Here's what you need to know when driving in Virginia
Car insurance in Virginia costs $1,067 per year. Compared to the national average rate, Virginia's average is cheaper by $462. Factors that are unique to you, such as your age, location and driving record, determine what you pay for auto insurance.
In our guide to Virginia car insurance, we analyzed average car insurance rates to help you find a budget-friendly policy that meets your needs. Find out how much auto insurance costs in Virginia so you know what a fair rate looks like depending on your individual rating factors. If you're ready to see how much you can save by shopping around, submit your ZIP code above to get personalized quotes from top insurance companies.
The best car insurance companies in Virginia
Here are the top three car insurance companies in Virginia, according to third-party ratings from J.D. Power.
USAA received a score of 890 (out of 1,000) in J.D. Powers' 2021 U.S. Auto Insurance Study and also won top marks in The Zebra's Customer Satisfaction Survey.
Erie is a regional insurance company active in 13 states. It scored 874 out of 1,000 in J.D. Power's study, and is generally highly regarded for customer and claims satisfaction.
One of the most popular insurance companies, State Farm comes in third place with a score of 859.
The cheapest car insurance companies in Virginia
These companies offer the cheapest rates in the following scenarios.
The cheapest rates are from USAA at $971 annually or $81 per month.
State Farm is the most affordable company after a DUI conviction, costing about $146 per month.
Erie is the cheapest insurance company in Virginia for teen drivers.
Dynamic auto insurance data methodology
Methodology: The auto insurance rates displayed above and throughout this page are dynamic, meaning the data will refresh when the most recent information is made available. Rates are based on a sample driver profile — a 30-year-old single male driver with a Honda Accord and full coverage. This profile was adjusted based on common pricing factors used by major car insurance companies, like age, coverage level, driving record and others.
Virginia auto insurance laws
Like most states, Virginia mandates every driver carry a certain amount of car insurance, along with proof of insurance. Along with liability coverage, Virginia also requires you to have uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage; this coverage is usually optional in other states.
Virginia's car insurance requirements are also unique in that the state allows drivers to drive uninsured for a certain length of time if they pay a $500 uninsured motor vehicle (UMV) fee. However, this is not recommended as it leaves you at risk.
Getting the legal minimum coverage level is more affordable than full coverage, but keep in mind you won't have any coverage for your own vehicle. In Virginia, expect to pay $408 every year for the state minimum level of coverage. This rate is less expensive than the nationwide average by 73%.
In Virginia, expect to pay $408 every year for the state minimum level of coverage.
State minimum coverage
In order to drive legally in the state of Virginia, you must carry at least the minimum liability limits listed below if your policy is effective between January 1, 2022, through December 31, 2024:
- Bodily injury: $30,000 per person
- Bodily injury: $60,000 per accident
- Property damage: $20,000 per accident
For policies effective on or after January 1, 2025, your liability coverage should be increased to these levels:
- Bodily injury: $50,000 per person
- Bodily injury: $100,000 per accident
- Property damage: $25,000 per accident
Virginia drivers also have to carry uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage at these limits:
- Bodily injury: $25,000 per person
- Bodily injury: $50,000 per accident
- Property damage: $20,000 per accident
Optional coverage in Virginia (varies by carrier):
- Gap coverage
- Medical payments
- Roadside assistance
- Rental car reimbursement
If you want more protection beyond the minimum, you can get a full coverage policy, which includes comprehensive and collision. This will protect you against the financial ramifications of car accidents, theft, vandalism or weather incidents.
More robust coverage, however, comes at a higher price. A comprehensive insurance policy with a $1,000 deductible costs $944 in Virginia — that's 131% more than liability-only insurance. If you choose a full coverage policy with a $500 deductible, expect to pay 164% more than you would for basic coverage.
A comprehensive insurance policy with a $1,000 deductible costs $944 in Virginia — that's 131% more than liability-only insurance.
Compare car insurance rates from the best companies in Virginia.
Virginia car insurance premiums by rating factor
Insurance companies leverage personal rating factors, like your age, location, driving record and more to calculate how much to charge you in premium. Every insurer weighs these factors differently, which means that you'll get quotes that vary in price when you shop for car insurance.
