USAA Insurance Review

  • With an overall score of 4.6/5 in 2023, USAA is a top-notch insurance company
  • Read more about USAA's reviews, complaints and prices before you buy
Location pin icon
No junk mail. No spam calls. Free quotes.
carrier-img

Why you can trust The Zebra

The Zebra partners with some of the companies we write about. However, our content is written and reviewed by an independent team of editors and licensed agents. Reference our data methodology and learn more about how we make money.

Author profile picture

Ross Martin

Manager, Content Quality

Credentials
  • Licensed Insurance Agent — Property and Casualty

Ross joined The Zebra as a writer and researcher in 2019. As a licensed insurance agent, he specializes in writing insurance content to help shoppers…

Author profile picture

Kristine Lee

Manager, Content and Data

Credentials
  • Licensed Insurance Agent — Property and Casualty

Kristine is a licensed insurance agent who joined The Zebra in 2019 as an in-house content researcher and writer. Before joining The Zebra, she was a…

USAA insurance: Ratings and reviews

4.6 100% filled Star icon 100% filled Star icon 100% filled Star icon 100% filled Star icon 59.999999999999964% filled Star icon

Rating from The Zebra Question mark icon

USAA is one of the top car insurance companies in the nation by market share. Perhaps more importantly, the company regularly tops customer satisfaction surveys, including those conducted by The Zebra and JD Power. USAA currently has some of the industry's best overall scores in terms of customer and claims satisfaction. Below, we'll dive into our ratings, pricing data and policy options to see if USAA car insurance is right for you.

100% filled Star icon 100% filled Star icon 100% filled Star icon 100% filled Star icon 59.999999999999964% filled Star icon
4.6 stars Rating from The Zebra
Ratings based on price, customer service, coverage, and financial strength.
Get a Quote at USAA
Pros
  • Top customer satisfaction scores

  • A wide range of coverage options and benefits

  • Affordable premiums

  • Car buying tools and discounts with some manufacturers

Cons
  • Limited eligibility

  • Limited physical locations for those who prefer in-person meetings


Is USAA a good insurance company?

The Zebra's review focuses heavily on how well USAA scores in terms of customer service. We looked at the following third-party ratings to help determine our ratings.

Claims Satisfaction: Above average

  • USAA earned Above average marks in J.D. Power's most recent auto claims satisfaction study[1]

Customer Satisfaction: Above average

  • J.D. Power also rated USAA as Above average in overall auto customer satisfaction[2]

Complaint Index: Below average

  • The National Association of Insurance Commissioners (NAIC) receives Below average customer complaints for USAA[3]

Financial Strength: A+ Superior

  • USAA received an A+ Superior financial strength rating from A.M. Best for its ability to pay out claims[4]

The Zebra Customer Satisfaction Survey

Alongside third-party ratings, we also used the results from The Zebra's consumer survey ranking car insurance companies based on real customer feedback. In this survey, USAA ranked an impressive 8.95/10 overall, coming in 1st among large car insurers and near the top in many individual categories.

The Zebra medal icon
Top 5 in trust

9.08/10 — USAA was the top-ranked car insurance company in terms of trustworthiness

The Zebra medal icon
Top 5 in claims satisfaction

8.91/10 – USAA ranked 4th for claims satisfaction among large insurers

The Zebra medal icon
Top 5 in ease

8.89/10 – USAA ranked 3rd for ease among large insurers.

The Zebra medal icon
Top 5 in customer service satisfaction

8.98/10 – USAA ranked 1st for customer service satisfaction among large insurers.

The Zebra medal icon
Top 5 in likelihood to recommend

8.93/10 – USAA ranked 1st for likelihood to recommend among large insurers

The Zebra medal icon
Tope 5 in online satisfaction

8.98/10 – USAA ranked 3rd for online satisfaction.


How much does USAA insurance cost?

Currently, the national average for a 6 month car insurance policy is $880, whereas USAA is about $683 or roughly 22% cheaper than than a typical policy, so definitely one of the cheapest auto insurance options available, although it is worth mentioning that they are one of the cheaper companies for home insurance

The table below shows how USAA auto insurance compares against other top insurers. 

Average Monthly Cost by Insurance Carrier
Company Avg. Monthly Premium
USAA $114
State Farm $131
Progressive $157
Nationwide $123
GEICO $129
Farmers $149
Allstate $201
Updated: 06/08/23.

Similar to any insurance company, pricing for USAA auto insurance does vary based on your age and generally will get cheaper the older you get.

The table below shows USAA's car insurance premiums for different age brackets. 

USAA Costs by Age Group
Age Group Avg. Monthly Premium
Teens $327
20s $147
30s $112
40s $104
60s $101
50s $99
Updated: 06/08/23.

Dynamic auto insurance data methodology

Methodology: The auto insurance rates displayed above and throughout this page are dynamic, meaning the data will refresh when the most recent information is made available. Rates are based on a sample driver profile — a 30-year-old single male driver with a Honda Accord and full coverage. This profile was adjusted based on common pricing factors used by major car insurance companies, like age, coverage level, driving record and others.

