Cheap Washington Car Insurance

Find affordable insurance that works for you in Washington. Compare quotes from over 100 top companies.

Location pin icon
glyph-shield-checkmarkNo junk mail. No spam calls. Free quotes.

Here's what you need to know when driving in Washington

Across the Evergreen State, there are 174,731 miles of road just waiting to be driven. We’ll get you prepped, then you take the wheel. Read on to learn how much auto insurance costs in Washington based on these variables. Then, submit your ZIP code above to see your top insurance quotes so you can hit the road knowing you have the best value insurance for your vehicle.


How to find affordable car insurance in Washington

What's the cheapest car insurance in Washington?
RankCompany NameAvg. Annual Premium
4State Farm$1,158
6American Family$1,397
8Bristol West$1,916

Compare quotes from over 30 insurance companies that provide coverage throughout Washington. Enter your ZIP code below to get started.

Compare cheap rates from top companies now!

Location pin icon
glyph-shield-checkmarkNo junk mail. No spam calls. Free quotes.

Cheap insurance for good drivers in Washington

Drivers with good driving records typically enjoy lower car insurance costs than drivers with histories of speeding tickets, at-fault accidents, or DUI citations. Unfortunately, Washington state drivers without a recent at-fault accident save only 23% on their car insurance premiums, on average — far below the US average of 32%. In addition to earning a cheaper premium for driving incident-free, you may qualify for a safe-driving bonus through your car insurance company. The amount of these discounts may vary, but they typically run between 5 and 10%.

Note: Washington restricted the use of credit score as a car insurance rating factor beginning in 2021. 

Rating Factor$ Savings% Savings
No Traffic Tickets$19814.85%
No Accidents$35323.76%
Good Credit$1,02647.52%

Cheap insurance for young drivers in Washington

Young drivers (those between the ages of 16 and 25) pay extraordinarily high auto insurance rates, with those aged 16-19 paying the most expensive premiums of all. Because of the risk presented by inexperienced drivers, teens pay more than three times the national average for car insurance. In Washington state, the average teen driver pays $4,056 — less than the national average for teen drivers, and approximately three times more than an older driver in Washington.

AgeAnnual Rate with ParentsAnnual Rate Alone

Cheap car insurance for bad drivers in Washington

With a good driving record — devoid of at-fault accidents, speeding tickets, DUIs, or other recent citations — you'll probably enjoy relatively cheap car insurance rates. On the other hand, a bad driving record will cause your costs to skyrocket: car insurance premiums typically increase by 32% after a DUI, 23% after an at-fault accident, and 14% after a speeding ticket in Washington state. The post-violation penalties assessed by car insurance companies in Washington are actually lower than nationwide averages. If you have a clean driving history, be sure to inquire about your insurance company's safe driver discount.

Rating FactorAnnual Rate% Increase
At-Fault Accident$1,48623.76%
Speeding Violation$1,33114.85%
Bad Credit$2,15947.52%

Best cheap car insurance companies in Washington

Each car insurance company advertises its low premiums. But just like with any product, the cheapest auto insurance isn't always the preferable idea. Considering the financial stakes, it's worth doing the research to obtain an insurance policy that covers your car completely in the unfortunate event of an incident. It's worth doing some work and finding the best value, instead of settling for the cheapest car insurance you can find.

Review local and national insurance companies' financial stability and claims satisfaction ratings to better understand the level of service you can expect. Claims satisfaction — measured by J.D. Power — is ranked on a scale of 2 to 5, with 5 being "among the best" and 2 being "the rest." Financial strength — calculated by A.M. Best and running from "Superior" to "Poor" — assesses an insurance company's financial strength and ability to meet its contractual and policy obligations.

Insurance CompanyClaims Satisfaction (J.D. Power)Financial Strength (A.M. Best)
American Family4Excellent
Bristol WestNot RatedExcellent
Cal CasualtyNot RatedExcellent
ChubbNot RatedSuperior
Liberty Mutual3Excellent
Mutual EnumclawNot RatedExcellent
State Farm3Superior


See insurance rates for Washington's best companies!

Location pin icon
glyph-shield-checkmarkNo junk mail. No spam calls. Free quotes.


What car insurance coverage do I need in Washington?

The legal minimum car insurance in Washington is $25,000 Bodily Injury per person, $50,000 Bodily Injury per accident, and $10,000 Property Damage per accident.

For the legal minimum coverage in Washington, you'll owe an average of $662 yearly. This is more than the national mean by 1%. If you opt for higher-level coverage, you can select a policy with comprehensive and collision coverage, which will protect against costs incurred by car-on-car collisions, auto theft, or weather incidents. But better auto insurance coverage comes at a cost: in Washington, a comprehensive policy with a $1,000 deductible costs $1,067, 61% more than basic coverage. For comprehensive coverage with a $500 deductible, expect to pay 76% more than you would for basic liability-only coverage.

Analyze average rates for liability-only and comprehensive auto insurance levels in the following table.

