Car Insurance in Utah
- Compare the cheapest car insurance quotes in UT with The Zebra
- Coverage from Progressive, Allstate, Liberty Mutual and Nationwide (+ other top companies)
Here's what you need to know when driving in Utah
Utah drivers pay an average car insurance rate of $1,386 per year — roughly 9% less than the U.S. average. However, your car insurance rates are determined by more than just where you live. Auto insurance premiums are impacted by factors including a driver's age and driving history. Data experts from The Zebra analyzed average Utah auto insurance rates for these rating factors to help you find a policy that is right for you.
Have a look at our in-depth study of car insurance costs in Utah, or submit your ZIP code above to receive customized auto insurance quotes from top companies.
The best car insurance companies in Utah
As one of the most consistently highest-rated carriers, American Family scored an 850 on J.D. Power's 2021 auto study.
State Farm placed third with a score of 847 in J.D. Power's 2021 customer satisfaction survey.
The cheapest car insurance companies in Utah
These companies offer the cheapest rates in the following scenarios.
The cheapest full coverage rates are from USAA at $897 annually, or $75 per month.
Drivers with less than stellar credit may look to GEICO for the most affordable rates.
Those with a DUI on their records would do well to consider USAA (if eligible) or GEICO for the cheapest rates.
Dynamic auto insurance data methodology
Methodology: The auto insurance rates displayed above and throughout this page are dynamic, meaning the data will refresh when the most recent information is made available. Rates are based on a sample driver profile — a 30-year-old single male driver with a Honda Accord and full coverage. This profile was adjusted based on common pricing factors used by major car insurance companies, like age, coverage level, driving record and others.
Utah auto insurance laws
Car insurance is required in nearly all states, including Utah. If you choose the minimum amount of coverage required in Utah, expect to pay an average of $587 annually. This expenditure is more expensive than the nationwide average by 9%. It's highly recommended that all drivers carry more than the minimum required coverage.
State minimum coverage
In order to drive legally in the state of Utah, you must carry at least the minimum liability limits listed below:
- Bodily Injury $25,000 per person
- Bodily Injury $65,000 per accident
- Property Damage $15,000 per accident
Personal Injury Protection (PIP)
- $3,000 per person
Optional coverage in Utah (varies by carrier):
- Loan/Lease Payoff
- Rental Car Reimbursement
- Roadside Assistance
- Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Bodily Injury
- Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Property Damage
If you opt for better car insurance coverage, you can purchase a policy with comprehensive and collision coverage, protecting against damages caused by vehicular collisions, theft, vandalism, or weather incidents. It's worth noting that better auto insurance comes at a cost: in Utah, a comprehensive insurance policy with a $1,000 deductible costs $1,257, 114% more than basic insurance coverage. For comprehensive coverage with a $500 deductible, expect to pay around $1,459.
Compare car insurance rates from the best companies in Utah.
Utah car insurance premiums by rating factor
Your car insurance premiums are determined by a number of individual rating factors, including your coverage level, driving history, location, and more. Below you can explore average auto insurance costs by rating factor to get a better sense of how much you should be paying for auto insurance in Utah.
Cheap auto insurance in Utah for minimum coverage
Those searching for the cheapest car insurance coverage have probably considered getting the minimum coverage required by the state of Utah. However, this isn't always the best option, as it leaves you and your vehicle exposed to risk. Still, you can at least start your search by taking a look at the table below to see which carriers offer affordable coverage.
Cheap auto insurance in Utah with bad credit
Credit history plays a big part in determining how much you pay for car insurance. Most carriers see drivers with a poor credit history as being higher risk, meaning you will almost certainly pay more for your policy. On average, Utah drivers with poor credit pay $1,833 more per year than those with exceptional credit. Have a look at some common rates by credit tier below.
Cheap auto insurance in Utah with an at-fault accident
Your driving record plays a big part in how much you pay as well. Insurance companies look for previous at-fault accidents to gauge the level of risk you pose as a customer. A recent at-fault accident could see your car insurance rates increase by as much as $2,080 per year.
