Here's what you need to know when driving in Arkansas
Auto insurance in Arkansas costs on average $1,768 per year — $239 more than the national average rate. But what you pay as an Arkansas driver may be higher or lower depending on a number of rating factors that insurers use to price your premium, like your age, location, driving record and more.
Our guide to Arkansas car insurance provides an in-depth analysis of car insurance rates in the state, so you can use this knowledge as a jumping-off in your search for an affordable auto insurance policy. Continue reading to find out how much car insurance costs in Arkansas, or if you're ready to start comparing and saving, submit your ZIP code above to get personalized quotes from top insurance companies.
The best car insurance companies in Arkansas
Here are the top three car insurance companies in Arkansas, according to third-party ratings from J.D. Power.
USAA received a score of 890 (out of 1,000) in J.D. Powers' 2021 U.S. Auto Insurance Study and also won top marks in The Zebra's Customer Satisfaction Survey.
State Farm is one of the nation's most popular insurance companies and was given a score of 859 in J.D. Power's 2021 auto study.
Coming in third place with a score of 849 in J.D. Power's 2021 customer satisfaction survey, Auto-Owners won above-average ratings.
The cheapest car insurance companies in Arkansas
These companies offer the cheapest rates in the following scenarios.
The cheapest rates are from USAA at $1,356 annually or $113 per month.
If you have a recent DUI or at-fault accident, State Farm could be the cheapest option in Arkansas.
GEICO is the most affordable insurance company in Arkansas for teen drivers.
Dynamic auto insurance data methodology
Methodology: The auto insurance rates displayed above and throughout this page are dynamic, meaning the data will refresh when the most recent information is made available. Rates are based on a sample driver profile — a 30-year-old single male driver with a Honda Accord and full coverage. This profile was adjusted based on common pricing factors used by major car insurance companies, like age, coverage level, driving record and others.
Arkansas auto insurance laws
Car insurance is regulated on a state level, and every state sets its own minimum coverage level for a driver to be road-legal. In almost every state, including Arkansas, car insurance coverage is mandated along with proof of insurance.
Compared to full coverage, getting the state's minimum coverage is much more affordable; however, it can also leave you at risk. Expect to pay $577 annually for the state minimum level of coverage in Arkansas. This rate is less expensive than the nationwide average by 62%.
Expect to pay $577 annually for the state minimum level of coverage in Arkansas.
State minimum coverage
In order to drive legally in the state of Arkansas, you must carry at least the minimum liability limits listed below:
- Bodily injury: $25,000 per person
- Bodily injury: $50,000 per accident
- Property damage: $25,000 per accident
Optional coverage in Arkansas (varies by carrier):
- Gap coverage
- Personal injury protection (PIP)
- Rental car reimbursement
- Roadside assistance
- Uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage
If you want more robust protection beyond the minimum, you can opt for a full coverage policy, which includes comprehensive and collision. This will protect you against the financial ramifications of car accidents, theft, vandalism or weather incidents.
Better coverage, however, comes at a cost. In Arkansas, a comprehensive insurance policy with a $1,000 deductible costs $1,571 — that's 172% more than liability-only insurance. If you choose a full coverage policy with a $500 deductible, expect to pay 222% more than you would for basic coverage.
In Arkansas, a comprehensive insurance policy with a $1,000 deductible costs $1,571 — that's 172% more than liability-only insurance.
Compare car insurance rates from the best companies in Arkansas.
Arkansas car insurance premiums by rating factor
Personal factors such as your age, driving history, coverage level and more are used by insurance companies to calculate your premium. How these rating factors are weighed, however, are assessed differently from insurer to insurer, making it all the more important to compare quotes when shopping.
Consult average rates by rating factor below to get a better understanding of how much you can expect to pay in Arkansas.
Cheap auto insurance in Arkansas for minimum coverage
While it can leave you at risk, getting liability-only coverage at the state minimum level will make your premium much cheaper compared to getting full coverage. In Arkansas, the average cost for minimum coverage is $48 per month, or $577 yearly — a savings of $1,280 compared to full coverage.
