Cheap North Carolina Car Insurance

Find affordable insurance that works for you in North Carolina. Compare quotes from over 100 top companies.

or
Location pin icon
glyph-shield-checkmarkNo junk mail. No spam calls. Free quotes.

Here's what you need to know when driving in North Carolina

Across the Tar Heel State, there are 221,456 miles of road just waiting to be driven. Read on to learn how much auto insurance costs in North Carolina based on the most common rating factors. Or, enter your ZIP code above to receive free personalized quotes and ensure you are getting the best price for your insurance.


 

Affordable Insurance Premiums in North Carolina

What's the cheapest car insurance in North Carolina?
RankCompany NameAvg. Annual Premium
1NC Farm Bureau$852
2Auto-Owners$861
3Travelers$918
4Erie$929
5State Farm$940
6Titan$1,024
7Progressive$1,228
8Allied$1,432
9Allstate$1,540
10Nationwide$1,569

Compare quotes from over 20 insurance companies that provide coverage throughout North Carolina. Enter your ZIP code below to get started.

Compare cheap rates from top companies now!

or
Location pin icon
glyph-shield-checkmarkNo junk mail. No spam calls. Free quotes.

Cheap Insurance for Good Drivers in North Carolina

Drivers with good driving records typically enjoy lower car insurance costs than drivers with histories of speeding tickets, at-fault accidents, or DUI citations. North Carolina drivers without a recent speeding ticket typically save 32% on their car insurance premiums — far exceeding the 17% national average. In addition to earning a cheaper premium for driving incident-free, you may qualify for a safe-driving bonus through your car insurance company. The amount of these discounts may vary, but they typically run between 5 and 10%.

Rating Factor$ Savings% Savings
No Traffic Tickets$42332.96%
No Accidents$44233.97%
Good Credit$14714.60%

Cheap Insurance for Young Drivers in North Carolina

Young drivers (those between the ages of 16 and 25) pay extraordinarily high auto insurance rates, with those aged 16-19 paying the most expensive premiums of all. Because of the risk presented by inexperienced drivers, teens pay more than three times the national average for car insurance. In North Carolina, the typical teen driver pays $2,583 per year — approximately half the national average for teens, but more than twice the statewide average for all drivers in the Tarheel State.

AgeAnnual Rate with ParentsAnnual Rate Alone
16$4,037$2,650
17$3,202$2,063
18$2,987$1,816
19$2,987$925

Cheap Car Insurance for Bad Drivers in North Carolina

If you have a clean driving record — no at-fault accidents, speeding tickets, DUIs, or other recent citations — you'll probably pay less for car insurance. Conversely, a bad driving record will cause your rates to skyrocket: car insurance premiums typically increase by 48% after a DUI, 33% after an at-fault accident, and 32% after a speeding ticket in North Carolina. The post-citation penalties assessed by car insurance companies after violations and at-fault accidents in North Carolina are substantially higher than nationwide averages. If you have a clean driving record, be sure to check for good-driving discounts from your insurer.

Rating FactorAnnual Rate% Increase
At-Fault Accident$1,30233.97%
DUI$1,65848.15%
Speeding Violation$1,28232.96%
Bad Credit$1,00614.60%

Best Car Insurance Companies in North Carolina

Every auto insurance company advertises its cheap prices. But as with any product, the most affordable car insurance option is not always the finest choice. Considering what's at stake, it's worthwhile to do the homework to discover an insurance policy that will cover your car completely in the event of a collision. It's worth contrasting options to find a great value, rather than settling for the cheapest car insurance you can find.

Review top insurance companies' financial strength and claims satisfaction levels to better understand the quality of service they will provide. Claims satisfaction — measured by J.D. Power — is rated on a scale of 2 to 5, with 5 being "among the best" and 2 being "the rest." Financial strength — calculated by A.M. Best and ranging from "Poor" to "Superior" — assesses an insurance company's financial strength and ability to satisfy its policy and contractual obligations.

Insurance CompanyClaims Satisfaction (J.D. Power)Financial Strength (A.M. Best)
Allstate3Superior
Auto-Owners5Superior
Erie5Superior
GEICO3Superior
Liberty Mutual3Excellent
MetLife3Superior
Nationwide4Superior
Peerless3Excellent
Penn NationalNot RatedExcellent
Progressive3Superior
Safeco3Excellent
State Farm3Superior
Travelers3Superior
UnitrinNot RatedExcellent
Utica NationalNot RatedExcellent

 

See insurance rates for North Carolina's best companies!

or
Location pin icon
glyph-shield-checkmarkNo junk mail. No spam calls. Free quotes.

 

What is the Best Auto Insurance Coverage in North Carolina?

The minimum insurance requirement in North Carolina is $30,000 Bodily Injury per person, $60,000 Bodily Injury per accident, and $25,000 Property Damage per accident.

For the minimum required coverage in North Carolina, you can expect to owe an average of $428 each year. This average cost is cheaper than the U.S. average by 35%. If you opt for better car insurance coverage, you can choose a policy with comprehensive and collision coverage, insuring against damages caused by car-on-car collisions, auto theft, or weather incidents. Better car insurance has a cost: in North Carolina, a comprehensive policy with a $1,000 deductible costs $814, 90% more than liability-only car insurance. For a comprehensive policy with a $500 deductible, expect to pay 104% more than for a liability-only policy.

Analyze average premiums for liability-only and comprehensive coverage levels in the table below.

