Here's what you need to know when driving in Kansas
The average car insurance rate in Kansas is $1,647 per year — 8% more than the U.S. average. Car insurance rates are impacted by more than just your location. Auto insurance rates comprise many factors, including a driver's age and driving history. The Zebra's experts analyzed average Kansas car insurance rates for these rating factors in an effort to help you find an affordable policy.
Read on to learn how much auto insurance costs in Kansas based on these variables, or submit your ZIP code above to receive personalized quotes from top insurers.
The best car insurance companies in Kansas
Based on data from J.D. Power's 2021 Auto Satisfaction Study and The Zebra's Customer Satisfaction Survey, we have compiled a list of the best car insurance companies in Kansas.
Along with topping The Zebra's Customer Satisfaction Survey, USAA received a score of 897 (out of 1,000) in J.D. Powers' 2021 U.S. Auto Insurance Study for the state of Kansas.
As a highly-rated regional carrier, Shelter Insurance scored an 856 on J.D. Power's 2021 auto study.
Farmers placed third in this region with a score of 848 in J.D. Power's 2021 Auto Insurance Study. This carrier also received 4.2 stars out of 5 in The Zebra's Customer Satisfaction Survey.
The cheapest rates are from Nationwide at $1,217 annually or $101 per month.
Insuring young drivers between the ages of 16 and 19 can be exorbitantly expensive. Nationwide provides the cheapest rate for teens.
Dynamic auto insurance data methodology
Methodology: The auto insurance rates displayed above and throughout this page are dynamic, meaning the data will refresh when the most recent information is made available. Rates are based on a sample driver profile — a 30-year-old single male driver with a Honda Accord and full coverage. This profile was adjusted based on common pricing factors used by major car insurance companies, like age, coverage level, driving record and others.
Kansas auto insurance laws
Car insurance is mandatory in almost every state, including Kansas. If you choose the legal minimum coverage level in Kansas, expect to pay an average of $502 annually. This expenditure is less expensive than the nationwide average by 67%.
If you choose the legal minimum coverage level in Kansas, expect to pay an average of $502 annually.
State minimum coverage
In order to drive legally in the state of Kansas, you must carry at least the minimum liability limits listed below:
- Bodily Injury: $25,000 per person
- Bodily Injury: $50,000 per accident
- Property Damage: $25,000 per accident
Uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage:
- Bodily Injur:y $25,000 per person
- Bodily Injury: $50,000 per accident
Personal injury Protection (PIP)
- $4,500 medical expense per person
- $900 per month income loss for one year
- $25 per day at-home services
- $4,500 rehabilitation expense per person
- $2,000 funeral expense per person
Optional coverage in Kansas (varies by carrier):
- Loan/Lease Payoff
- Medical Payments
- Rental Car Reimbursement
- Roadside Assistance
If you opt for better coverage, you can choose a policy with comprehensive and collision, which will protect against the costs of car accidents, theft, vandalism, or weather incidents. But better coverage comes with a cost: in Kansas, a comprehensive insurance policy with a $1,000 deductible costs $1,395, 178% more than liability-only car insurance. For a comprehensive policy with a $500 deductible, expect to pay 250% more than you would for basic coverage.
In Kansas, a comprehensive insurance policy with a $1,000 deductible costs $1,395, 178% more than liability-only car insurance.
Compare car insurance rates from the best companies in Kansas.
Kansas car insurance premiums by rating factor
Your rates are determined by a number of individual factors, including your coverage level, driving history, location, and more. Explore average premium costs by rating factor below to get a better sense of how much you should be paying for auto insurance in Kansas.
Cheap auto insurance in Kansas for minimum coverage
Getting liability-only coverage at the state minimum level will make your car insurance significantly cheaper than having full coverage. In Kansas, the average cost for minimum coverage is $42 per month, or $502 yearly — a savings of $1,254 compared to full coverage.
Cheap auto insurance in Kansas with bad credit
Your credit history is an important factor in determining your car insurance rates. Many carriers see those with a poor credit score as being higher risk, meaning you could pay more for your policy. On average, Kansas drivers with poor credit pay $1,419 more per year than those with exceptional credit. Have a look at some common rates by credit tier below.
