Here's what you need to know when driving in West Virginia
Across the Mountain State, there are 79,144 miles of road just waiting to be driven. The average car insurance rate in West Virginia is $1,498 per year — 2% less than the U.S. average. Car insurance rates are impacted by more than just your location. Auto insurance rates comprise many factors, including a driver's age and driving history. The Zebra's experts analyzed average West Virginia car insurance rates for these rating factors in an effort to help you find an affordable policy.
Read on to learn how much auto insurance costs in West Virginia based on these variables, or submit your ZIP code above to receive personalized quotes from top insurers.
The best car insurance companies in West Virginia
Based on data from J.D. Power's 2021 Auto Satisfaction Study and The Zebra's Customer Satisfaction Survey, we have compiled a list of the best car insurance companies in West Virginia.
Along with topping The Zebra's Customer Satisfaction Survey, USAA received a score of 879 (out of 1,000) in J.D. Powers' 2021 U.S. Auto Insurance Study for the state of West Virginia.
As a highly-rated regional carrier, NJM Insurance scored an 867 on J.D. Power's 2021 auto study.
Erie Insurance placed third in this region with a score of 848 in J.D. Power's 2021 Auto Insurance Study. This carrier also received 4.3 stars out of 5 in The Zebra's Customer Satisfaction Survey.
The cheapest car insurance companies in West Virginia
These companies offer the cheapest rates in the following scenarios.
The cheapest rates are from Nationwide at $1,216 annually, or $101 per month.
For the minimum required coverage in West Virginia, USAA is the cheapest on average.
If you have a DUI on your record, check out State Farm for the cheapest average rates.
Dynamic auto insurance data methodology
Methodology: The auto insurance rates displayed above and throughout this page are dynamic, meaning the data will refresh when the most recent information is made available. Rates are based on a sample driver profile — a 30-year-old single male driver with a Honda Accord and full coverage. This profile was adjusted based on common pricing factors used by major car insurance companies, like age, coverage level, driving record and others.
West Virginia auto insurance laws
Car insurance is mandatory in almost every state, including West Virginia. If you choose the legal minimum coverage level in West Virginia, expect to pay an average of $522 annually. This expenditure is less expensive than the nationwide average by 3%.
For the legal minimum coverage level in West Virginia, expect to pay about $522 per year.
State minimum coverage
In order to drive legally in the state of West Virginia, you must carry at least the minimum liability limits listed below:
- Bodily Injury Liability: $25,000 per person
- Bodily Injury Liability: $50,000 per accident
- Property Damage Liability: $25,000 per accident
Optional coverage in West Virginia (varies by carrier):
- Loan/Lease Payoff
- Medical Payments
- Rental Car Reimbursement
- Roadside Assistance
- Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Bodily Injury
- Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Property Damage
If you opt for better coverage, you can choose a policy with comprehensive and collision, which will protect against the costs of car accidents, theft, vandalism, or weather incidents. But better coverage comes with a cost: in West Virginia, a comprehensive insurance policy with a $1,000 deductible costs $1,304, 150% more than liability-only car insurance. For a comprehensive policy with a $500 deductible, expect to pay 203% more than you would for basic coverage.
In West Virginia, a comprehensive insurance policy with a $1,000 deductible costs $1,304, 150% more than liability-only car insurance
Compare car insurance rates from the best companies in West Virginia.
West Virginia car insurance premiums by rating factor
Your rates are determined by a number of individual factors, including your coverage level, driving history, location, and more. Explore average premium costs by rating factor below to get a better sense of how much you should be paying for auto insurance in West Virginia.
Cheap auto insurance in West Virginia for minimum coverage
Forgoing full coverage for liability-only at the state minimum level will make your car insurance significantly cheaper. In West Virginia, the average cost for minimum coverage is $44 per month, or $522 yearly — a savings of $1,059 compared to full coverage.
Cheap auto insurance in West Virginia with bad credit
Your credit history is an important factor in determining your car insurance rates. Many carriers see those with a poor credit score as being higher risk, meaning you could pay more for your policy. On average, West Virginia drivers with poor credit pay 54% more per year than those with exceptional credit. Have a look at some common rates by credit tier below.
