Here's what you need to know when driving in Connecticut
Car insurance in Connecticut costs $1,551 per year — just $22 more than the national average rate. What you pay for auto insurance is highly individual, depending on personal factors such as age, location, driving record and more.
In our guide to Connecticut car insurance, we analyzed average car insurance rates to help you find an affordable policy. Continue reading to find out how much auto insurance costs in Connecticut so you know what's fair for your situation. If you're ready to see how much you can save by shopping around, submit your ZIP code above to get personalized quotes from top insurance companies.
The best car insurance companies in Connecticut
Here are the top three car insurance companies in Connecticut, according to third-party ratings from J.D. Power.
USAA received a score of 887 (out of 1,000) in J.D. Powers' 2021 U.S. Auto Insurance Study and also won top marks in The Zebra's Customer Satisfaction Survey.
Scoring 867 out of 1,000, Amica Mutual is well-regarded for its customer and claims satisfaction.
One of the most popular insurance companies, State Farm was given an assessment of 855 out of 1,000.
The cheapest car insurance companies in Connecticut
These companies offer the cheapest rates in the following scenarios.
Dynamic auto insurance data methodology
Methodology: The auto insurance rates displayed above and throughout this page are dynamic, meaning the data will refresh when the most recent information is made available. Rates are based on a sample driver profile — a 30-year-old single male driver with a Honda Accord and full coverage. This profile was adjusted based on common pricing factors used by major car insurance companies, like age, coverage level, driving record and others.
Connecticut auto insurance laws
Car insurance is required in almost every state, including Connecticut. In order to be road-legal, Connecticut requires every driver to maintain a certain level of car insurance — and proof of coverage.
Opting for the legal minimum coverage level is cheaper than full coverage, but can leave you at risk. In Connecticut, expect to pay $728 every year for the state minimum level of coverage. This rate is less expensive than the nationwide average by 52%.
In Connecticut, expect to pay $728 every year for the state minimum level of coverage.
State minimum coverage
In order to drive legally in the state of Connecticut, you must carry at least the minimum liability limits listed below:
- Bodily injury: $25,000 per person
- Bodily injury: $50,000 per accident
- Property damage: $25,000 per accident
Drivers must also carry uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage at these levels:
- Bodily injury: $25,000 per person
- Bodily injury: $50,000 per accident
Optional coverage in Connecticut (varies by carrier):
- Gap coverage
- Medical payments
- Roadside assistance
- Rental car reimbursement
Getting a policy that includes comprehensive and collision — also known as full coverage — will provide more robust protection that covers your own vehicle. These cover events like car accidents, theft, vandalism or weather incidents.
But better coverage comes at a higher cost. A comprehensive insurance policy with a $1,000 deductible costs $1,418 in Connecticut — that's 95% more than liability-only insurance. If you choose a full coverage policy with a $500 deductible, expect to pay 117% more than you would for basic coverage.
A comprehensive insurance policy with a $1,000 deductible costs $1,418 in Connecticut — that's 95% more than liability-only insurance.
Compare car insurance rates from the best companies in Connecticut.
Connecticut car insurance premiums by rating factor
Insurers use personal information as rating factors when generating quotes. Your age, driving history, coverage level, location and more are used to price your premium. Every company weighs these factors differently.
To get a better understanding of how much you can expect to pay in Connecticut, consult average rates by different rating factors below.
Cheap auto insurance in Connecticut for minimum coverage
If you choose liability-only coverage at the state minimum level rather than full coverage, your premium will be much lower but it can leave you at risk. In Connecticut, the average cost for minimum coverage is $61 per month, or $728 yearly — a savings of $849 compared to full coverage.
Cheap auto insurance in Connecticut with bad credit
Except for a select few states that have banned the practice, your credit score is used as a rating factor. This is because insurance companies view credit history as an indicator of risk — past data inform insurers that there is a correlation between having bad credit and an increased propensity for filing claims.
In Connecticut, drivers with poor credit pay an additional $1,323 yearly compared to drivers with excellent credit. Consult average rates from different insurance companies below and use this information as a jumping-off point in your search for affordable insurance with bad credit.