Safe driver discounts
Along with cheaper premiums, some insurance companies offer safe driving discounts. Availability and amount may vary based on your company, though discounts can range between 5 and 10%.
Cheap auto insurance for young drivers in Utah
Young adult drivers aged between 16 and 25 pay very high car insurance rates on average. In fact, those aged 16 to 19 pay the most expensive premiums of all due to the perceived risk they pose to insurers. Most companies see young drivers as risky due to their lack of experience, meaning that teen drivers pay more than three times the national average for car insurance. In Utah, teen drivers pay especially high rates: $5,563 per year — 301% more than a typical Utah driver.
Utah auto insurance rate by violation
If you receive a ticket or citation, your auto insurance premiums are likely to rise. The amount they increase depends on the type of violation, your insurer's pricing standards, and local insurance regulations. That's why tickets may have a different impact on insurance in your state compared to the national average.
Below is a look at typical auto insurance rates in Utah after a few common citations.
|Accident/Violation||Avg. Annual Premium||% Rate Increase||$ Rate Increase|
|One Med/PIP claim||$1,627||1%||$10|
|Two Med/PIP claims||$1,680||4%||$62|
|One comp claim||$1,684||4%||$67|
|Two comp claims||$1,738||7%||$121|
|Failure to show documents||$1,784||10%||$166|
|Driving without lights||$1,836||14%||$219|
|Child safety restraint||$1,836||14%||$219|
|Failure to wear a seat belt||$1,855||15%||$237|
|Driving with expired registration||$1,893||17%||$275|
|Wrong way/wrong lane||$2,000||24%||$383|
|Speeding 6 - 10 MPH over limit||$2,012||24%||$395|
|Driving too slowly||$2,014||25%||$397|
|Cell phone violation||$2,016||25%||$399|
|Texting while driving||$2,016||25%||$399|
|Speeding in school zone||$2,020||25%||$402|
|Speeding 11 - 15 MPH over limit||$2,022||25%||$404|
|Speeding 16 - 20 MPH over limit||$2,022||25%||$404|
|Failure to yield||$2,025||25%||$408|
|Following too closely||$2,025||25%||$408|
|Failure to stop at a red light||$2,025||25%||$408|
|Speeding 21 - 25 MPH over limit||$2,120||31%||$503|
|In 65 MPH zone||$2,134||32%||$517|
|Passing school bus||$2,170||34%||$552|
|At-fault accident - less than $1000||$2,233||38%||$615|
|Operating a vehicle without permission||$2,283||41%||$665|
|At-fault accident - $1000-$2000||$2,398||48%||$781|
|At-fault accident - greater than $2000||$2,440||51%||$823|
|Driving with a suspended license||$3,232||100%||$1,615|
|Refusal to submit to a chemical test||$3,278||103%||$1,660|
|Leaving scene of an accident/hit and run||$3,433||112%||$1,815|
Utah DUI laws
Being convicted of a DUI offense in Utah can increase your annual car insurance rates by an average of 104%. This comes out to 34% more than the national average rate hike after a DUI. After a DUI, finding affordable auto insurance isn't going to be easy simple. In fact, a DUI charge can bring about larger premium increases than any other road violation. This often includes at-fault accidents, racing, or reckless driving.
Low-cost car insurance after a DUI in Utah
If you're convicted of a DUI or DWI violation in Utah, you will want to carefully consider your insurance choices. Auto insurance premiums following a DUI can vary substantially by insurance company. For example, the least expensive car insurance company with a DUI in Utah, USAA averages rates that are 46% less than the statewide average insurance rate with a DUI. The second-cheapest insurer for auto insurance after a DUI in Utah is Progressive, while the priciest company is State Farm.
There is no car insurer in particular that offers inexpensive DUI auto insurance. The recommended way to save in the wake of a DUI citation is to shop around.