Cheap auto insurance in West Virginia with an at-fault accident
Your driving history plays a big part in how much you pay. Insurance companies look for previous accidents for which you have been at fault to gauge the level of risk you pose as a customer. An at-fault accident in recent years could see your car insurance rates increase by as much as $728 per year.
Safe driver discounts
In addition to having a cheaper premium, some companies offer a safe driving discount. While the amount varies based on your company, it can range between 5 and 10%.
Cheap auto insurance for young drivers in West Virginia
Young drivers — aged between 16 and 25 — pay very high car insurance rates, with those aged 16 to 19 paying the most expensive premiums of all. Because of the risk presented by inexperienced drivers, teen drivers pay more than three times the national average for car insurance. In West Virginia, teen drivers pay especially high rates: $5,373 per year — that's $577 more than the nationwide average and over twice as much as a typical West Virginia driver.
West Virginia auto insurance rate by violation
In West Virginia, a bad driving record will cause your rates to skyrocket. If you receive a ticket or citation, your auto insurance premiums will probably rise. By how much depends on the violation, your insurer's pricing standards, and differing local insurance regulations and risks. That's why tickets may have a different impact on insurance in your state compared to the national average. Car insurance premiums typically increase by 54% after a DUI and 9% after a speeding ticket.
See below average auto insurance rates in West Virginia after a few common citations.
|Accident/Violation||Avg. Annual Premium||% Rate Increase||$ Rate Increase|
|One Med/PIP claim||$1,709||0%||$0|
|One comp claim||$1,762||3%||$53|
|Two Med/PIP claims||$1,780||4%||$71|
|Two comp claims||$1,834||7%||$125|
|Failure to wear a seat belt||$1,935||13%||$226|
|Failure to show documents||$1,967||15%||$258|
|Driving without lights||$1,981||16%||$272|
|Speeding 6 - 10 MPH over limit||$2,032||19%||$323|
|Cell phone violation||$2,042||19%||$333|
|Texting while driving||$2,042||19%||$333|
|Speeding in school zone||$2,059||21%||$350|
|Driving too slowly||$2,059||21%||$350|
|Speeding 11 - 15 MPH over limit||$2,059||21%||$350|
|Wrong way/wrong lane||$2,060||21%||$351|
|Following too closely||$2,060||21%||$351|
|Failure to stop at a red light||$2,060||21%||$351|
|Failure to yield||$2,076||21%||$367|
|Speeding 16 - 20 MPH over limit||$2,079||22%||$370|
|Driving with expired registration||$2,085||22%||$376|
|Passing school bus||$2,112||24%||$403|
|At-fault accident - less than $1000||$2,145||26%||$436|
|Speeding 21 - 25 MPH over limit||$2,168||27%||$459|
|Child safety restraint||$2,192||28%||$483|
|In 65 MPH zone||$2,263||32%||$554|
|Operating a vehicle without permission||$2,327||36%||$618|
|At-fault accident - greater than $2000||$2,497||46%||$788|
|At-fault accident - $1000-$2000||$2,497||46%||$788|
|Driving with a suspended license||$3,096||81%||$1,387|
|Refusal to submit to a chemical test||$3,248||90%||$1,539|
|Leaving scene of an accident/hit and run||$3,287||92%||$1,578|
West Virginia DUI laws
In West Virginia, a DUI offense can increase your annual car insurance premium by an average of $768. That’s 10% less than the national average rate hike after a DUI. Finding affordable auto insurance in the wake of a DUI violation isn’t simple. In fact, a DUI often brings about a bigger premium increase than any single road violation — more than an at-fault accident, racing, or reckless driving.
Low-cost car insurance after a DUI in West Virginia
If you're convicted of a DUI or DWI violation in West Virginia, it’s key to mull over each of your insurance choices carefully. Auto insurance premiums following a DUI can vary substantially by insurer. For example, the least expensive car insurance company with a DUI in West Virginia, State Farm, advertises annual rates 12% less than the statewide average insurance rate with a DUI. The second-cheapest insurer for auto insurance after a DUI in West Virginia is USAA, while the priciest firm is Allstate, with prices 56% above average.