Cheap auto insurance in Kansas with an at-fault accident
Your driving history plays a big part in how much you pay. Insurance companies look for previous accidents for which you have been at fault to gauge the level of risk you pose as a customer. An at-fault accident in recent years could see your car insurance rates increase by as much as $629 per year.
Safe driver discounts
In addition to having a cheaper premium, some companies offer a safe driving discount. While the amount varies based on your company, it can range between 5 and 10%.
Cheap auto insurance for young drivers in Kansas
Young drivers — aged between 16 and 25 — pay very high car insurance rates, with those aged 16 to 19 paying the most expensive premiums of all. Because of the risk presented by inexperienced drivers, teen drivers pay more than three times the national average for car insurance. In Kansas, teen drivers pay especially high rates: $4,963 per year — more than $3,400 more than the nationwide average and over three times as much as a typical Kansas driver.
Kansas auto insurance rate by violation
In Kansas, a bad driving record will cause your rates to skyrocket. If you receive a ticket or citation, your auto insurance premiums will probably rise. How much depends on the violation, your insurer's pricing standards, and differing local insurance regulations and risks. That's why tickets may have a different impact on insurance in your state compared to the national average.
See below average auto insurance rates in Kansas after a few common citations.
|Accident/Violation||Avg. Annual Premium||% Rate Increase||$ Rate Increase|
|One Med/PIP claim||$1,791||0%||$0|
|Two Med/PIP claims||$1,914||7%||$124|
|One comp claim||$1,925||8%||$134|
|Two comp claims||$1,994||11%||$203|
|Failure to wear a seat belt||$1,994||11%||$204|
|Driving without lights||$2,023||13%||$233|
|Failure to show documents||$2,027||13%||$236|
|Child safety restraint||$2,064||15%||$273|
|Driving with expired registration||$2,087||17%||$296|
|Cell phone violation||$2,136||19%||$346|
|Texting while driving||$2,137||19%||$347|
|Driving too slowly||$2,149||20%||$359|
|Speeding 6 - 10 MPH over limit||$2,163||21%||$372|
|Failure to stop at a red light||$2,176||22%||$385|
|Speeding 11 - 15 MPH over limit||$2,176||22%||$385|
|Speeding in school zone||$2,183||22%||$393|
|Speeding 16 - 20 MPH over limit||$2,186||22%||$396|
|Failure to yield||$2,194||23%||$404|
|Following too closely||$2,194||23%||$404|
|Wrong way/wrong lane||$2,198||23%||$407|
|In 65 MPH zone||$2,206||23%||$416|
|Speeding 21 - 25 MPH over limit||$2,228||24%||$438|
|Operating a vehicle without permission||$2,229||24%||$438|
|Passing school bus||$2,266||27%||$475|
|At-fault accident - less than $1000||$2,266||27%||$475|
|At-fault accident - $1000-$2000||$2,628||47%||$838|
|At-fault accident - greater than $2000||$2,628||47%||$838|
|Driving with a suspended license||$3,291||84%||$1,500|
|Refusal to submit to a chemical test||$3,360||88%||$1,570|
|Leaving scene of an accident/hit and run||$3,524||97%||$1,733|
Kansas DUI laws
In Kansas, a DUI offense can increase your annual car insurance premium by an average of 89%. Finding affordable auto insurance in the wake of a DUI violation isn’t simple. In fact, a DUI often brings about a bigger premium increase than any single road violation — more than an at-fault accident, racing or reckless driving.
Low-cost car insurance after a DUI in Kansas
If you're convicted of a DUI or DWI violation in Kansas, it’s key to mull over each of your insurance choices carefully. Auto insurance premiums following a DUI can vary substantially by insurer. For example, the least expensive car insurance company with a DUI in Kansas, State Farm, advertises annual rates 45% less than the statewide average insurance rate with a DUI. The second-cheapest insurer for auto insurance after a DUI in Kansas is Progressive, while the priciest firm is GEICO.
There is no car insurer in particular that offers inexpensive DUI car insurance. The recommended way to save in the wake of a DUI citation is to shop around.
Compare and buy car insurance online or reach out to an insurance agent to assess your choices and find a cost-effective policy.
