Cheap Oklahoma Car Insurance

Find affordable insurance that works for you in Oklahoma. Compare quotes from over 100 top companies.

or
Location pin icon
glyph-shield-checkmarkNo junk mail. No spam calls. Free quotes.

Here's what you need to know when driving in Oklahoma

Across the Sooner State, there are 235,004 miles of road just waiting to be driven. We’ll get you prepped, then you take the wheel.


 

Affordable Insurance Premiums in Oklahoma

What's the cheapest car insurance in Oklahoma?
RankCompany NameAvg. Annual Premium
1The Hartford$1,346
2USAA$1,366
3Progressive$1,476
4State Farm$1,502
5Oklahoma Farm Bureau$1,869
6Shelter$2,109
7Safe Auto$2,186
8MetLife$2,191
9Allstate$2,324
10Safeco$5,107

Compare quotes from over 30 insurance companies that provide coverage throughout Oklahoma. Enter your ZIP code below to get started.

Compare cheap rates from top companies now!

or
Location pin icon
glyph-shield-checkmarkNo junk mail. No spam calls. Free quotes.

Cheap Insurance for Good Drivers in Oklahoma

Drivers with good driving records typically enjoy lower car insurance costs than drivers with histories of speeding tickets, at-fault accidents, or DUI citations. Oklahoma drivers without a recent at-fault accident typically save 31% on their car insurance premiums — nearly matching the 32% US average. In addition to earning a cheaper premium for driving incident-free, you may qualify for a safe-driving bonus through your car insurance company. The amount of these discounts may vary, but they typically run between 5 and 10%.

Rating Factor$ Savings% Savings
No Traffic Tickets$29816.46%
No Accidents$69331.40%
Good Credit$3,11667.30%

Cheap Insurance for Young Drivers in Oklahoma

Young drivers (those between the ages of 16 and 25) pay extraordinarily high auto insurance rates, with those aged 16-19 paying the most expensive premiums of all. Because of the risk presented by inexperienced drivers, teens pay more than three times the national average for car insurance. In Oklahoma, the typical teen driver pays $5,649 per year — roughly $700 more than the national average for teens, and more than three times as much as the average Oklahoman driver.

AgeAnnual Rate with ParentsAnnual Rate Alone
16$5,779$7,433
17$5,544$6,734
18$5,404$5,923
19$4,811$3,568

Cheap Car Insurance for Bad Drivers in Oklahoma

If you have a clean driving record — no at-fault accidents, speeding tickets, DUIs, or other recent citations — you'll probably pay less for car insurance. Conversely, a bad driving record will cause your rates to skyrocket: car insurance premiums typically increase by 30% after a DUI, 31% after an at-fault accident, and 16% after a speeding ticket in Oklahoma. The post-citation penalties assessed by car insurance companies after speeding tickets and at-fault accidents in Oklahoma align with nationwide averages, but drivers receive lower-than-average rate hikes after DUI violations. If you have a clean driving record, be sure to check for good-driving discounts from your insurer.

Rating FactorAnnual Rate% Increase
At-Fault Accident$2,20731.40%
DUI$2,16930.20%
Speeding Violation$1,81216.46%
Bad Credit$4,63067.30%

Best Car Insurance Companies in Oklahoma

Each auto insurance company emphasizes its cheap rates. But as with any product or service, the cheapest car insurance option isn't always the best choice. Considering what's at stake, it's worth doing the research to find the policy that protects your vehicle adequately after an incident. Be patient and look for a great value, rather than settling for the cheapest auto insurance you find.

Review popular insurance companies' financial strength and claims satisfaction levels to better understand the level of service you'll receive. Claims satisfaction — assigned by J.D. Power — is rated on a scale of 2 to 5, with 5 being "among the best" and 2 being "the rest." Financial strength — calculated by A.M. Best and ranging from "Superior" to "Poor" — determines an insurance company's financial stability and ability to fulfill its policy and contractual obligations.

Insurance CompanyClaims Satisfaction (J.D. Power)Financial Strength (A.M. Best)
Allstate3Superior
Farmers3Excellent
GEICO3Superior
Home StateNot RatedNot Rated
Liberty Mutual3Excellent
Mercury2Superior
MetLife3Superior
Oklahoma Farm BureauNot RatedGood
Progressive3Superior
Safeco3Excellent
ShelterNot RatedExcellent
State Farm3Superior
The Hartford4Excellent
Travelers3Superior
USAA5Superior

 

See insurance rates for Oklahoma's best companies!

or
Location pin icon
glyph-shield-checkmarkNo junk mail. No spam calls. Free quotes.

 

What is the Best Auto Insurance Coverage in Oklahoma?

The required minimum insurance level in Oklahoma is $25,000 Bodily Injury per person, $50,000 Bodily Injury per accident, and $25,000 Property Damage per accident.

If you carry the minimum required coverage in Oklahoma, prepare to pay an average of $693 annually. This is pricier than the nationwide average by 5%. If you elect more comprehensive coverage, you can purchase a policy with comprehensive and collision coverage, which will protect against damages caused by vehicular collisions, auto theft, or weather incidents. However, better insurance comes at a price: in Oklahoma, a comprehensive policy with a $1,000 deductible costs $1,384, 100% more than basic liability-only coverage. For a comprehensive policy with a $500 deductible, expect to pay 126% more than you might for basic liability-only coverage.

Compare average rates for basic, better, and best coverage levels in the table below.

