Compare the best rates from 41 car insurance companies in Tennessee.
Across the Volunteer State, there are 194,755 miles of road just waiting to be driven. We’ll get you prepped, then you take the wheel.
Drivers with good driving records typically enjoy lower car insurance costs than drivers with histories of speeding tickets, at-fault accidents, or DUI citations. Unfortunately, Tennessee state drivers without a recent at-fault accident save only 26% on their car insurance premiums, on average — well below the US average of 32%. In addition to earning a cheaper premium for driving incident-free, you may qualify for a safe-driving bonus through your car insurance company. The amount of these discounts may vary, but they typically run between 5 and 10%.
|Rating Factor||$ Savings||% Savings|
|No Traffic Tickets||$238||15.49%|
Young drivers — aged between 16 and 25 — pay very high car insurance rates, with those aged 16-19 paying the most expensive premiums of all. Because of the risk presented by inexperienced drivers, teen drivers pay more than three times the national average for car insurance. In Tennessee, teen drivers pay insurance rates in line with the national average: $4,741 per year.
|Age||Annual Rate with Parents||Annual Rate Alone|
If you have a clean driving record — no at-fault accidents, speeding tickets, DUIs, or other recent citations — you'll probably enjoy relatively cheap car insurance rates. Conversely, a bad driving record will cause your costs to skyrocket: car insurance premiums typically increase by 31% after a DUI, 26% after an at-fault accident, and 15% after a speeding ticket in Tennessee. The post-citation penalties assessed by car insurance companies in Tennessee are slightly more forgiving than nationwide averages. If you have a clean driving history, be sure to inquire about your insurance company's safe driver discount.
|Rating Factor||Annual Rate||% Increase|
Every auto insurer advertises its low premiums. But as with any product, the cheapest car insurance option isn't always the best choice. Considering what's at stake, it's worth doing your research to discover an auto insurance policy that insures your car completely after a collision. Find a great value, rather than settling for the most affordable auto insurance in your state.
Compare top insurance companies' financial strength and claims satisfaction ratings to better predict the level of service you'll receive. Claims satisfaction — measured by J.D. Power — is ranked on a scale of 2 to 5, with 5 being "among the best" and 2 being "the rest." Financial strength — calculated by A.M. Best and running from "Poor" to "Superior" — evaluates an insurer's financial strength and ability to meet its policy and contractual obligations.
|Insurance Company||Claims Satisfaction (J.D. Power)||Financial Strength (A.M. Best)|
|Celina Insurance||Not Rated||Excellent|
|Cincinnati Insurance||Not Rated||Superior|
|Direct General||Not Rated||Excellent|
The minimum insurance requirement in Tennessee is $25,000 Bodily Injury per person, $50,000 Bodily Injury per accident, and $15,000 Property Damage per accident.
If you opt for the minimum allowed coverage in Tennessee, you can expect to pay a mean of $500 annually. This is cheaper than the national average by 24%. If you choose better auto insurance coverage, you can choose a policy with comprehensive and collision coverage, protecting against damages caused by car-vs.-car collisions, theft, or weather incidents. Better coverage has a price: in Tennessee, a comprehensive policy with a $1,000 deductible costs $1,153, 131% more than basic coverage. For comprehensive insurance coverage with a $500 deductible, expect to pay 163% more than for liability-only coverage.
Compare average expenditures for liability-only and comprehensive auto insurance levels below.
|Location||Liability-Only||Comprehensive — $1,000 Deductible||Comprehensive — $500 Deductible|
In Tennessee, the minimum coverage requirement is liability with limits of:
Optional coverage in Tennessee (which varies by carrier) includes:
Tennessee has a 10-year DUI lookback period. Multiple DUI offenses within 10 years subjects violators to increased penalties and fines.
In addition, penalties are enhanced for any DUI leading to an injury or death or for a DUI in which a passenger is under 18 years old. Penalties are also enhanced for any DUI offense in which the driver has a BAC of 0.20% or higher.
First-time DUI offenses in Tennessee lead to:
If you receive a ticket or citation, your auto insurance costs will probably go up. By how much depends on the violation, your insurer's pricing standards, and differing local insurance regulations. That's why tickets may have a different impact on insurance in your state compared to the national average.
