Utah Car Insurance with a DUI

If you happen to are found guilty of DUI in Utah, your auto insurance will get more expensive — it's just a matter of how much you'll end up paying.


How does a DUI influence auto insurance premiums in Utah?


In Utah, a DUI can boost your annual car insurance premium by an average of $405. That’s 172% less than the U.S. average premium increase after a DUI.


AUTO INSURANCE AFTER A DUI IN UTAH — AVERAGE ANNUAL PREMIUM
AreaAvg. Annual Rate — without DUIAvg. Annual Rate — with DUIAvg. Increase After DUI
Utah$1,306$1,710+31%
United States$1,548$2,556+65%

How to find car insurance coverage in Utah with a DUI violation


Getting reasonable auto coverage after a DUI violation is far from simple. In fact, a DUI typically brings about a larger rate increase than any other driving violation — more than reckless driving, racing, or an at-fault accident. Utah is a somewhat benign place in which to be convicted of a DUI: its insurance rate raises are among America's lowest.


Affordable auto insurance after a DUI in Utah

If you have been convicted of a DUI or DWI violation in Utah, it’s critical to review available insurance options thoughtfully. Car insurance costs after a DUI can vary greatly depending on the insurer. For example, the best cheap car insurance company after a DUI in Utah, Bear River, offers yearly premiums 66% below the state mean insurance price with a DUI conviction. The second-most affordable choice for car insurance after a DUI in Utah is Iowa Farm Bureau, while the most expensive company is AAA, at 72% above average.


AUTO INSURANCE PREMIUMS AFTER A DUI IN UTAH — BY COMPANY
Insurance CompanyAvg. Annual Rate — After DUI
Bear River$579
Iowa Farm Bureau$1,272
GEICO$1,514
State Farm$1,554
Progressive$1,668
American Family$1,714
Farmers$2,181
Allstate$2,197

There is no auto insurance company in particular that offers low-cost DUI auto insurance. The best way to save money following a DUI conviction is to compare rates.

Compare auto insurance quotes online or contact your insurance expert to gauge the choices and find a cost-effective policy.

Learn more about car insurance and DUI infractions.


Utah DUI laws

Drivers are DUI in Utah when their blood alcohol concentration measures 0.05% or higher. Commercial drivers are held to a stricter standard and are considered DUI when their BAC reads 0.04% or higher.

Drivers under 21 years old are DUI in Utah if they have any level of detectable alcohol in their system.


DUI penalties in Utah

There is a 10-year DUI lookback period in the state of Utah. Multiple DUI offenses within this timeframe result in harsher penalties and fines.

A DUI leading to injury results in enhanced fines and harsher sentencing. Penalties are also increased for a DUI with a passenger under 16 in the vehicle.

First-time DUI offenses in Utah lead to:

  • 48 hours to six months in jail
  • $700 to $1,000 in fines
  • A 90-day license revocation with the possibility for a longer revocation period
  • The possible requirement to install and use an ignition interlock device

A second DUI offense in Utah results in:

  • 10 days to six months in jail
  • $800 to $1,000 in fines
  • License revocation for one year with the possibility for a longer revocation period
  • Possible requirement to install and use an IID

Third-time DUI offenders in Utah are subject to:

  • Up to five years in jail
  • Up to $5,000 in fines
  • License revocation for one year with the possibility for a longer revocation period
  • Possible requirement to install and use an IID

DUI penalties for underage drinkers in Utah

Underage DUI offenders in Utah may be subject to the same laws and penalties as a driver who is 21 or older.

In addition, a first-time underage DUI offender will face a license suspension for two years or until age 21, whichever is longer. Two or more offenses within three years will result in a license suspension of one year.

Underage DUI offenders in Utah must also use an IID.

Sources and references:

https://www.dmv.org/ut-utah/automotive-law/dui.php

https://www.edgarsnyder.com/drunk-driving/driving-alcohol-laws/utah.html

https://www.sltrib.com/news/2018/07/18/utah-its-cops-are-bracing/

Shop now!

or
Location pin icon
glyph-shield-checkmarkNo junk mail. No spam calls. Free quotes.
Kristine Lee LinkedIn

Kristine is a licensed insurance agent and one of The Zebra’s in-house content strategists. With a background in copywriting, she covers the ins and outs of the home and car insurance industries. She has contributed to numerous publications focused on the nuances of insurance, including Automoblog, USInsuranceAgents.com, and BestCompany.com.