LocationLiability-OnlyComprehensive — $1,000 DeductibleComprehensive — $500 Deductible
North Carolina$428.34$813.57$873.48
National Average$657.66$1,241.26$1,397.94

North Carolina Auto Insurance Laws

State minimum insurance requirements in North Carolina

In North Carolina, drivers are required to maintain auto insurance at or above the below levels:

Liability
  • Bodily Injury $30,000 per person
  • Bodily Injury $60,000 per accident
  • Property Damage $25,000 per accident
Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist
  • Bodily Injury $30,000 per person
  • Bodily Injury $60,000 per accident
  • Property Damage $25,000 per accident
Optional coverage in North Carolina (varies by carrier):
  • Comprehensive
  • Collision
  • Loan/Lease Payoff
  • Medical Payments
  • Rental Car Reimbursement
  • Roadside Assistance

Learn more about car insurance laws in North Carolina

Driving Laws in North Carolina

North Carolina Texting and Driving Laws

  1. Ban on all cell phones for school bus drivers
  2. Ban on all cell phones for drivers <18 years old
  3. Ban on text messaging for all drivers

North Carolina DUI Laws

North Carolina has a seven-year lookback period. Each subsequent DWI within a seven-year period leads to enhanced penalties.

There are five levels of misdemeanor DWI offenses in North Carolina. Judges use mitigating factors to determine which level to apply to an intoxicated individual. Such mitigating factors include:

  • The driver’s BAC
  • The driver’s driving record
  • Level of observable impairment
  • Voluntary submission or participation in assessment and treatment
  • And other factors

Ticket Impact on Auto Insurance Rates in North Carolina

If you receive a ticket, your auto insurance premiums may get more expensive. By how much depends on the specific citation, your insurance company's pricing strategy, and local insurance regulations. That's why tickets may have a different impact on insurance in your state compared to the national average.

See below average auto insurance rates in North Carolina after some common violations.

ViolationAvg. Annual Auto Insurance Rate% Insurance Rate Increase$ Insurance Rate Increase
Hit and Run$4,358360%$3,411
Refused Breathalyzer/Chemical Test$4,011324%$3,064
DUI$4,011324%$3,064
Racing$4,358360%$3,411
Reckless Driving$1,74384%$796
Driving with a Suspended License$2,763192%$1,816
At-Fault Accident$1,40248%$455
Driving with an Open Container$1,27535%$328
Operating a Vehicle Without Permission$1,27535%$328
Passing a School Bus$1,71881%$771
Improper Passing$1,40348%$456
Following Too Closely$1,40348%$456
Speeding$1,40248%$455
Failure to Stop at a Red Light$1,27535%$328
Illegal Turn$1,27535%$328
Driving Wrong Way/Wrong Lane$1,27535%$328
Failure to Yield$1,27535%$328
Speeding in a School Zone$1,30037%$353
Driving Too Slowly$1,30037%$353
Distracted Driving$1,23630%$289
Driving with Expired Registration$1,26534%$318
Failure to Show Documents$1,14221%$195
Not-at-Fault Accident$9571%$10
Failure to Use Child Safety Restraint$1,26534%$318
Failure to Wear a Seat Belt$1,26534%$318
Driving Without Lights$1,26534%$318

Get North Carolina car insurance now!

or
Location pin icon
glyph-shield-checkmarkNo junk mail. No spam calls. Free quotes.

North Carolina Car Insurance FAQs

Who has the cheapest car insurance in North Carolina?

NC Farm Bureau offers the cheapest premiums for North Carolina drivers with an average rate of $426 for a six-month policy, or $71 per month. If you're interested in seeing quotes from multiple insurance companies, use our comparison tool to get started.

How much is car insurance in North Carolina?

The average cost of car insurance in North Carolina is $873 per year for full coverage or $428 for liability-only.

What type of car insurance is required in North Carolina?

North Carolina requires bodily injury and liability limits of 30/60/25 along with uninsured and underinsured motorist coverage.

How much does car insurance cost in North Carolina cities?

Car insurance companies calculate your rate based on many factors, location of the vehicle being an important one. The cheapest car insurance is found in Asheville, North Carolina, and the most expensive in Fayetteville, North Carolina.

RankCityAvg. Annual Premium
1Fayetteville$1,188
2Charlotte$1,110
3Gastonia$1,060
4Indian Trail$1,029
5Wilson$1,019
6Goldsboro$1,004
7Concord$994
8Greenville$979
9Rocky Mount$976
10Salisbury$976
11Kannapolis$976
12Wilmington$972
13Raleigh$952
14Durham$951
15Greensboro$945
16High Point$944
17Huntersville$933
18Hickory$923
19Burlington$868
20Cary$856
21Apex$855
22Winston Salem$847
23Chapel Hill$846
24Asheville$819
Recent Questions:

How soon after Florence will I be able to add my car to my insurance

There is no exact answer. Once the insurance companies no longer see an imminent threat, they will lift the binding restrictions and you will be able to get insurance.

Why does my wife need to be added to my policy if she doesn't drive?

You should be able to add your wife as a driver to the policy with a state ID for now. Most companies give you 30-60 days to provide your new license information.

How often do insurance companies pull CLUE reports?

Normally insurance companies will run your CLUE (Comprehensive Loss Underwriting Exchange) report when you first start your policy or some time within the first 60 days. It costs money for them to run the report so they don't usually pay to have it run after your first renewal.

Is there a temporary non-owners car insurance for foreign drivers?

As an international student, you do have some options. The Zebra&nbsp;can offer Non-Owner's policies for drivers with a foreign license.&nbsp;We can't quote that online because a car is required, but you can give us a call at&nbsp;888-807-3823.

Kristine Lee
Kristine Lee LinkedIn

Kristine is a licensed insurance agent and one of The Zebra’s in-house content strategists. With a background in copywriting, she covers the ins and outs of the home and car insurance industries. She has contributed to numerous publications focused on the nuances of insurance, including Automoblog, USInsuranceAgents.com, and BestCompany.com.