To get a better understanding of how much you can expect to pay in Virginia, use the data below as a jumping-off point in your search.
Cheap auto insurance in Virginia for minimum coverage
Getting liability-only insurance at the state minimum level will make your car insurance significantly lower, but leaves you at risk. In Virginia, the average cost for minimum coverage is $34 per month, or $408 yearly — a savings of $671 compared to full coverage.
Cheap auto insurance in Virginia with bad credit
Credit score is a rating factor in nearly every state, including Virginia. This is because statistics show a correlation between those with bad credit and a propensity for filing claims. Due to the increased risk of insuring these drivers, insurance companies will charge much higher rates if your credit falls below average.
In Virginia, people with poor credit generally pay an additional $997 yearly compared to drivers with excellent credit. Consult sample rates from different insurance companies below.
Cheap auto insurance in Virginia with an at-fault accident
It's no secret that a checkered driving record will make the cost of car insurance go up. Like bad credit, a history of accidents and citations is another risk indicator. In Virginia, a recent at-fault accident can raise your rate by as much as $583 annually.
Safe driver discounts
In addition to having a cheaper premium, some companies offer a safe driving discount. While the amount varies based on your company, it can range between 5 and 10%.
Cheap auto insurance for young drivers in Virginia
It can be difficult finding affordable auto insurance as a young driver; according to our data, teens and drivers in their 20s pay the most for car insurance compared to older age groups. Insurers charge higher premiums for young drivers because of their relative inexperience on the road.
In Virginia, teens pay $3,511 per year, which is $1,982 more than the national average and over three times as much as a 30-year-old Virginia driver.
Virginia auto insurance rate by violation
Depending on the seriousness of the violation, getting a ticket or citation can quickly make your premium unaffordable. Because every insurer's pricing standards are different, it's difficult to say how much exactly you can expect your rate to increase. Using data, however, we can provide general estimates.
See below for average auto insurance rates in Virginia after a few common citations.
|Accident/Violation||Avg. Annual Premium||% Rate Increase||$ Rate Increase|
|One Med/PIP claim||$1,518||0%||$3|
|Two Med/PIP claims||$1,625||7%||$111|
|One comp claim||$1,628||7%||$113|
|Two comp claims||$1,705||13%||$191|
|Failure to show documents||$1,736||15%||$221|
|Driving without lights||$1,770||17%||$255|
|Child safety restraint||$1,782||18%||$267|
|Driving with expired registration||$1,794||18%||$279|
|Failure to wear a seat belt||$1,810||19%||$295|
|Failure to yield||$1,834||21%||$320|
|Driving too slowly||$1,835||21%||$321|
|Cell phone violation||$1,839||21%||$324|
|Texting while driving||$1,839||21%||$324|
|Failure to stop at a red light||$1,839||21%||$324|
|Wrong way/wrong lane||$1,841||22%||$326|
|Speeding in school zone||$1,842||22%||$327|
|Following too closely||$1,842||22%||$327|
|Speeding 6 - 10 MPH over limit||$1,855||22%||$340|
|Speeding 11 - 15 MPH over limit||$1,881||24%||$366|
|Speeding 16 - 20 MPH over limit||$1,881||24%||$366|
|Passing school bus||$1,931||27%||$416|
|Speeding 21 - 25 MPH over limit||$1,995||32%||$480|
|In 65 MPH zone||$2,062||36%||$547|
|At-fault accident - less than $1000||$2,084||38%||$569|
|Operating a vehicle without permission||$2,239||48%||$724|
|At-fault accident - $1000-$2000||$2,258||49%||$743|
|At-fault accident - greater than $2000||$2,269||50%||$754|
|Refusal to submit to a chemical test||$3,008||99%||$1,493|
|Driving with a suspended license||$3,135||107%||$1,620|
|Leaving scene of an accident/hit and run||$3,179||110%||$1,664|
Virginia DUI laws
Getting a DUI in Virginia can increase your rate by 99% yearly. A DUI is considered a serious violation, so it can be a challenge finding affordable auto insurance with a recent conviction on your driving record.
