Auto insurance requirements in Utah
Car insurance is required in the state of Utah. All drivers must also carry proof of this coverage while behind the wheel. Not carrying the required coverage leaves you at risk and can also lead to some stiff penalties. To find out more about options and required coverages in Utah, start by reading our guide below.
|Person Injury Protection (PIP)|
These are the requirements mandated by Utah, though a lender or leasing company could require further coverage to protect your vehicle against physical damage. This is often referred to as full coverage.
Liability coverage in Utah
Liability coverageis legally required in Utah to pay for bodily injuries and property damage you cause in an at-fault collision. This coverage goes toward the injured party’s lost wages as well as pain and suffering. Please note that your own liability coveragewill never pay for your injuries or damages to your own property.
Personal Injury Protection (PIP) in Utah
Personal injury protectionis required in Utah and goes toward paying for your own injuries, covering medical costs that you and your passengers incur in an accident. It is available regardless of who was at fault.
PIP doesn’t automatically include coverage for lost wages in Utah, though this can be added. The minimum PIP coverage amount of $3,000 per person is required on your policy, though higher coverage amounts are available with most companies.
What are state-mandated car insurance limits?
An auto insurance limit is the maximum amount that an insurance company will pay for a claim. Liability coverage limits are determined at the state level and are typically split into three categories: bodily injury per person, bodily injury per accident, and property damage. In Utah, the minimum coverage is 25/65/15.
These numbers are explained below:
- $25,000 in bodily injury coverage per person is the maximum amount an insurer will pay for a single person that you injure in an auto accident.
- $65,000 in bodily injury coverage per accident is the maximum dollar amount that will be paid for all injuries that you cause in an accident in which more than one person is hurt.
- $15,000 in property damage per accident is the total dollar amount that will be paid for damage that you cause in an accident.
Do Utah’s insurance minimums provide enough coverage?
Utah’s car insurance requirements are roughly similar to most other states. However, carrying the bare minimum coverage is not likely going to keep you fully protected. Unfortunately, the cost of emergency care means that your liability limits can be reached quite quickly with even moderate injuries, which is especially true if you injure multiple people. Likewise, the $15,000 property damage limit is quite a bit lower than the average cost of a new vehicle.
Furthermore, Utah requires no coverage for your own vehicle. If you want to be fully protected, it might be a good idea to add extra coverage or increase your current limits.
Utah’s penalties for driving without proof of insurance
If you are found guilty of driving with no insurance in Utah, you are guilty is a Class B misdemeanor which carries the following penalties:
- A fine of at least $400 (up to $1,000 for a second and subsequent offense within three years)
- Suspension of license until proof of insurance can be shown
- Filing of an SR-22 certificate
- Possible suspension of the vehicle’s registration
- $100 reinstatement fee
Optional car insurance coverage in Utah
Utah law requires liability and uninsured/underinsured motorist coverages, but most insurance carriers offer a number of other helpful coverage options. Here is a list of some of the more common options available:
- Comprehensive: This coverage pays for damages to your vehicle caused by non-collision circumstances such astheftand damage related toweatherevents.
- Collision: This coverage pays for damages that result from a collision with another vehicle or stationary object.
- Loan/Lease Payoff: Sometimes referred to as gap coverage, this coverage can pay the difference between what you owe on a loan and what your car’s actual cash value. This can help in the event that you owe more than your car is actually worth.
- Medical Payments: In the event of an accident, this coverage goes towards paying for your medical expenses as well as those in your vehicle.
- Rental Car Reimbursement: If your car is unable to be driven, this coverage will help pay for a rental car until yours can be fixed.
- Roadside Assistance: Roadside assistance coverage can help when you suffer breakdowns or find yourself with flat tires, dead batteries, or in need of a tow.
- Uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage: This is a form of coverage that helps to pay for your injuries if you are harmed by an insured — or underinsured — driver.
Why following Utah’s car insurance laws is important
Carrying car insurance in Utah is mandatory. Not only is it a legal requirement, but it’s crucial for protecting yourself and your assets. Adding more robust coverage or increasing your current limits is highly recommended for keeping you protected. However, if you’re worried about a rise in your premiums, it may be time to shop for cheaper coverage. The Zebra is a great place to start, giving you the opportunity to see side-by-side insurance quotes from the nation’s top carriers. Enter your ZIP below to get started.
Ready to start saving?
Ready to start saving?