Cheap auto insurance in Connecticut with an at-fault accident
It's well-known that an at-fault accident on your record will drive up your car insurance rate. Insurance companies view you as a riskier client if you've caused accidents in the past. In Connecticut, an at-fault accident can raise your rate by as much as $674 yearly.
Safe driver discounts
In addition to having a cheaper premium, some companies offer a safe driving discount. While the amount varies based on your company, it can range between 5 and 10%.
Cheap auto insurance for young drivers in Connecticut
Car insurance for teens and drivers in their 20s can be gratuitously pricey because of young adults' relative driving inexperience compared to older age groups. Insurers account for this elevated risk by charging higher premiums the younger you are. In Connecticut, teen drivers pay $6,046 per year, which is over $4,500 more than the national average and 290% more than what a 30-year-old Connecticut driver would pay.
Connecticut auto insurance rate by violation
While every company's pricing is different, having a ticket or citation on your driving record will trigger a rate increase. It's difficult to say exactly how much your premium will go up, but we can provide general estimates.
See below for average auto insurance rates in Connecticut after a variety of citations.
|Accident/Violation||Avg. Annual Premium||% Rate Increase||$ Rate Increase|
|One Med/PIP claim||$1,965||0%||$2|
|Two Med/PIP claims||$2,038||4%||$75|
|One comp claim||$2,088||6%||$125|
|Driving without lights||$2,235||14%||$272|
|Two comp claims||$2,236||14%||$273|
|Failure to wear a seat belt||$2,253||15%||$291|
|Child safety restraint||$2,276||16%||$313|
|Failure to show documents||$2,290||17%||$327|
|Driving with expired registration||$2,312||18%||$349|
|Speeding 6 - 10 MPH over limit||$2,333||19%||$371|
|Speeding 11 - 15 MPH over limit||$2,342||19%||$379|
|Speeding 16 - 20 MPH over limit||$2,342||19%||$379|
|Texting while driving||$2,351||20%||$388|
|Cell phone violation||$2,351||20%||$388|
|Driving too slowly||$2,363||20%||$400|
|Following too closely||$2,365||20%||$402|
|Failure to stop at a red light||$2,365||20%||$402|
|Failure to yield||$2,365||20%||$402|
|Speeding in school zone||$2,372||21%||$409|
|Wrong way/wrong lane||$2,373||21%||$410|
|At-fault accident - less than $1000||$2,385||21%||$422|
|Speeding 21 - 25 MPH over limit||$2,393||22%||$431|
|In 65 MPH zone||$2,460||25%||$497|
|Operating a vehicle without permission||$2,544||30%||$581|
|Passing school bus||$2,603||33%||$640|
|At-fault accident - greater than $2000||$3,048||55%||$1,085|
|At-fault accident - $1000-$2000||$3,054||56%||$1,091|
|Driving with a suspended license||$4,211||115%||$2,248|
|Refusal to submit to a chemical test||$4,214||115%||$2,251|
|Leaving scene of an accident/hit and run||$4,366||122%||$2,403|
Connecticut DUI laws
Getting a DUI in Connecticut can increase your car insurance premium by $2,320 annually. Because a DUI often causes a significant jump in premium costs compared to other citations, it can be difficult to find affordable auto insurance in the aftermath of a DUI conviction.
Low-cost car insurance after a DUI in Connecticut
It's of the utmost importance to assess each of your insurance choices carefully if you're convicted of a DUI or DWI violation in Connecticut and need to find car insurance you can afford. Car insurance premiums following a DUI can vary substantially by insurance company. For example, the least expensive car insurance company with a DUI in Connecticut, State Farm, advertises annual rates 49% less than the statewide average insurance rate with a DUI. The second-cheapest insurer for auto insurance after a DUI in Connecticut is Progressive, while the most expensive is Amica, with prices 28% above average.
The hard truth is that you likely won't be able to find an inexpensive rate after a DUI that's as low as a rate you'd get without a DUI on your record. The best thing you can do to save after a DUI citation is to shop around with as many companies as possible.
Compare and buy car insurance online or reach out to an insurance agent to assess your choices and find a cost-effective policy.