Cheap auto insurance in Arkansas with bad credit
Your credit score is a rating factor in almost every state, including Arkansas. While a few states have banned this practice as discriminatory, there is a correlation between those with bad credit and an increased likelihood of making claims. Insurance companies use statistics and data to inform how it generates quotes.
In Arkansas, people with poor credit generally pay an additional $1,975 yearly compared to drivers with excellent credit. Consult sample rates from different insurance companies below and use this information as a reference point in your search for affordable insurance with bad credit.
Cheap auto insurance in Arkansas with an at-fault accident
It's no secret that a checkered driving record can make your car insurance prohibitively expensive. Like bad credit, a history of accidents and citations is another risk indicator. A recent at-fault accident can raise your rate by as much as $970 annually in Arkansas.
Safe driver discounts
In addition to having a cheaper premium, some companies offer a safe driving discount. While the amount varies based on your company, it can range between 5 and 10%.
Cheap auto insurance for young drivers in Arkansas
The younger you are, the more you'll pay for car insurance. Teens and drivers in their 20s are seen as relatively inexperienced drivers by insurance companies. In Arkansas, teens pay $5,876 per year, which is $4,347 more than the national average and over three times as much as a 30-year-old Arkansas driver.
Arkansas auto insurance rate by violation
Receiving a ticket or violation will make your premium go up — generally, the more serious the violation, the more you can expect your rate to increase. But because every insurer's pricing standards are different, it's difficult to say exactly how much. Using data, however, we can provide general estimates.
See below for average auto insurance rates in Arkansas after a variety of citations.
|Accident/Violation||Avg. Annual Premium||% Rate Increase||$ Rate Increase|
|One Med/PIP claim||$2,118||0%||$0|
|Two Med/PIP claims||$2,143||1%||$25|
|One comp claim||$2,143||1%||$25|
|Two comp claims||$2,210||4%||$92|
|Failure to wear a seat belt||$2,442||15%||$324|
|Failure to show documents||$2,453||16%||$335|
|Driving without lights||$2,457||16%||$339|
|Child safety restraint||$2,457||16%||$339|
|Failure to yield||$2,532||20%||$415|
|Failure to stop at a red light||$2,538||20%||$420|
|Driving too slowly||$2,538||20%||$420|
|Driving with expired registration||$2,539||20%||$421|
|Speeding 6 - 10 MPH over limit||$2,545||20%||$428|
|Speeding 11 - 15 MPH over limit||$2,551||20%||$434|
|Speeding 16 - 20 MPH over limit||$2,561||21%||$443|
|Texting while driving||$2,568||21%||$450|
|Cell phone violation||$2,568||21%||$450|
|Wrong way/wrong lane||$2,581||22%||$463|
|Following too closely||$2,603||23%||$485|
|Speeding in school zone||$2,641||25%||$523|
|Passing school bus||$2,654||25%||$537|
|Speeding 21 - 25 MPH over limit||$2,738||29%||$621|
|At-fault accident - less than $1000||$2,751||30%||$633|
|In 65 MPH zone||$2,778||31%||$660|
|Operating a vehicle without permission||$2,800||32%||$682|
|At-fault accident - $1000-$2000||$2,996||41%||$878|
|At-fault accident - greater than $2000||$3,028||43%||$910|
|Refusal to submit to a chemical test||$3,341||58%||$1,224|
|Driving with a suspended license||$3,396||60%||$1,278|
|Leaving scene of an accident/hit and run||$3,471||64%||$1,353|
Arkansas DUI laws
Getting a DUI in Arkansas can raise your auto insurance premium by 58%. Because DUIs often trigger a significant rate increase compared to many other citations, it can be challenging to find an affordable policy in the aftermath of a DUI.
Low-cost car insurance after a DUI in Arkansas
It’s integral to assess each of your insurance choices carefully if you're convicted of a DUI or DWI violation in Arkansas. Car insurance premiums following a DUI can vary substantially by insurance company. For example, the least expensive car insurance company with a DUI in Arkansas, State Farm, advertises annual rates 40% less than the statewide average insurance rate with a DUI. The second-cheapest insurer for auto insurance after a DUI in Arkansas is Farmers, while the most expensive is Nationwide, with prices 20% above average.