LocationLiability-OnlyComprehensive — $1,000 DeductibleComprehensive — $500 Deductible
National Average$657.66$1,241.26$1,397.94

Washington auto insurance laws

State minimum insurance requirements in Washington

In Washington, the state minimum coverage requirement is liability coverage, with limits of:

  • Bodily Injury $25,000 per person
  • Bodily Injury $50,000 per accident
  • Property Damage $10,000 per accident
Optional coverage in Washington (varies by carrier):
  • Comprehensive
  • Collision
  • Loan/Lease Payoff
  • Personal Injury Protection (PIP)
  • Rental Car Reimbursement
  • Roadside Assistance
  • Uninsured Motorist Bodily Injury
  • Uninsured Motorist Property Damage

Learn more about auto insurance laws in Washington State. 

Driving laws in Washington State

Washington Texting and Driving laws

  1. Ban on hand-held cell phones
  2. Ban on all cell phones for drivers with Learner or Intermediate Licenses
  3. Ban on text messaging for all drivers

Washington DUI laws

The DUI lookback period in Washington State is seven years. Repeated DUI offenses within this timeframe subject offenders to harsher penalties and fines. In addition, a BAC of 0.15% or higher, a DUI with a passenger under 16 years old, or reckless or negligent driving results in enhanced penalties.

First-time DUI offenses in Washington lead to:

  • 24 consecutive hours to 364 days in jail
  • $940.50 to $5,000 in fines
  • License suspension for 90 days
  • Possible requirement to use an interlock ignition device for at least one year

Ticket Impact on Auto Insurance Rates in Washington

If you receive a ticket, your auto insurance rates will probably get more expensive. By how much depends on the violation's severity, your car insurance company's pricing standards, and differing local insurance regulations. That's why tickets may have a different impact on insurance in your state compared to the national average.

Below is a look at typical auto insurance rates in Washington after some common violations.

ViolationAvg. Annual Auto Insurance Rate% Insurance Rate Increase$ Insurance Rate Increase
Hit and Run$1,98164%$776
Refused Breathalyzer/Chemical Test$1,90358%$698
Reckless Driving$1,74645%$540
Driving with a Suspended License$1,75646%$550
At-Fault Accident$1,67839%$473
Driving with an Open Container$1,56130%$356
Operating a Vehicle Without Permission$1,48323%$277
Passing a School Bus$1,57731%$372
Improper Passing$1,50225%$297
Following Too Closely$1,52126%$315
Failure to Stop at a Red Light$1,50225%$297
Illegal Turn$1,50225%$297
Driving Wrong Way/Wrong Lane$1,52126%$315
Failure to Yield$1,50225%$297
Speeding in a School Zone$1,42118%$216
Driving Too Slowly$1,42118%$216
Distracted Driving$1,45721%$252
Driving with Expired Registration$1,37914%$173
Failure to Show Documents$1,37914%$173
Not-at-Fault Accident$1,2282%$22
Failure to Use Child Safety Restraint$1,2726%$66
Failure to Wear a Seat Belt$1,2726%$66
Driving Without Lights$1,2605%$55

Get Washington car insurance now!

Location pin icon
glyph-shield-checkmarkNo junk mail. No spam calls. Free quotes.

Washington Car Insurance FAQs

What is the cheapest car insurance in Washington state?

For our average user profile, USAA offers the cheapest rate ($500) for a six-month policy or $83 per month. If you do not qualify for USAA, Travelers is the next cheapest ($509) for a six-month policy, or $84 per month.

How much is car insurance in Washington state?

Drivers in Washington pay $582 for a six-month full coverage policy. For drivers who only want the minimum amount of coverage to remain road-legal, rates are lowered to $331 for a six-month policy.

Why is car insurance so expensive in Washington?

Premiums in Washington are 20% cheaper than the national average. If you're looking to lower your premium, use our comparison tool to view different options side-by-side.

How much does car insurance cost in Washington cities?

Car insurance companies calculate your rate based on many factors, location of the vehicle being an important one. The cheapest car insurance is found in Bellingham, Washington, and the most expensive in Federal Way, Washington.

RankCityAvg. Annual Premium
1Federal Way$1,695
19Spokane Valley$1,256

Recent Washington Car Insurance Questions and Answers

Do I need to register or insure my car in Washington if I have insurance that covers me from Canada while working?

You will need to contact the Department of Motor Vehicles for the state of Washington for information on registration. If you are required to register your car in Washington, then you would likely need a Washington insurance policy with your Seattle address.

Will the insurance company total my truck?

It's difficult to say what any insurance company will do. But insurance company tend to total a vehicle if they repair cost (determined through an adjuster) is greater than the value of the vehicle (actual cash value, not what you paid for it).

Does a non-running vehicle need to be insured to be parked on the street?

In Washington, you would have to register the vehicle if it is going to be parked on the street. You wouldn't have to actually insure the truck until it is being driven on the road.

What happens if I lie to my insurance company?

It really depends on your car insurance company. You might be able to get them to pay out the claim and they will non-renew your contract at the end of your policy or they could deny you altogether.

Kristine Lee LinkedIn

Kristine is a licensed insurance agent and one of The Zebra’s in-house content strategists. With a background in copywriting, she covers the ins and outs of the home and car insurance industries. She has contributed to numerous publications focused on the nuances of insurance, including Automoblog,, and