Connecticut SR-22 insurance
An SR-22 is a routine legal requirement triggered by a violation such as a DUI conviction, a ticket for driving without insurance, an at-fault collision, driving with a suspended license or accumulating too many points on your license. It is not a type of insurance policy, but a form issued by your insurance company with the state of Connecticut to ensure that you remain insured.
Finding cheap auto insurance with an SR-22 in Connecticut might require some research, but it could pay off in the end.
How to acquire an SR-22 in Connecticut
For currently insured drivers
If you already have an active auto insurance policy, requesting an SR-22 is fairly straightforward. Contact your insurance company and request that the company file an SR-22 certificate request on your behalf. If your current insurance company won't request a certificate, you should look for a new auto insurance company.
For uninsured drivers
When filing for a new policy, you might have to pay an up-front fee to have your prospective insurer file an SR-22 request for you and to cover your high-risk driving profile. Needing an SR-22 certification might disqualify you from getting coverage from some companies, while others will sell you a policy.
For drivers without a vehicle
Not owning a vehicle makes it more difficult to obtain an SR-22, as you will need to furnish proof of insurance to receive the certificate. If you don't own a vehicle, you should apply for a non-owners car insurance policy before filing for an SR-22. Non-owners auto coverage is typically cheaper than traditional coverage since it doesn't cover physical damage to your vehicle.
Find an affordable policy in Connecticut in minutes!
Rates by city
Car insurance companies calculate your rate based on many factors, and an important one is the location of the vehicle. The cheapest car insurance in Connecticut is found in Stonington and Pawcatuck, and the most expensive in New Haven.
Have a look at the table below to see average car insurance costs in some of Connecticut's biggest cities.
Car insurance price trends in Connecticut
In Connecticut, average annual auto insurance costs increased by just $9 in the past year. A typical Connecticut driver pays an average of $1,551 per year or $129 per month.
Year over year pricing trends in Connecticut show that car insurance has gotten more affordable over time in the state — from 2012 to 2016, the average cost continually declined, sometimes by hundreds of dollars, before increasing once again in 2017. Compared to nationwide averages, auto insurance rates in Connecticut tend to be more volatile.
|Year||Avg. Annual Premium — Connecticut||Yearly Change — Connecticut||Avg. Annual Premium — US||Yearly Change — US|
If your rates are rising faster than the average in your state, compare quotes and find a better deal. The Zebra's car insurance comparison engine furnishes quotes based on your specific profile — enter your ZIP below to get started.
Connecticut car insurance FAQs
Below you'll find answers to some of the most commonly asked questions regarding Connecticut auto insurance.
What is the cheapest car insurance in Connecticut?
USAA ($1,304/year), Amica and Nationwide offer the cheapest rates for Connecticut drivers. The best way to ensure you get the best deal on car insurance is by comparing quotes.
How much is car insurance in Connecticut?
Car insurance in Connecticut costs $1,551 per year — $22 more than the national average rate.
What is the minimum car insurance required in CT?
Connecticut requires standard liability coverage at 25/50/25 plus uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage at 25/50 limits.
Save money on your next car insurance policy!
- Auto Insurance for High-Risk Drivers in Connecticut
- Average Cost of Car Insurance in Connecticut
- Bridgeport, CT Car Insurance
- Car Insurance with a DUI in Connecticut
- Connecticut Car Insurance Laws
- Connecticut Home Insurance
- Hartford, CT Car Insurance
- Stamford, CT Car Insurance
- Temporary Car Insurance in Connecticut
- Waterbury, CT Car Insurance
About The Zebra
The Zebra is not an insurance company. We publish data-backed, expert-reviewed resources to help consumers make more informed insurance decisions.
The Zebra’s insurance content is written and reviewed for accuracy by licensed insurance agents.
The Zebra’s insurance content is not subject to review or alteration by insurance companies or partners.
The Zebra’s editorial team operates independently of the company’s partnerships and commercialization interests, publishing unbiased information for consumer benefit.
The auto insurance rates published on The Zebra’s pages are based on a comprehensive analysis of car insurance pricing data, evaluating more than 83 million insurance rates from across the United States.