Compare the best rates from 21 car insurance companies in Louisiana.
Across the Pelican State, there are 128,532 miles of road just waiting to be driven. We’ll get you prepped, then you take the wheel.
Drivers with good driving records typically enjoy lower car insurance costs than drivers with histories of speeding tickets, at-fault accidents, or DUI citations. Louisiana drivers without a recent at-fault accident typically save 31% on their car insurance premiums, which approaches the national average of 32%. In addition to earning a cheaper premium for driving incident-free, you may qualify for a safe-driving bonus through your car insurance company. The amount of these discounts may vary, but they typically run between 5 and 10%.
|Rating Factor||$ Savings||% Savings|
|No Traffic Tickets||$441||17.10%|
Young drivers — aged between 16 and 25 — pay very high car insurance rates, with those aged 16-19 paying the most expensive premiums of all. Because of the risk presented by inexperienced drivers, teen drivers pay more than three times the national average for car insurance. Louisiana is an extraordinarily expensive state in which to insure a teen driver: the average teen will pay $10,107 per year in Louisiana, compared to just $4,900 annually across the US. Teens are approximately four times more expensive to insure than the average Louisiana driver.
|Age||Annual Rate with Parents||Annual Rate Alone|
If you have a clean driving record — no at-fault accidents, speeding tickets, DUIs, or other recent citations — you'll probably pay less for car insurance. Conversely, a bad driving record will cause your rates to skyrocket: car insurance premiums typically increase by 33% after a DUI, 31% after an at-fault accident, and 17% after a speeding ticket in Louisiana. The post-citation penalties assessed by car insurance companies in Louisiana roughly align with national averages. If you have a clean driving history, be sure to inquire about your insurance company's safe driver discount.
|Rating Factor||Annual Rate||% Increase|
Every car insurance company emphasizes its low costs. But as with any service, the cheapest car insurance option isn't always the best option. Considering the financial stakes, it's worth doing the research to purchase an auto insurance policy that protects your vehicle completely after an accident. Hunt for the best value, instead of settling for the cheapest auto insurance in Louisiana.
Review local and national auto insurance companies' financial strength and claims satisfaction levels to better understand the level of service you'll receive. Claims satisfaction — measured by J.D. Power — is rated on a scale of 2 to 5, with 5 being "among the best" and 2 being "the rest." Financial strength — calculated by A.M. Best and running from "Poor" to "Superior" — assesses an insurer's financial stability and ability to meet its policy and contractual obligations.
|Insurance Company||Claims Satisfaction (J.D. Power)||Financial Strength (A.M. Best)|
|Cal Casualty||Not Rated||Excellent|
|Southern Farm Bureau||Not Rated||Superior|
The minimum insurance requirement in Louisiana is $15,000 Bodily Injury per person, $30,000 Bodily Injury per accident, and $25,000 Property Damage per accident.
For the minimum allowed coverage in Louisiana, prepare to pay an average of $1,339 per year. These rates are more expensive than the nationwide average by 104%. If you want more comprehensive coverage, you can select a policy with comprehensive and collision coverage, which will protect against costs incurred by car-versus-car collisions, auto theft, or weather conditions. Better auto insurance coverage comes with a cost: in Louisiana, a comprehensive policy with a $1,000 deductible costs $2,059, 54% more than liability-only coverage. For a comprehensive policy with a $500 deductible, expect to pay 66% more than you would for liability-only coverage.
Compare average rates for liability-only versus comprehensive coverage tiers below.
|Location||Liability-Only||Comprehensive — $1,000 Deductible||Comprehensive — $500 Deductible|
In Louisiana, drivers are required to maintain the below liability coverage levels:
Louisiana DUI Laws
The lookback period in Louisiana is 10 years. Repeated DWI offenses within this time period will result in harsher penalties and fines. First and second offenses are deemed misdemeanors. Subsequent offenses will be considered felonies.
Drivers whose BAC is 0.20% or higher are subject to enhanced fines and penalties as well.
A DWI leading to the death of another can result in the offender spending up to 30 years in prison, in addition to enhanced fines and penalties.
First-time DWI offenses in Louisiana lead to:
When you receive a ticket your auto insurance rates will probably rise. By how much depends on the specific citation, your insurer's pricing standards, and differing local insurance regulations. That's why tickets may have a different impact on insurance in your state compared to the national average.
