Find affordable insurance that works for you in Pennsylvania. Compare quotes from over 100 top companies.
Across the Keystone State, there are 253,838 miles of road just waiting to be driven. We’ll get you prepped, then you take the wheel.
See quotes from insurance companies that offer coverage in Pennsylvania by entering your ZIP code below.
Drivers with good driving records typically enjoy lower car insurance costs than drivers with histories of speeding tickets, at-fault accidents, or DUI citations. Unfortunately, Pennsylvania drivers without a recent traffic violation typically save just 10% on their car insurance premiums — well below the US average of 17%. In addition to earning a cheaper premium for driving incident-free, you may qualify for a safe-driving bonus through your car insurance company. The amount of these discounts may vary, but they typically run between 5 and 10%. Request auto insurance quotes from a diverse collection of companies every few months to find the best rates.
|Rating Factor||$ Savings||% Savings|
|No Traffic Tickets||$164||10.48%|
Young drivers — aged between 16 and 25 — pay very expensive car insurance rates, with those between the ages of 16 and 19 paying the priciest premiums of all. Because of the risk presented by inexperienced drivers, teen drivers pay more than three times the national average for car insurance. In Pennsylvania, teen drivers pay $4,834 per year, which aligns with the national teen driver insurance premium average of approximately $4,900.
|Age||Annual Rate with Parents||Annual Rate Alone|
If you have a clean driving record — no at-fault accidents, speeding tickets, DUIs, or other recent citations — you'll probably pay less for car insurance. On the other hand, a bad driving record will cause your rates to skyrocket: car insurance premiums typically increase by 44% after a DUI, 35% after an at-fault car accident, and 10% after a speeding ticket in Pennsylvania. The post-citation penalties assessed by car insurance companies after DUI violations and at-fault accidents in Pennsylvania align with nationwide averages, but drivers receive lower-than-average rate hikes after speeding tickets. If you have a clean driving record, be sure to check for good-driving discounts from your insurance company.
|Rating Factor||Annual Rate||% Increase|
Each car insurer emphasizes its low rates. But just like with any product, the cheapest auto insurance isn't always the best choice. Considering the stakes, it's worth doing your homework to obtain the insurance policy that covers your car completely after an incident. Be on the lookout for a great value, instead of settling for the cheapest car insurance you find.
Compare top car insurance companies' fiscal stability and claims satisfaction ratings to better understand the quality of service they will provide. Claims satisfaction — measured by J.D. Power — is ranked on a scale of 2 to 5, with 5 being "among the best" and 2 being "the rest." Financial strength — calculated by AM Best and ranging from "Superior" to "Poor" — measures an insurer's financial stability and ability to satisfy its policy and contractual obligations.
|Insurance Company||Claims Satisfaction (J.D. Power)||Financial Strength (AM Best)|
|Donegal Mutual||Not Rated||Excellent|
|Mutual Benefit Group||Not Rated||Excellent|
The legal liability insurance minimum in Pennsylvania is $15,000 bodily injury per person, $30,000 bodily injury per accident, and $5,000 property damage coverage per accident.
For the minimum required coverage in Pennsylvania, prepare to pay an average of $630 each year. This average cost is cheaper than the national average by 4%. If you opt for better coverage, you can select an insurance policy with comprehensive and collision coverage, which will protect against damages caused by car collisions, auto theft, or weather incidents. Better insurance comes at a cost: in Pennsylvania, a comprehensive policy with a $1,000 deductible costs $1,247, 98% more than liability-only car insurance. For a comprehensive policy with a $500 deductible, expect to pay 127% more than you would for a basic liability policy.
Take a look at average premiums for basic and comprehensive coverage levels below.
|Location||Liability-Only||Comprehensive — $1,000 Deductible||Comprehensive — $500 Deductible|
In Pennsylvania, state minimum insurance requirements are as follows:
The lookback for DUI offenses in Pennsylvania is 10 years. Multiple offenses within this timeframe will result in enhanced penalties.
First-time DUI offenses are ungraded misdemeanors in Pennsylvania and lead to:
If you receive a ticket or citation, your car insurance premiums may get more expensive. By how much depends on the violation, your car insurance company's pricing standards, and local insurance regulations. That's why tickets may have a different impact on insurance in your state compared to the national average.
Below is a snapshot of average auto insurance rates in Pennsylvania after some common violations.
|Violation||Avg. Annual Auto Insurance Rate||% Insurance Rate Increase||$ Insurance Rate Increase|
|Hit and Run||$2,517||81%||$1,127|
|Refused Breathalyzer/Chemical Test||$2,079||50%||$689|
|Driving with a Suspended License||$2,517||81%||$1,127|
|Driving with an Open Container||$1,821||31%||$431|
|Operating a Vehicle Without Permission||$2,120||53%||$730|
|Passing a School Bus||$1,569||13%||$179|
|Following Too Closely||$1,569||13%||$179|
|Failure to Stop at a Red Light||$1,569||13%||$179|
|Driving Wrong Way/Wrong Lane||$1,569||13%||$179|
|Failure to Yield||$1,569||13%||$179|
|Speeding in a School Zone||$1,568||13%||$178|
|Driving Too Slowly||$1,568||13%||$178|
|Driving with Expired Registration||$1,677||21%||$287|
|Failure to Show Documents||$1,411||2%||$21|
|Failure to Use Child Safety Restraint||$1,406||1%||$16|
|Failure to Wear a Seat Belt||$1,406||1%||$16|
|Driving Without Lights||$1,394||0%||$4|
Who has the cheapest car insurance in Pennsylvania?
Erie ($397 per six-month policy), Travelers ($485), and Auto-Owners ($491) offer the cheapest rates for full coverage insurance in Pennsylvania.
What is the minimum car insurance in PA?
Minimum coverage in Pennsylvania is a bit more expensive than it is in other states. Drivers are required to carry bodily and property limits at $15K/$30K/$5K, at least $5,000 of first-party medical benefit, and carry full or limited tort.
How much is car insurance in PA?
On average, Pennsylvania car insurance costs $310 for a six-month liability-only policy or $714 for a full coverage policy.
Yes. Pennsylvania requires all drivers to carry first-party medical benefits, providing medical coverage for you and your passengers, regardless of fault. Pennsylvania also has optional Tort coverage. This coverage determines your right to sue another driver for pain and suffering. The options for this coverage are limited or full. If you have limited tort coverage, you have minimal options for legal recourse after an incident.
Yes. Car insurance is required by law in the state of Pennsylvania.
It depends on the violation. For a DUI, Pennsylvania's lookback period is 10 years. For other violations and citations, such as at-fault accidents, it is three to five years.
Car insurance companies calculate your rate based on many factors, location of the vehicle being an important one. The cheapest car insurance is found in Lebanon, Pennsylvania, and the most expensive in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania.
|Rank||City||Avg. Annual Premium|