LocationLiability-OnlyComprehensive — $1,000 DeductibleComprehensive — $500 Deductible
Oklahoma$693.34$1,384.39$1,566.35
National Average$657.66$1,241.26$1,397.94

Oklahoma Auto Insurance Laws

State minimum insurance requirements in Oklahoma

In Oklahoma, drivers are required to maintain auto insurance coverage at or above the below levels:

  • Bodily injury: $25,000 per person
  • Bodily injury: $50,000 per accident
  • Property damage: $25,000 per accident
Optional coverage in Oklahoma (varies by carrier):
  • Comprehensive
  • Collision
  • Loan/Lease Payoff
  • Medical and Funeral Services
  • Rental Car Reimbursement
  • Roadside Assistance
  • Uninsured Motorist Bodily Injury

Learn more about auto insurance laws in the state of Oklahoma

Driving Laws in Oklahoma

Oklahoma Texting and Driving Laws

  1. Ban on hand-held cell phones for drivers with Learner or Intermediate Licenses
  2. Ban on text messaging for school bus drivers
  3. Ban on text messaging for drivers with Learner or Intermediate Licenses

Oklahoma DUI Laws

There is a 10-year DUI lookback period in Oklahoma. Repeatedly violating DUI laws leads to stricter penalties and sentences.

In addition to the below penalties, DUI offenders in Oklahoma may be responsible for paying a:

  • $200 trauma care fee
  • $15 mental health fee
  • $25 license reinstatement fee
  • $75 processing fee
  • $175 limited driving privilege fee
  • $50 ignition interlock fee

Ticket Impact on Auto Insurance Rates in Oklahoma

If you get a ticket, your car insurance costs may go up. By how much depends on the specific citation, your car insurance company's pricing standards, and differing local insurance risks and regulations. That's why tickets may have a different impact on insurance in your state compared to the national average.

Below is a look at typical auto insurance rates in Oklahoma after a few common citations.

ViolationAvg. Annual Auto Insurance Rate% Insurance Rate Increase$ Insurance Rate Increase
Hit and Run$2,42856%$868
Refused Breathalyzer/Chemical Test$2,12436%$564
DUI$2,12436%$564
Racing$2,28847%$728
Reckless Driving$2,25344%$694
Driving with a Suspended License$2,30248%$743
At-Fault Accident$2,32349%$763
Driving with an Open Container$1,98027%$420
Operating a Vehicle Without Permission$2,38453%$824
Passing a School Bus$1,99928%$439
Improper Passing$1,93224%$372
Following Too Closely$1,93324%$373
Speeding$1,88321%$323
Failure to Stop at a Red Light$1,90922%$349
Illegal Turn$1,93424%$374
Driving Wrong Way/Wrong Lane$1,88721%$327
Failure to Yield$1,88621%$326
Speeding in a School Zone$1,88121%$321
Driving Too Slowly$1,87920%$319
Distracted Driving$1,85119%$291
Driving with Expired Registration$1,6808%$120
Failure to Show Documents$1,6818%$121
Not-at-Fault Accident$1,73711%$177
Failure to Use Child Safety Restraint$1,6244%$64
Failure to Wear a Seat Belt$1,6506%$90
Driving Without Lights$1,6053%$45

Get Oklahoma car insurance now!

or
Location pin icon
glyph-shield-checkmarkNo junk mail. No spam calls. Free quotes.

Oklahoma Car Insurance FAQs

Who has the cheapest car insurance in Oklahoma?

The Hartford provides the cheapest insurance in Oklahoma at $723 per six-month period. If you do not qualify for The Hartford, consider USAA ($683), Progressive ($738) or State Farm ($751).

Why is Oklahoma car insurance so expensive?

Car insurance in Oklahoma is slightly more expensive than it is in the rest of the U.S., with drivers paying 12% more than average. This is mainly due to the number of uninsured drivers in Oklahoma. Currently, there are 600,000 uninsured drivers in the state — one of the highest rates in the nation.

How much is car insurance in Oklahoma per month?

For a liability-only policy, drivers pay $57 a month. Full coverage drivers pay $130.

How much does car insurance cost in Oklahoma cities?

Car insurance companies calculate your rate based on many factors, location of the vehicle being an important one. The cheapest car insurance is found in Duncan, Oklahoma, and the most expensive in Tulsa, Oklahoma.

RankCityAvg. Annual Premium
1Tulsa$2,006
2Del City$1,998
3Oklahoma City$1,991
4Midwest City$1,989
5Bethany$1,962
6Bixby$1,919
7Moore$1,917
8Broken Arrow$1,883
9Edmond$1,860
10Sapulpa$1,857
11Norman$1,845
12Shawnee$1,821
13Ponca City$1,791
14Sand Springs$1,769
15Muskogee$1,753
16Owasso$1,741
17Claremore$1,725
18Ardmore$1,720
19Stillwater$1,700
20Enid$1,690
21Bartlesville$1,689
22Lawton$1,688
23Altus$1,684
24Duncan$1,677

Recent Oklahoma Car Insurance Questions and Answers

Can someone file a claim if it’s been 4 days and there are no pictures from the accident?

The statute of limitations for property damage claims in Oklahoma is 2 years. So, yes she can.

Does a zero dollar home insurance claim affect rating a policy?

If you were not paid out, a canceled claim should not have an effect on your premium. Database systems used for cataloging claims history can sometimes confuse this, however.

Do I have to keep insurance on my truck it is is only driven on the farm?

If the truck is paid off and is only driven on your personal property, you are not required to insure it. The state will require that you register and insure it if you plan to put it on the road, but you won't need to until that point.

Car insurance rate went up after leaving the country

One of the big rating factors companies look at is whether or not you are currently insured and have been for the past six months. When you canceled your policy to go out of the country, this caused a lapse in coverage.


Kristine Lee LinkedIn

Kristine is a licensed insurance agent and one of The Zebra’s in-house content strategists. With a background in copywriting, she covers the ins and outs of the home and car insurance industries. She has contributed to numerous publications focused on the nuances of insurance, including Automoblog, USInsuranceAgents.com, and BestCompany.com.