CAR INSURANCE RATES WITH DUI IN WEST VIRGINIA — BY INSURER
There is no car insurer in particular that offers inexpensive DUI car insurance. The recommended way to save in the wake of a DUI citation is to shop around.
Compare and buy car insurance online or reach out to an insurance agent to assess your choices and find a cost-effective policy.
West Virginia SR-22 insurance
An SR-22 is a routine legal requirement triggered by a violation such as a DUI conviction, a ticket for driving without insurance, an at-fault collision, driving with a suspended license, or accumulating too many points on your license. It is not a type of insurance policy, but a form issued by your insurance company with the state of West Virginia to ensure that you remain insured.
Finding cheap auto insurance with an SR-22 in West Virginia might require some research, but it could pay off in the end.
How to acquire an SR-22 in West Virginia
For currently insured drivers
If you already have auto insurance, getting an SR-22 certificate is straightforward. Contact your car insurance company ask the company to file an SR-22 request for you. If your insurer isn’t willing to file a request, you'll need to look for a new insurer.
For uninsured drivers
When filing for a new policy, you might be saddled with an up-front fee to have your prospective insurer file an SR-22 request for you and to cover your high-risk driving profile. Needing an SR-22 might disqualify you from purchasing insurance from some companies, while others would be happy to sell you a policy.
For drivers without a vehicle
Not owning a vehicle makes it more difficult to obtain an SR-22, as you will need to furnish proof of insurance to receive the certificate. In this scenario, purchase a non-owners car insurance policy before filing an SR-22 request. Non-owners auto insurance is typically less expensive than traditional coverage since it doesn't protect against material damage to your vehicle.
Find an affordable policy in West Virginia in minutes!
Rates by city
Car insurance companies calculate your rate based on many factors, the location of the vehicle being an important one. The cheapest car insurance is found in Falling Waters, West Virginia, and the most expensive in Kermit, West Virginia
Have a look at the table below to see average car insurance costs in some of West Virginia's biggest cities.
|City||Avg. Annual Premium|
Car insurance price trends in West Virginia
In West Virginia, average annual auto insurance costs increased by $69 in the past year. A typical West Virginia driver pays an average of $1,498 per year.
The recent pricing trend in West Virginia leans toward slightly cheaper car insurance costs than the national average. The steepest decrease occurred from 2015 to 2016, while the highest surge took place from 2016 to 2017. At the same time, car insurance rates across the United States have stayed relatively steady in the past few years, moving from $1,521 in 2018 to $1,529 in 2021.
|Year||Avg. Annual Premium — West Virginia||Yearly Change — West Virginia||Avg. Annual Premium — US||Yearly Change — US|
If your rates are rising faster than the average in your state, compare quotes and find a better deal. The Zebra's car insurance comparison engine furnishes quotes based on your specific profile — enter your ZIP below to get started.
West Virginia car insurance FAQs
Below you'll find answers to some of the most commonly asked questions regarding West Virginia auto insurance.
How much is car insurance in West Virginia?
Auto insurance premiums in West Virginia change based on your driving record and your coverage level. For a 30-year-old driver with no accidents, a six-month full coverage policy costs $695. A liability-only policy costs $302.
What is the cheapest car insurance in West Virginia?
Our data suggest Erie ($519) and The Hartford ($614) offer the cheapest rates for auto insurance in West Virginia.
Does West Virginia require car insurance?
Yes, West Virginia requires every driver to carry at least the minimum liability coverage.
Save money on your next car insurance policy!
About The Zebra
The Zebra is not an insurance company. We publish data-backed, expert-reviewed resources to help consumers make more informed insurance decisions.
- The Zebra’s insurance content is written and reviewed for accuracy by licensed insurance agents.
- The Zebra’s insurance content is not subject to review or alteration by insurance companies or partners.
- The Zebra’s editorial team operates independently of the company’s partnerships and commercialization interests, publishing unbiased information for consumer benefit.
- The auto insurance rates published on The Zebra’s pages are based on a comprehensive analysis of car insurance pricing data, evaluating more than 83 million insurance rates from across the United States.