See below car insurance costs in Louisiana after a few common violations.
|Violation||Avg. Annual Auto Insurance Rate||% Insurance Rate Increase||$ Insurance Rate Increase|
|Hit and Run||$3,505||50%||$1,166|
|Refused Breathalyzer/Chemical Test||$3,421||46%||$1,082|
|Driving with a Suspended License||$3,518||50%||$1,179|
|Driving with an Open Container||$3,145||34%||$807|
|Operating a Vehicle Without Permission||$3,137||34%||$799|
|Passing a School Bus||$2,849||22%||$511|
|Following Too Closely||$2,849||22%||$511|
|Failure to Stop at a Red Light||$2,849||22%||$511|
|Driving Wrong Way/Wrong Lane||$2,806||20%||$468|
|Failure to Yield||$2,849||22%||$511|
|Speeding in a School Zone||$2,815||20%||$477|
|Driving Too Slowly||$2,815||20%||$477|
|Driving with Expired Registration||$2,507||7%||$169|
|Failure to Show Documents||$2,507||7%||$169|
|Failure to Use Child Safety Restraint||$2,507||7%||$169|
|Failure to Wear a Seat Belt||$2,469||6%||$130|
|Driving Without Lights||$2,507||7%||$169|
The cheapest providers in Louisiana are Southern Farm Bureau ($818) and USAA at ($928). Bear in mind, this data is based on an average driver profile and won't necessarily reflect the rate you receive. Use this data as a jumping-off point for your search for car insurance in Louisiana.
Car insurance in Louisiana is expensive. In 2019, Louisiana insurance premiums were 60% or $831 above the average rate in the U.S. Last year, the average rate for insurance was $1,114 for a six-month premium. One of the reasons car insurance is expensive in Louisiana is the state's location. Because of Louisiana's proximity to the Gulf of Mexico and its history of major floods, car insurance companies see the area as "high-risk" and charge more than the national average for car insurance.
The minimum auto insurance coverage in Louisiana requires $15K/$30K of bodily injury per person, per incident. The state also requires $25K in property damage per accident. If you have a loan or lease, you will also be required to carry comprehensive and collision coverage.
This is a difficult question to answer. If you have an established car insurance policy and have recently purchased a new vehicle, coverage may transfer to the new vehicle for a short period of time — typically two to four weeks. However, if you do not have an established policy and you're driving uninsured, you can be ticketed at any time. Even if you've been insured for one day, the penalty is the same if you've been driving uninsured for years.
Car insurance companies calculate your rate based on many factors, location of the vehicle being an important one. The cheapest car insurance is found in Ruston, Louisiana, and the most expensive in New Orleans, Louisiana.
|Rank||City||Avg. Annual Premium|
At The Zebra, we know better than most just what a pain buying car insurance can be. We also know that students suffer from higher-than-average policy rates. Talk about a double-whammy. That’s why, this year, we’ve decided to continue The Zebra’s annual scholarship with the goal of helping to alleviate the financial pressures of college-bound students in the Louisiana area, while also getting an insider view of the Pelican State.
So, students, we want to see your favorite road trip destination(s) in your state— from your unique perspective. If it makes sense to hit the open road and be our virtual tour guide, that's great! But there are no limits to what we're looking for: a narrated animation, a slideshow of memorabilia, an illustrated map of the best roadside attractions on the way. This is a chance for you to showcase any place you love in as an original way as possible.
The length of the road trip to your feature destination is inconsequential. So if you have an awesome spot in mind that's just two miles from home, we want to see it.
Applicants must be currently enrolled at or planning to attend a four-year university, graduate program, community college, or trade school located in the continental United States. Upon notification, winner(s) must supply a current proof of enrollment or letter of acceptance.
Your original video should not exceed 2 minutes
The video must be hosted on YouTube or Vimeo
Email your submission to firstname.lastname@example.org
your name, address, and phone number when you submit
Selected winner(s) will be awarded a check for $1,000
Applications must be received by 11:59 p.m. CST on December 31st, 2020
Winner(s) will be selected and notified by email by January 31st, 2021
The winner will be selected based on creativity in the content and presentation
*Upon notification, winner(s) must also supply a current proof of enrollment at a four-year university, graduate program, community college, or trade school located in the continental United States.
By participating, entrants represent that the video submitted is their sole and original work and does not infringe the intellectual property rights of any other party. In other words, no copyrighted music or images may be used.
Employees of The Zebra and their immediate family members are not eligible to participate in the contest.
Written credits for any technical or talent positions (e.g., editor, director, actors) should be included with your submission, along with any sources used to create the video.