Utah SR-22 insurance
An SR-22 is a legal requirement triggered by a violation such as a DUI conviction, a ticket for driving without insurance, an at-fault collision, driving with a suspended license, or accumulating too many points on your license. It is not a type of insurance policy, but a form issued by your insurance company with the state of Utah to ensure that you remain insured.
If you currently have auto insurance, requesting an SR-22 certificate is relatively simple. Contact your insurer and ask them to file a SR-22 request for you. If your insurer refuses to file for an SR-22, you should shop around for a new insurance company. Finding cheap auto insurance with an SR-22 in Utah might require some research, but it could pay off in the end.
How to acquire an SR-22 in Utah
When applying for car insurance, you might face an up-front fee for the prospective insurer to file an SR-22 request form and to cover your more risky driving profile. Needing an SR-22 certification may disqualify you from purchasing insurance from some carriers, while others would be happy to cover you.
Needing an SR-22 might disqualify you from purchasing insurance from some companies, while others would be happy to sell you a policy.
For drivers without a vehicle
Not owning a vehicle makes it more difficult to obtain an SR-22, as you will need to furnish proof of insurance to earn the certificate. If you don't own a vehicle, you should purchase a non-owners auto insurance policy before pursuing an SR-22. Non-owners auto coverage can be less expensive than a standard policy since it won’t provide protection for physical damage to your car.
Find an affordable policy in Utah in minutes!
Rates by city
Car insurance companies calculate your rate based on many factors, the location of the vehicle being an important one. The cheapest car insurance is found in Enoch, Utah, and the most expensive in Kearns, Utah.
Have a look at the table below to see average car insurance costs in some of Utah's biggest cities.
Car insurance price trends in Utah
In Utah, average annual auto insurance costs increased by $73 in the past year. A typical Utah driver pays an average of $1,386 per year.
The recent pricing trend in Utah leans toward slightly cheaper car insurance costs. From 2017 to 2021, average annual rates in Utah dropped from $1,796 to $1,386. Since this significant drop, rates have increased moderately. At the same time, car insurance rates across the United States have stayed relatively steady in the past few years, moving from $1,521 in 2018 to $1,529 in 2021.
|Year||Avg. Annual Premium — Utah||Yearly Change — Utah||Avg. Annual Premium — US||Yearly Change — US|
If your rates are rising faster than the average in your state, compare quotes and find a better deal. The Zebra's car insurance comparison engine furnishes quotes based on your specific profile — enter your ZIP below to get started.
Utah car insurance FAQs
Below you'll find answers to some of the most commonly asked questions regarding Utah auto insurance.
Who has the cheapest car insurance in Utah?
USAA ($448) and GEICO ($584) offer the cheapest premiums for Utah drivers.
How much is car insurance in Utah?
Car insurance in Utah is reasonably priced, depending on your insurance company. On average, full coverage insurance in Utah is 9% cheaper than the national average. A full-coverage policy will cost you $693 for a six-month policy. A liability-only policy costs $587.
How much is car insurance in Utah per month?
Your monthly rates will vary based on you and your driving profile. Using our average user profile, drivers with liability-only in Utah pay $49 per month for car insurance. If you have full coverage, average rates are around $105.
Save money on your next car insurance policy!
Other people are also asking...
If I accidentally drove my car through a neighbor's fence, will my insurance company pay for the damage?
Can another driver file a claim on my insurance if they were hit by someone else driving my vehicle?
About The Zebra
The Zebra is not an insurance company. We publish data-backed, expert-reviewed resources to help consumers make more informed insurance decisions.
- The Zebra’s insurance content is written and reviewed for accuracy by licensed insurance agents.
- The Zebra’s insurance editorial content is not subject to review or alteration by insurance companies or partners.
- The Zebra’s editorial team operates independently of the company’s partnerships and commercialization interests, publishing unbiased information for consumer benefit.
- The auto insurance rates published on The Zebra’s pages are based on a comprehensive analysis of car insurance pricing data, evaluating more than 83 million insurance rates from across the United States.