Find affordable insurance that works for you in Minnesota. Compare quotes from over 100 top companies.
Across the North Star State, there are 283,828 miles of road just waiting to be driven. We’ll get you prepped, then you take the wheel.
Compare quotes from 30 insurance companies that provide coverage throughout Minnesota. Enter your ZIP code below to get started.
Drivers with good driving records typically enjoy lower car insurance costs than drivers with histories of speeding tickets, at-fault accidents, or DUI citations. Minnesota drivers without a recent at-fault accident usually save 34% on their car insurance premiums — a bit better than the 32% US average. In addition to earning a cheaper premium for driving incident-free, you may qualify for a safe-driving bonus through your car insurance company. The amount of these discounts may vary, but they typically run between 5 and 10%.
|Rating Factor||$ Savings||% Savings|
|No Traffic Tickets||$292||19.05%|
Young drivers (those between the ages of 16 and 25) pay extraordinarily high auto insurance rates, with those aged 16-19 paying the most expensive premiums of all. Because of the risk presented by inexperienced drivers, teens pay more than three times the national average for car insurance. In Minnesota, the typical teen driver pays $4,505 per year, just a bit below the national average for all teen drivers.
|Age||Annual Rate with Parents||Annual Rate Alone|
If you have a clean driving record — no at-fault accidents, speeding tickets, DUIs, or other recent citations — you'll probably enjoy relatively cheap car insurance rates. On the other hand, a poor driving record will raise your rates: car insurance premiums typically increase by 37% after a DUI, 34% after an at-fault accident, and 19% after a speeding ticket in Minnesota. The post-incident penalties assessed by car insurance companies in the Land of 10,000 Lakes roughly align with national averages. If your driving record is citation-free, be sure to inquire about your insurance company's safe driver discount.
|Rating Factor||Annual Rate||% Increase|
Every auto insurance company emphasizes its low costs. But just like with any product or service, the cheapest choice isn't always the preferable choice. Considering what's at stake, it's worth doing the research to find an insurance policy that will cover your car adequately after an incident. Be patient and look for the best value, instead of settling for the cheapest car insurance you can find.
Compare popular auto insurers' fiscal strength and claims satisfaction ratings to better understand the level of service you can expect. Claims satisfaction — measured by J.D. Power — is rated on a scale of 2 to 5, with 5 being "among the best" and 2 being "the rest." Financial strength — calculated by A.M. Best and running from "Superior" to "Poor" — measures an insurer's financial strength and ability to meet its contractual and policy obligations.
|Insurance Company||Claims Satisfaction (J.D. Power)||Financial Strength (A.M. Best)|
|Auto Club Group||2||Excellent|
|General Casualty||Not Rated||Excellent|
The minimum required insurance level in Minnesota is $30,000 Bodily Injury per person, $60,000 Bodily Injury per accident, and $10,000 Property Damage per accident.
For the minimum allowed coverage in Minnesota, you can expect to pay an average of $549 annually. These premiums are cheaper than the U.S. average by 16%. If you opt for better car insurance coverage, you can purchase a policy with comprehensive and collision coverage, protecting against damages caused by vehicle accidents, theft or vandalism, or inclement weather. Better coverage carries a cost: in Minnesota, a comprehensive insurance policy with a $1,000 deductible costs $1,095, 99% more than liability-only coverage. For a comprehensive policy with a $500 deductible, expect to pay 128% more than you would for basic liability-only coverage.
Compare average costs for liability-only and comprehensive coverage tiers in the below table.
|Location||Liability-Only||Comprehensive — $1,000 Deductible||Comprehensive — $500 Deductible|
In Minnesota, state minimum coverage requirements include liability coverage, uninsured motorist, and personal injury protection coverages with limits of:
There is a lifetime DWI lookback period in Minnesota. This means that recurring DWI offenses will lead to enhanced penalties.
In Minnesota, the first three DWI offenses are considered misdemeanors. A fourth DWI is a felony, as are any DWI offenses leading to substantial bodily harm or death.
In addition, penalties are enhanced for anyone found to have any measurable BAC while transporting a child.
First-time DWI offenses in Minnesota lead to:
If you receive a ticket or citation, your auto insurance costs will probably go up. How much your rates rise depends on the violation, your insurer's pricing standards, and differing local insurance risks and regulations. That's why tickets may have a different impact on insurance in your state compared to the national average.
Below is a snapshot of average auto insurance rates in Minnesota after some common violations.
|Violation||Avg. Annual Auto Insurance Rate||% Insurance Rate Increase||$ Insurance Rate Increase|
|Hit and Run||$2,097||63%||$809|
|Refused Breathalyzer/Chemical Test||$1,924||49%||$636|
|Driving with a Suspended License||$2,097||63%||$809|
|Driving with an Open Container||$1,758||36%||$470|
|Operating a Vehicle Without Permission||$1,631||27%||$344|
|Passing a School Bus||$1,641||27%||$353|
|Following Too Closely||$1,613||25%||$325|
|Failure to Stop at a Red Light||$1,626||26%||$339|
|Driving Wrong Way/Wrong Lane||$1,563||21%||$275|
|Failure to Yield||$1,613||25%||$325|
|Speeding in a School Zone||$1,580||23%||$292|
|Driving Too Slowly||$1,580||23%||$292|
|Driving with Expired Registration||$1,300||1%||$12|
|Failure to Show Documents||$1,300||1%||$12|
|Failure to Use Child Safety Restraint||$1,300||1%||$12|
|Failure to Wear a Seat Belt||$1,300||1%||$12|
|Driving Without Lights||$1,288||0%||$0|
Our data indicate Travelers offers the cheapest insurance premiums in Minnesota. You can find policies for as low as $327 per six-month period from Travelers.
Yes. Minnesota is a no-fault state, requiring every driver to cover their own bodily injury payments.
Minnesota is actually 11% cheaper than the national average for car insurance. If you're paying too much for insurance, use our comparison calculator to see rates from local and national providers in Minnesota.
Car insurance sets Minnesotans back $114 per month, on average.
Car insurance companies calculate your rate based on many factors, location of the vehicle being an important one. The cheapest car insurance is found in Moorhead, Minnesota, and the most expensive in Saint Paul, Minnesota.
|Rank||City||Avg. Annual Premium|