Discounts offered

USAA offers a number of car insurance discounts for its members. Below are some highlights.

  • Safe driver discount: Drivers without accidents for at least five years could save on their premiums.
  • Defensive driving: This discount applies to drivers who have completed a defensive driver's training course.
  • Driver training: Young drivers (under 21) can earn a discount if they have taken a basic training course.
  • Insurance bundling: Bundling your car insurance with home or renters coverage could save you up to 10%.
  • New vehicle: Applicable for vehicles under three years old may land a savings on their policy.
  • Multi-vehicle: Policyholders with multiple vehicles can expect a discount.

Along with those listed above, USAA offers even more driver-based discounts including good student and those for teen drivers. In addition, there are many other service-based discounts to take advantage of. View all of USAA's discounts here.

Search, compare and buy all on one site. Start saving today!"

Location pin icon
No junk mail. No spam calls. Free quotes.

What types of coverage does USAA offer?

USAA offers a variety of basic auto insurance coverage options: liability coverageuninsured motorist coveragecollision and comprehensive. We've outlined below some of USAA's average rates as well as some unique coverage options and add-ons for policyholders.

  • USAA extended benefits: This covers lost wages, essential disability services and death benefits in the event of a collision.
  • USAA roadside assistance: This optional coverage provides lockout services, gas delivery, tire change and towing service if your vehicle will not start. Learn more about roadside assistance programs.
  • Rental reimbursement: This is a tiered coverage that provides rental car reimbursement costs, depending on your chosen coverage tier. If your vehicle is damaged by a covered loss, i.e., not routine maintenance, you can use this coverage for a pre-determined time, up to a predetermined amount, based on your coverage level.
  • Accident forgiveness: If you stay accident-free for five years as a USAA customer, your premium won’t increase after your first at-fault accident. See more information on how accident forgiveness works.
  • USAA rideshare coverage: USAA provides rideshare coverage for Uber and Lyft drivers. The company's website advertises rideshare coverage for as low as $6 per month. This coverage is not available in every state, however.

Read more about USAA's coverages here.

USAA logo

USAA SafePilot

The USAA SafePilot app is critical for the company's SafePilot telematics program, as it monitors driving habits such as hard braking that can influence your rates. The company offers a 10% discount just for enrolling. A further discount of up to 30% is possible at your policy renewal.

USAA also offers a highly-rated mobile app for accessing ID cards and policy info, requesting roadside assistance and reporting claims. USAA also offers banking services to its members, which are also accessible through the same app.


Real-life customer experience

To help readers get even more insight into the USAA customer experience, we contacted actual customers of USAA to hear their thoughts. Below is what some USAA real-life customers had to say.

Emily 

Quick facts:

  • Customer for 5+ years
  • Only has car insurance through USAA
  • Has not filed a claim

Emily (cont.)

Q: How do you feel about the coverage level USAA provides, your monthly premiums, and the overall level of customer service provided?

I have been with this insurance company since I started driving, and they've always been positioned to me by my family as being the best/cheapest, so I have rarely bothered to look into finding a better rate.

I have been very lucky not to have used this much over the years, and my rates have remained pretty low. I *did* get into a bit of a kerfuffle with them a few years back when I was trying to lower my coverage and insisting that I did not actually drive 10k miles a year.

Sometimes, because of the way the business is structured, at the end of the year, I'll get a kickback applied toward my premium if the company has some sort of money surplus. 

Q: Would you recommend USAA coverage to others?

USAA is like an 8/10 for me for auto. I won't complain and probably won't shop around for other coverage unless I get another vehicle.


Dani

Quick facts:

  • Customer for 5+ years
  • Also has home insurance through USAA
  • Has filed a claim

Q: How do you feel about the coverage level USAA provides, your monthly premiums, and the overall level of customer service provided?

USAA Customer Service is amazing. I was in a traffic collision on my birthday (not my fault - I was stopped at a stoplight). The customer support agent made a note that it was THE DAY OF MY BIRTH in her report and USAA sent me flowers later in the week. Where else can you get that kind of service?

Q: Have you ever filed a claim? If so, how would you rate the experience?

Yes, and I would rate it 10 stars on a scale of 1-5 stars.


Page

Quick facts:

  • Customer for 5+ years
  • Also has home insurance through USAA
  • Has filed a claim

Q: How do you feel about the coverage level USAA provides, your monthly premiums, and the overall level of customer service provided?

Coverage is good. Monthly premiums have become much more costly in the last year or so, but that seems to be true across the board after doing some shopping around with other carriers. USAA's customer service is top-notch — I rarely have to wait on hold when I call in for support and they're quick to answer my questions and solve problems.

Q: Have you ever filed a claim? If so, how would you rate the experience?

Yes. The reimbursement amount for repairs was as expected and the checks arrived quickly.


USAA insurance review: Summary

In essence, USAA stands as a progressive leader in the insurance industry, providing an extensive array of coverage possibilities at competitive rates. With its versatile bundling solutions and advanced technology integration, USAA empowers policyholders with numerous avenues to customize their protection. All in all, The Zebra considers USAA to be a top choice for a broad spectrum of clients.