Low-cost car insurance after a DUI in Virginia
To ensure you're getting the fairest price after a DUI, it’s essential that you assess each of your insurance choices carefully. Car insurance premiums following a DUI can vary substantially by insurance company. For example, the least expensive car insurance company with a DUI in Virginia, State Farm, advertises annual rates 42% less than the statewide average insurance rate with a DUI. The second-cheapest insurer for auto insurance after a DUI in Virginia is Erie, while the most expensive is Allstate.
There is no insurer in particular that offers inexpensive rates for drivers with DUIs that's comparable to a rate you'd get without a DUI. The recommended way to save after a DUI citation is to shop around with as many companies as possible.
Compare and buy car insurance online or reach out to an insurance agent to assess your choices and find a cost-effective policy.
Virginia SR-22 insurance
An SR-22 is a routine legal requirement triggered by a violation such as a DUI conviction, a ticket for driving without insurance, an at-fault collision, driving with a suspended license or accumulating too many points on your license. It is not a type of insurance policy, but a form issued by your insurance company with the state of Virginia to ensure that you remain insured.
Finding cheap auto insurance with an SR-22 in Virginia might require some research, but it shouldn't be too difficult.
How to acquire an SR-22 in Virginia
For currently insured drivers
If you already have an active auto insurance policy, requesting an SR-22 is fairly straightforward. Contact your insurance company and request that the company file an SR-22 certificate request on your behalf. If your current insurance company won't request a certificate, you should look for a new auto insurance company.
For uninsured drivers
When filing for a new policy, you might be saddled with an up-front fee to have your prospective insurer file an SR-22 request for you and to cover your high-risk driving profile. Needing an SR-22 certification might disqualify you from getting coverage from some companies, while others will sell you a policy.
For drivers without a vehicle
Not owning a vehicle makes it more difficult to obtain an SR-22, as you will need to furnish proof of insurance to receive the certificate. If you don't own a vehicle, you should apply for a non-owners car insurance policy before filing for an SR-22. Non-owners auto coverage is typically cheaper than traditional coverage since it doesn't cover physical damage to your vehicle.
Find an affordable policy in Virginia in minutes!
Rates by city
Car insurance companies calculate your rate based on many factors, and an important one is the location of the vehicle. The cheapest car insurance is found in Massanetta Springs and the most expensive in Fleet, Virginia.
Have a look at the table below to see average car insurance costs in some of Virginia's biggest cities.
Car insurance price trends in Virginia
In Virginia, average annual auto insurance costs increased by $41 in the past year. A typical Virginia driver pays an average of $1,067 per year, which is the highest it's reached in recent history. It's worth noting that this is still cheaper than the national average rate of $1,529.
Since 2017, the cost of car insurance in Virginia has steadily increased incrementally. The steepest decrease occurred from 2015 to 2016, while the highest uptick took place from 2016 to 2017.
|Year||Avg. Annual Premium — Virginia||Yearly Change — Virginia||Avg. Annual Premium — US||Yearly Change — US|
If your rates are rising faster than the average in your state, compare quotes and find a better deal. The Zebra's car insurance comparison engine furnishes quotes based on your specific profile — enter your ZIP below to get started.
Virginia car insurance FAQs
Below you'll find answers to some of the most commonly asked questions regarding Virginia auto insurance.
Who has the cheapest car insurance in Virginia?
How much does car insurance cost insurance in Virginia?
Can you drive in Virginia without insurance?
Save money on your next car insurance policy!
About The Zebra
The Zebra is not an insurance company. We publish data-backed, expert-reviewed resources to help consumers make more informed insurance decisions.
The Zebra’s insurance content is written and reviewed for accuracy by licensed insurance agents.
The Zebra’s insurance content is not subject to review or alteration by insurance companies or partners.
The Zebra’s editorial team operates independently of the company’s partnerships and commercialization interests, publishing unbiased information for consumer benefit.
The auto insurance rates published on The Zebra’s pages are based on a comprehensive analysis of car insurance pricing data, evaluating more than 83 million insurance rates from across the United States.