurance premiums will probably rise. How much depends on the violation, your insurer's pricing standards and differing local insurance regulations and risks. That's why tickets may have a different impact on insurance in your state compared to the national average.
See below average auto insurance rates in New Hampshire after a few common citations.
|Accident/Violation||Avg. Annual Premium||% Rate Increase||$ Rate Increase|
|One Med/PIP claim||$1,281||0%||$0|
|One comp claim||$1,315||3%||$34|
|Two Med/PIP claims||$1,315||3%||$34|
|Two comp claims||$1,324||3%||$43|
|Failure to show documents||$1,480||16%||$199|
|Driving without lights||$1,490||16%||$209|
|Driving with expired registration||$1,494||17%||$213|
|Failure to wear a seat belt||$1,496||17%||$215|
|Child safety restraint||$1,510||18%||$229|
|At-fault accident - less than $1000||$1,511||18%||$230|
|Speeding 6 - 10 MPH over limit||$1,521||19%||$240|
|Speeding 11 - 15 MPH over limit||$1,521||19%||$240|
|Driving too slowly||$1,526||19%||$245|
|Speeding 16 - 20 MPH over limit||$1,529||19%||$248|
|Speeding in school zone||$1,534||20%||$253|
|In 65 MPH zone||$1,536||20%||$255|
|Wrong way/wrong lane||$1,538||20%||$257|
|Following too closely||$1,538||20%||$257|
|Failure to yield||$1,542||20%||$261|
|Failure to stop at a red light||$1,542||20%||$261|
|Speeding 21 - 25 MPH over limit||$1,563||22%||$282|
|Cell phone violation||$1,633||28%||$352|
|Texting while driving||$1,633||28%||$352|
|At-fault accident - $1000-$2000||$1,714||34%||$433|
|Passing school bus||$1,745||36%||$464|
|At-fault accident - greater than $2000||$1,915||49%||$634|
|Operating a vehicle without permission||$2,033||59%||$752|
|Driving with a suspended license||$2,554||99%||$1,273|
|Refusal to submit to a chemical test||$2,573||101%||$1,292|
|Leaving scene of an accident/hit and run||$2,642||106%||$1,361|
New Hampshire DUI laws
In New Hampshire, a DUI offense can increase your annual car insurance premium by over 100%. Finding affordable auto insurance in the wake of a DUI violation isn’t simple. In fact, a DUI often brings about a bigger premium increase than any single road violation — more than an at-fault accident, racing or reckless driving.
Low-cost car insurance after a DUI in New Hampshire
If you're convicted of a DUI or DWI violation in New Hampshire, it’s key to mull over each of your insurance choices carefully. Auto insurance premiums following a DUI can vary substantially by insurer. For example, the least expensive car insurance company with a DUI in New Hampshire, USAA, advertises annual rates 46% less than the statewide average insurance rate with a DUI. The second-cheapest insurer for auto insurance after a DUI in New Hampshire is Progressive, while the priciest company is MetLife, with prices 23% above average.
There is no car insurer in particular that offers inexpensive DUI car insurance. The recommended way to save in the wake of a DUI citation is to shop around.
Compare and buy car insurance online or reach out to an insurance agent to assess your choices and find a cost-effective policy.
New Hampshire SR-22 insurance
An SR-22 is a routine legal requirement triggered by a violation such as a DUI conviction, a ticket for driving without insurance, an at-fault collision, driving with a suspended license, or accumulating too many points on your license. It is not a type of insurance policy, but a form issued by your insurance company with the state of New Hampshire to ensure that you remain insured.
Finding cheap auto insurance with an SR-22 in New Hampshire might require some research, but it could pay off in the end.
How to acquire an SR-22 in New Hampshire
For currently insured drivers
If you already have auto insurance, getting an SR-22 certificate is straightforward. Contact your car insurance company and ask the company to file an SR-22 request for you. If your insurer isn’t willing to file a request, you'll need to look for a new insurer.
For uninsured drivers
When filing for a new policy, you might be saddled with an up-front fee to have your prospective insurer file an SR-22 request for you and to cover your high-risk driving profile. Needing an SR-22 might disqualify you from purchasing insurance from some companies, while others would be happy to sell you a policy.
For drivers without a vehicle
Not owning a vehicle makes it more difficult to obtain an SR-22, as you will need to furnish proof of insurance to receive the certificate. In this scenario, purchase a non-owners car insurance policy before filing an SR-22 request. Non-owners auto insurance is typically less expensive than traditional coverage since it doesn't protect against material damage to your vehicle.
Find an affordable policy in New Hampshire in minutes!
Rates by city
Car insurance companies calculate your rate based on many factors, the location of the vehicle being an important one. The cheapest car insurance is found in West Swanzey, New Hampshire, and the most expensive in Manchester, New Hampshire.
Have a look at the table below to see average car insurance costs in some of New Hampshire's biggest cities.
Car insurance price trends in New Hampshire
In New Hampshire, average annual auto insurance costs increased by $38 in the past year. A typical New Hampshire driver pays an average of $999 per year.
The recent pricing trend in New Hampshire leaned toward slightly cheaper car insurance costs until last year's small increase, but the state's average car insurance costs remain significantly lower than the national average. The steepest decrease occurred from 2017 to 2018, while the highest surge took place from 2016 to 2017. At the same time, car insurance rates across the United States have stayed relatively steady in the past few years, moving from $1,521 in 2018 to $1,529 in 2021.
|Year||Avg. Annual Premium — New Hampshire||Yearly Change — New Hampshire||Avg. Annual Premium — US||Yearly Change — US|
If your rates are rising faster than the average in your state, compare quotes and find a better deal. The Zebra's car insurance comparison engine furnishes quotes based on your specific profile — enter your ZIP below to get started.
New Hampshire car insurance FAQs
Below you'll find answers to some of the most commonly asked questions regarding New Hampshire auto insurance.
How much does car insurance cost in New Hampshire?
A full-coverage insurance policy in New Hampshire costs drivers an average of $999 — $530 cheaper per year than it is in the rest of the U.S.
Can you drive without insurance in NH?
Unlike most other states, New Hampshire does not require auto insurance. Instead, you can submit a certificate of financial responsibility which proves you are able to cover the costs of an accident. If you cause an accident while driving uninsured, you are still responsible for covering the damages.
Is car insurance cheaper in NH?
Insurance is cheaper than average in New Hampshire. On average, drivers pay $72 less per month than drivers in the rest of the U.S.
Save money on your next car insurance policy!
Is it mandatory to list my adult child on my policy if they live in my home but will not drive my vehicle?
About The Zebra
The Zebra is not an insurance company. We publish data-backed, expert-reviewed resources to help consumers make more informed insurance decisions.
- The Zebra’s insurance content is written and reviewed for accuracy by licensed insurance agents.
- The Zebra’s insurance content is not subject to review or alteration by insurance companies or partners.
- The Zebra’s editorial team operates independently of the company’s partnerships and commercialization interests, publishing unbiased information for consumer benefit.
- The auto insurance rates published on The Zebra’s pages are based on a comprehensive analysis of car insurance pricing data, evaluating more than 83 million insurance rates from across the United States.