Below is a look at typical auto insurance rates in Tennessee after some common violations.
|Violation||Avg. Annual Auto Insurance Rate||% Insurance Rate Increase||$ Insurance Rate Increase|
|Hit and Run||$2,160||51%||$733|
|Refused Breathalyzer/Chemical Test||$2,075||45%||$648|
|Driving with a Suspended License||$2,212||55%||$785|
|Driving with an Open Container||$1,863||31%||$436|
|Operating a Vehicle Without Permission||$1,741||22%||$315|
|Passing a School Bus||$1,898||33%||$471|
|Following Too Closely||$1,730||21%||$303|
|Failure to Stop at a Red Light||$1,730||21%||$303|
|Driving Wrong Way/Wrong Lane||$1,730||21%||$303|
|Failure to Yield||$1,730||21%||$303|
|Speeding in a School Zone||$1,727||21%||$300|
|Driving Too Slowly||$1,727||21%||$300|
|Driving with Expired Registration||$1,596||12%||$169|
|Failure to Show Documents||$1,596||12%||$169|
|Failure to Use Child Safety Restraint||$1,558||9%||$131|
|Failure to Wear a Seat Belt||$1,530||7%||$103|
|Driving Without Lights||$1,530||7%||$103|
Our data indicate Penn National ($402 per six-month policy) and Auto-Owners ($422) offer the cheapest premiums for drivers in Tennessee. Drivers should also consider USAA, State Farm, and Travelers.
A liability-only car insurance policy in Tennessee costs $41 per month. If you want a full coverage policy, your premiums could be $109 per month.
What is the average cost of car insurance in Tennessee?
Drivers in Tennessee will pay $249 for a liability-only six-month policy. For drivers needing full coverage, rates average $657.
Approximately 20 percent of Tennesseean drivers don't have car insurance. This makes Tennessee one of the least-insured states in the US.
Car insurance companies calculate your rate based on many factors, location of the vehicle being an important one. The cheapest car insurance is found in Johnson City, Tennessee, and the most expensive in Memphis, Tennessee.
|Rank||City||Avg. Annual Premium|
At The Zebra, we know better than most just what a pain buying car insurance can be. We also know that students suffer from higher-than-average policy rates. Talk about a double-whammy. That’s why, this year, we’ve decided to continue The Zebra’s annual scholarship with the goal of helping to alleviate the financial pressures of college-bound students in the Tennessee area, while also getting an insider view of the Volunteer State.
So, students, we want to see your favorite road trip destination(s) in your state— from your unique perspective. If it makes sense to hit the open road and be our virtual tour guide, that's great! But there are no limits to what we're looking for: a narrated animation, a slideshow of memorabilia, an illustrated map of the best roadside attractions on the way. This is a chance for you to showcase any place you love in as an original way as possible.
The length of the road trip to your feature destination is inconsequential. So if you have an awesome spot in mind that's just two miles from home, we want to see it.
Applicants must be currently enrolled at or planning to attend a four-year university, graduate program, community college, or trade school located in the continental United States. Upon notification, winner(s) must supply a current proof of enrollment or letter of acceptance.
Your original video should not exceed 2 minutes
The video must be hosted on YouTube or Vimeo
Email your submission to email@example.com
your name, address, and phone number when you submit
Selected winner(s) will be awarded a check for $1,000
Applications must be received by 11:59 p.m. CST on December 31st, 2020
Winner(s) will be selected and notified by email by January 31st, 2021
The winner will be selected based on creativity in the content and presentation
*Upon notification, winner(s) must also supply a current proof of enrollment at a four-year university, graduate program, community college, or trade school located in the continental United States.
By participating, entrants represent that the video submitted is their sole and original work and does not infringe the intellectual property rights of any other party. In other words, no copyrighted music or images may be used.
Employees of The Zebra and their immediate family members are not eligible to participate in the contest.
Written credits for any technical or talent positions (e.g., editor, director, actors) should be included with your submission, along with any sources used to create the video.