Kansas SR-22 insurance
An SR-22 is a routine legal requirement triggered by a violation such as a DUI conviction, a ticket for driving without insurance, an at-fault collision, driving with a suspended license or accumulating too many points on your license. It is not a type of insurance policy, but a form issued by your insurance company with the state of Kansas to ensure that you remain insured.
Finding cheap auto insurance with an SR-22 in Kansas might require some research, but it could pay off in the end.
How to acquire an SR-22 in Kansas
For currently insured drivers
If you already have auto insurance, getting an SR-22 certificate is straightforward. Contact your car insurance company and ask the company to file an SR-22 request for you. If your insurer isn’t willing to file a request, you'll need to look for a new insurer.
For uninsured drivers
When filing for a new policy, you might be saddled with an up-front fee to have your prospective insurer file an SR-22 request for you and to cover your high-risk driving profile. Needing an SR-22 might disqualify you from purchasing insurance from some companies, while others would be happy to sell you a policy.
For drivers without a vehicle
Not owning a vehicle makes it more difficult to obtain an SR-22, as you will need to furnish proof of insurance to receive the certificate. In this scenario, purchase a non-owners car insurance policy before filing an SR-22 request. Non-owners auto insurance is typically less expensive than traditional coverage since it doesn't protect against material damage to your vehicle.
Find an affordable policy in Kansas in minutes!
Rates by city
Car insurance companies calculate your rate based on many factors, the location of the vehicle being an important one. The cheapest car insurance is found in Gardner and the most expensive in Coolidge, Kansas.
Have a look at the table below to see average car insurance costs in some of Kansas's biggest cities.
Car insurance price trends in Kansas
In Kansas, average annual auto insurance costs increased by $48 in the past year. A typical Kansas driver pays an average of $1,647 per year.
The recent pricing trend in Kansas leans toward pricier car insurance costs and remains higher than the national average. The steepest decrease occurred from 2015 to 2016, while the highest surge took place from 2016 to 2017. At the same time, car insurance rates across the United States have stayed relatively steady in the past few years, moving from $1,521 in 2018 to $1,529 in 2021.
|Year||Avg. Annual Premium — Kansas||Yearly Change — Kansas||Avg. Annual Premium — US||Yearly Change — US|
If your rates are rising faster than the average in your state, compare quotes and find a better deal. The Zebra's car insurance comparison engine furnishes quotes based on your specific profile — enter your ZIP below to get started.
Kansas car insurance FAQs
Below you'll find answers to some of the most commonly asked questions regarding Kansas auto insurance.
Who has the cheapest car insurance in Kansas?
Our data shows Nationwide and USAA offer the cheapest insurance in Kansas. Our data reflects costs for a 30-year-old male driver. In order to find the cheapest insurance in Kansas, use our comparison tool here for personalized spam-free quotes.
How much is car insurance in Kansas?
Rates vary based on your driving profile. However, data from 2022 shows that the average driver in Kansas paid $824 for a six-month policy. This is 8% higher than the national average.
Which insurance company is best for auto?
If you're looking for full coverage insurance in Kansas, your best bet is to shop around. While Nationwide and USAA might be the cheapest insurance for our driving profile, it might not be for yours. Use our comparison tool to find the best rates for you.
Save money on your next car insurance policy!
- Auto Insurance Trends in Kansas
- Average Cost of Car Insurance in Kansas
- Car Insurance in Wichita, KS
- Car Insurance with a DUI in Kansas
- Kansas Car Insurance Laws
- Kansas City, KS Car Insurance
- Lawrence, KS Car Insurance
- Overland Park, KS Car Insurance
- SR-22 Insurance in Kansas
- Temporary Car Insurance in Kansas
About The Zebra
The Zebra is not an insurance company. We publish data-backed, expert-reviewed resources to help consumers make more informed insurance decisions.
The Zebra’s insurance content is written and reviewed for accuracy by licensed insurance agents.
The Zebra’s insurance content is not subject to review or alteration by insurance companies or partners.
The Zebra’s editorial team operates independently of the company’s partnerships and commercialization interests, publishing unbiased information for consumer benefit.
The auto insurance rates published on The Zebra’s pages are based on a comprehensive analysis of car insurance pricing data, evaluating more than 83 million insurance rates from across the United States.