The hard truth is that you likely won't be able to find an inexpensive rate after a DUI that's as low as a rate you'd get without a DUI on your record. The recommended way to save after a DUI citation is to shop around with as many companies as possible.
Compare and buy car insurance online or reach out to an insurance agent to assess your choices and find a cost-effective policy.
Arkansas SR-22 insurance
An SR-22 is a routine legal requirement after getting a violation such as a DUI conviction, a ticket for driving without insurance, an at-fault collision, driving with a suspended license or accumulating too many points on your license. It is not a type of insurance policy, but a form issued by your insurance company with the state of Arkansas to ensure that you remain insured.
Finding cheap auto insurance with an SR-22 in Arkansas might require some research, but it shouldn't be too difficult.
How to acquire an SR-22 in Arkansas
For currently insured drivers
If you already have an active auto insurance policy, obtaining an SR-22 is fairly straightforward. Contact your insurance company and request that the company file an SR-22 certificate request on your behalf. If your current insurance company won't request a certificate, you should look for a new car insurance company.
For uninsured drivers
When filing for a new policy, you might have to pay an up-front fee to have your prospective insurer file an SR-22 request for you and to cover your high-risk driving profile. Needing an SR-22 certification might disqualify you from getting coverage from some companies, while others will sell you a policy.
For drivers without a vehicle
Not owning a vehicle makes it more difficult to obtain an SR-22, as you will need to furnish proof of insurance to receive the certificate. If you don't own a vehicle, you should apply for a non-owners car insurance policy before filing for an SR-22. Non-owner auto coverage is typically cheaper than traditional coverage since it doesn't cover physical damage to your vehicle.
Find an affordable policy in Arkansas in minutes!
Rates by city
Car insurance companies calculate your rate based on many factors, and an important one is the location of the vehicle. The cheapest car insurance in Arkansas is found in Siloam Springs and the most expensive in College Station.
Have a look at the table below to see average car insurance costs in some of Arkansas's biggest cities.
|City||Avg. Annual Premium|
Car insurance price trends in Arkansas
In Arkansas, average annual auto insurance costs increased by $66 in the past year. A typical Arkansas driver pays an average of $1,768 per year.
Year over year, from 2017 to 2021, the cost of car insurance has steadily creeped up in Arkansas. The overall trend is marked by more increases rather than decreases: the steepest decrease was just by $35 in 2017, while the highest surge of $262 took place in 2016.
|Year||Avg. Annual Premium — Arkansas||Yearly Change — Arkansas||Avg. Annual Premium — US||Yearly Change — US|
If your rates are rising faster than the average in your state, compare quotes and find a better deal. The Zebra's car insurance comparison engine furnishes quotes based on your specific profile — enter your ZIP below to get started.
Arkansas car insurance FAQs
Below you'll find answers to some of the most commonly asked questions regarding Arkansas auto insurance.
Who has the cheapest car insurance in Arkansas?
USAA ($1,356/year) has the cheapest rates in Arkansas, with State Farm ($1,412) as a runner-up. However, the only way to know which company is best for you is to shop around.
How much is car insurance in Arkansas?
For a single male driver with full coverage and $500 deductibles, the average premium in Arkansas is $1,768/year.
Is it illegal to drive without insurance in Arkansas?
It is illegal to drive your vehicle without insurance in Arkansas. The Zebra can give you free and cheap quotes for liability and full coverage insurance.
Save money on your next car insurance policy!
About The Zebra
The Zebra is not an insurance company. We publish data-backed, expert-reviewed resources to help consumers make more informed insurance decisions.
- The Zebra’s insurance content is written and reviewed for accuracy by licensed insurance agents.
- The Zebra’s insurance content is not subject to review or alteration by insurance companies or partners.
- The Zebra’s editorial team operates independently of the company’s partnerships and commercialization interests, publishing unbiased information for consumer benefit.
- The auto insurance rates published on The Zebra’s pages are based on a comprehensive analysis of car insurance pricing data, evaluating more than 83 million insurance rates from across the United States.