Methodology — how The Zebra reviews insurance companies

The team of insurance experts at The Zebra considers the company's standing in five main categories to come up with an overall rating. These metrics are weighted according to importance and are detailed below:

  • Price (20%): Using the base profile detailed below, we compared the company's average rate with the national average. If it surpassed this average, we gave a lower rating; if it fell below, we awarded a higher rating.
  • Coverage (20%): The highest-scoring companies offer a variety of coverage options, including bundling options, roadside assistance, telematics, beyond-basic coverage levels, and a variety of other coverage types.
  • Customer service (30%): We averaged ratings from JD Power, the NAIC complaint index to come up with a rating for the company's customer service. In instances when a company is not rated, we may use alternative rating agencies such as the Better Business Bureau and Trust Pilot.
  • Financial strength (10%): We use AM Best to determine a company's financial standing. In some cases when a company is not rated by AM Best, we may use an alternative measure such as Demotech.
  • The Zebra's Customer Satisfaction Survey (20%): The Zebra conducts an annual survey measuring customer satisfaction for many of the top insurance companies with the goal of ranking both the best auto insurance companies and best home insurance companies. Read more below.

For our auto insurance review, we analyzed more than 83 million insurance rates spanning every U.S. ZIP code using a sample user profile: a 30-year-old single male driver with a Honda Accord, good credit and full coverage at these levels:

  • $50,000 per person/$100,000 per incident for bodily injury liability
  • $50,000 per incident for property damage liability
  • $500 deductibles for collision and comprehensive coverage

For our home insurance review, rates are based on a sample user profile: a 45-year-old married homeowner living in a 2,500-square-foot single-story home built in 2011 with these coverage levels:

  • $200,000 for the dwelling
  • $20,000 for other structures
  • $100,000 for personal property
  • $100,000 for personal liability
  • $1,000 deductible

These sample premiums are dynamic and automatically refresh whenever the newest data is made available.

To generate pricing for particular rating factors, we adjusted this profile based on common pricing factors used by major car insurance companies. These factors include credit score, coverage level and others.

For The Zebra's Customer Satisfaction Survey, findings are based on an online quantitative survey of 4,134 current U.S. auto and home insurance customers, with Census-balanced sampling by age, gender and region. Categories with n=<20 responses are considered insufficient sample size and are not reported. This survey was developed by The Zebra and executed by independent research firm Maru/Blue in 2023.


USAA insurance: Frequently asked questions

Rated 4.6/5 by The Zebra, USAA is a top-notch insurance company. Not only do they have top-notch customer satisfaction scores, but offer a wide range of coverage options and benefits at affordable prices.

USAA insurance is primarily available to U.S. military members, veterans, and their immediate families (including former spouses and adult children). Grandchildren of USAA members are eligible if their parents (the children of the original members) have also joined USAA. Membership eligibility passes from one generation to the next, but the intermediate generation must have established membership for the subsequent generation to be eligible.

According to our data, USAA is actually cheaper on average than the majority of insurers.

USAA provides car replacement assistance that goes beyond typical gap insurance. It grants you 20% over your car's actual cash value, regardless of ongoing car payments, with the funds directly given to you for flexible use.

Get quotes from 100+ companies with The Zebra!

Location pin icon
No junk mail. No spam calls. Free quotes.

Customer Questions About USAA

Other people are also asking...

What are the requirements for USAA?

USAA requires it's members to be active, retired or honorably separated officers of the US military. If you're not directly affiliated with the military, you can qualify if you're a spouse, parent (step-parent, or legal guardian) or parent-in-law. If your parent or parents were in th…
Jan 16, 2018 Seguin, TX

Does my son-in-law's military status (Marine) qualify me as USAA member?

It is my understanding that USAA eligibility flows "downstream" – which means you need to be a child or spouse of an established member to get a USAA policy. Therefore parents, or in your case in-laws, of USAA members are likely not eligible to get their own policy. This applies to all in…
Feb 15, 2018 Austin, TX

Do I qualify for USAA if my brothers are active military members?

Typically, USAA requires customers to be members of the military themselves, although eligibility also extends to the children (or spouse) of military members as well. Therefore, it's our understanding that siblings are likely not eligible to get their own policy. This applies to all branches …
Jun 10, 2020 Greenville, SC

Does USAA membership extend to grandchildren?

From my understanding, your parent's would also have to be members in order for you to qualify for a USAA membership. Typically only children or spouses of USAA members are eligible, but I'm unclear on if that can skip a generation. The best way to get the most accurate information would …
Jun 4, 2018 San Antonio, TX

About The Zebra

The Zebra is not an insurance company. We publish data-backed, expert-reviewed resources to help consumers make more informed insurance decisions.

  • The Zebra’s insurance content is written and reviewed for accuracy by licensed insurance agents.
  • The Zebra’s insurance content is not subject to review or alteration by insurance companies or partners.
  • The Zebra’s editorial team operates independently of the company’s partnerships and commercialization interests, publishing unbiased information for consumer benefit.
  • The auto insurance rates published on The Zebra’s pages are based on a comprehensive analysis of car insurance pricing data, evaluating more than 83 million insurance rates from across the United States.