Tennessee Car Insurance After a DUI

If you get a DUI in the state of Tennessee, your auto insurance is going to become pricier — it's just a question of how large the penalty will be.


How does a DUI influence car insurance in Tennessee?


In Tennessee, a DUI will increase your annual car insurance cost by an average of $723. That’s 52% less than the national average premium hike following a DUI.


CAR INSURANCE WITH A DUI IN TENNESSEE — AVERAGE ANNUAL COST
LocationAvg. Annual Rate — no DUIAvg. Annual Rate — with DUIAvg. Increase After DUI
Tennessee$1,570$2,293+46%
United States$1,548$2,556+65%

Getting auto insurance in Tennessee after a DUI conviction


Getting affordable car insurance soon after a DUI offense isn’t easy. In fact, a DUI typically leads to a larger rate hike than any other driving transgression — more than an at-fault accident, reckless driving, or racing.


Best car insurance with a DUI in Tennessee

If you're convicted of a driving under the influence violation in Tennessee, it’s key to review all your insurance possibilities carefully. Car insurance prices after a DUI can vary widely depending on the company. For instance, the best cheap car insurer with a DUI in Tennessee, State Farm, advertises yearly prices 51% less than the state mean insurance price with a DUI. The next-most affordable option for car insurance after a DUI in Tennessee is GEICO, and the priciest company is Liberty Mutual, at 163% above average.


CAR INSURANCE PRICES AFTER DUI IN TENNESSEE — BY COMPANY
Insurance CompanyAvg. Annual Rate — After DUI
State Farm$1,121
GEICO$1,620
Progressive$1,738
Erie$1,743
USAA$1,872
Allstate$2,435

There is no car insurance company in particular that sells inexpensive DUI car insurance. The easiest way to save post-DUI citation is to compare policies.

Compare car insurance quotes online or contact an insurance agent to shop the market and discover a reasonable DUI insurance policy.

Learn more about car insurance and DUI infractions.

Compare car insurance rates now!

or
Location pin icon
No junk mail. No phone number. Free quotes.

Tennessee DUI laws

Drivers are DUI in Tennessee when their blood alcohol concentration measures 0.08% or higher. Commercial drivers are held to a stricter standard and are considered DUI when their BAC reads 0.04% or higher.

Based on observation of potential impairment, drivers in Tennessee may also be considered DUI if their BAC is below 0.08% but above 0.05%.

Drivers under 21 years old are DUI in Tennessee if their BAC is 0.02% or higher.


DUI penalties in Tennessee

Tennessee has a 10-year DUI lookback period. Multiple DUI offenses within 10 years subjects violators to increased penalties and fines.

In addition, penalties are enhanced for any DUI leading to an injury or death or for a DUI in which a passenger is under 18 years old. Penalties are also enhanced for any DUI offense in which the driver has a BAC of 0.20% or higher.

First-time DUI offenses in Tennessee lead to:

  • 48 hours to 11 months and 29 days in jail
  • $350 to $1,500 in fines
  • License revocation for one year
  • Must install and use an ignition interlock device
  • Must participate in an alcohol and drug treatment program
  • Must pay restitution, if applicable

A second DUI offense in Tennessee results in:

  • 45 days to 11 months and 29 days in jail
  • $600 to $3,500 in fines
  • License revocation for two years
  • Must install and use an IID
  • Must participate in an alcohol and drug treatment program
  • Must pay restitution, if applicable
  • Vehicle may be seized and forfeited

Third-time DUI offenders in Tennessee are subject to:

  • 120 days to 11 months and 29 days in jail
  • $1,100 to $10,000 in fines
  • License revocation for six years
  • Must install and use an IID
  • Must participate in an alcohol and drug treatment program
  • Vehicle may be seized and forfeited

Four or more DUI offenses in Tennessee are class E felonies and lead to:

  • 150 consecutive days to one year in jail
  • $3,000 to $15,000 in fines
  • License revocation for eight years
  • Must install and use an IID
  • Must participate in an alcohol and drug treatment program
  • Vehicle may be seized and forfeited

DUI penalties for underage drinkers in Tennessee

Those ages 16 to 20 who drive while impaired in Tennessee will face:

  • Court-ordered community service
  • $250 in fines
  • One-year license revocation

Sources and references:

https://www.tn.gov/content/tn/safety/publicsafety/duioutline.html

Ava Lynch LinkedIn

Based in Austin, TX, Ava has been in the insurance industry as a licensed agent for 4-plus years. Ava is currently one of The Zebra’s resident property insurance experts and has been featured in publications such as US News Report, GasBuddy, and Yahoo! Finance.