Why you can trust The Zebra

The Zebra partners with some of the companies we write about. However, our content is written and reviewed by an independent team of editors and licensed agents. Reference our data methodology and learn more about how we make money.

Author profile picture

Kristine Lee

Insurance Analyst

  • Licensed Insurance Agent — Property and Casualty
  • 4+ years of Experience in the Insurance Industry

Kristine is a licensed insurance agent who joined The Zebra in 2019 as an in-house content researcher and writer. Before joining The Zebra, she was a…

Author profile picture

Ross Martin

Insurance Writer

  • 4+ years in the Insurance Industry

Ross joined The Zebra as a writer and researcher in 2019. He specializes in writing insurance content to help shoppers make informed decisions.

Ross h…

Auto insurance for high risk drivers in Louisiana

If you have been involved in an at-fault crash, filed an insurance claim, or received a ticket for a serious moving violation, you could be a candidate for high-risk car insurance. Car insurance coverage for drivers with less-than-ideal records is usually expensive, but the rate hike you receive is dependent on your auto insurance company, your driving record, and the area in which you reside.

What determines auto insurance rates for high-risk drivers in Louisiana:
  1. At-fault accidents
  2. Speeding
  3. Distracted driving
  4. Racing
  5. Reckless driving
  6. Louisiana driving laws


Car insurance after an at-fault collision in Louisiana

If you are deemed at-fault for causing an auto accident, you should expect your car insurance rates to skyrocket. In Louisiana, the mean insurance rate following an at-fault crash is $3,138, versus the national average of $2,012. A serious accident like an at-fault crash can stay on your insurance record for as long as three years!

Location With At-Fault Accident — Annual Rate No At-Fault Accident — Annual Rate Annual Rate Increase
Louisiana $3,138 $2,225 $913
U.S. Average $2,012 $1,397 $615


The most affordable auto insurance company after an at-fault accident in Louisiana is Louisiana Farm Bureau Insurance. Louisiana Farm Bureau Insurance’s usual price increase after an accident is $1,212, resulting in a total price 39 percent less expensive than the average among all insurance companies. If you've been at-fault in an accident in Louisiana, avoid Progressive and Allstate, on the pricier end of the spectrum.


Company Annual Rate With an At-Fault Crash
Louisiana Farm Bureau Insurance $1,926
State Farm $2,789
GEICO $3,481
Progressive $3,594
Allstate $3,664


Compare car insurance rates and start saving!

Location pin icon
No junk mail. No spam calls. Free quotes.


Does a speeding ticket increase car insurance rates in Louisiana?

One of the ways in which drivers earn the "high-risk" designation is speeding. In Louisiana, average car insurance rates rise by $460 per year following a speeding ticket, up to an average per-year price of $2,685.

State With a Speeding Ticket — Annual Rate No Speeding Ticket — Annual Rate Annual Rate Increase
Louisiana $2,685 $2,225 $460
National Average $1,727 $1,397 $330

The foolproof way to find cheap car insurance after getting a speeding ticket is to shop thoroughly and weigh your options. The cheapest auto insurance after a speeding ticket in Louisiana is available through Louisiana Farm Bureau Insurance. Louisiana Farm Bureau Insurance’s average rate after a citation is $898 less than the state typical. If you're caught speeding in Louisiana, Progressive is worth avoiding.


Insurance Company Annual Rate After a Speeding Violation
Louisiana Farm Bureau Insurance $1,787
GEICO $2,420
State Farm $2,573
Allstate $2,811
Progressive $3,022


How does a distracted driving violation affect car insurance in Louisiana?

A distracted driving citation means you can expect your car insurance to get more expensive. In Louisiana, car insurance costs typically go up by $186 per year. That amounts to an 8% increase from the typical annual premium in Louisiana, and 8% less than the national average cost of car insurance after a ticket for distracted driving.


Location With Distracted Driving — Annual Rate No Distracted Driving — Annual Rate Annual Rate Increase
Louisiana $2,411 $2,225 $186
National Average $1,570 $1,397 $173

The best way to get affordable auto insurance following a distracted driving ticket is to compare carriers. The cheapest auto insurance insurer following distracted driving in Louisiana is Louisiana Farm Bureau Insurance, with a typical rate of just $1,787 per year, 26% lower than the average distracted driving insurance premium among top insurers.


Annual Rate With Distracted Driving
Louisiana Farm Bureau Insurance
State Farm


How does a citation for racing impact Louisiana car insurance rates?

Racing is considered an exceptionally serious offense. Car insurance companies commonly penalize racing tickets severely — in fact, Louisiana car insurance premiums go up by an average of $1,104 per year after a ticket after a racing conviction. That's a 50% increase on the usual annual car insurance premium in Louisiana!


Location With a Racing Citation — Annual Rate No Racing Citation — Annual Rate Per-Year Rate Increase
Louisiana $3,329 $2,225 $1,104
National Average $2,397 $1,397 $1,000

If you have been pulled over for a racing violation, do your homework and seek out the cheapest rates. In Louisiana, start with Louisiana Farm Bureau Insurance, with rates 46 percent cheaper than the state average after a racing violation.


Insurance Company Annual Rate After Racing
Louisiana Farm Bureau Insurance $1,787
State Farm $3,239
Allstate $3,244
Progressive $3,502
GEICO $4,599


How does reckless driving in Louisiana impact car insurance rates?

One of the most serious moving violations, reckless driving is a certain way to get a car insurance rate hike. Car insurance companies raise rates by $1,147 annually after a reckless driving citation. That amounts to 52% more than the average car insurance rate in Louisiana, and 28% less than the national average price increase for reckless driving.


Location With Reckless Driving — Annual Rate No Reckless Driving — Annual Rate Annual Rate Increase
Louisiana $3,372 $2,225 $1,147
U.S. Average $2,395 $1,397 $998

If you're cited for reckless driving, you should shop around to find the most affordable rate. In Louisiana, the cheapest auto insurance company after a reckless driving offense is Louisiana Farm Bureau Insurance.


Insurance Company Annual Rate After Reckless Driving
Louisiana Farm Bureau Insurance $1,787
State Farm $3,239
Allstate $3,244
Progressive $3,502
GEICO $4,599


If you're facing the prospect of finding car insurance as a high-risk driver, the best option is to shop around and find a policy that fits your needs.


Compare car insurance rates side-by-side!

Location pin icon
No junk mail. No spam calls. Free quotes.


Driving Laws in Louisiana

Louisiana driving laws are in place to help keep the roads safe. These laws cover everything from driving under the influence to texting and driving. To keep yourself on the correct side of the law in Louisiana, you may want to check out the basic rules of the road listed below.

Speeding in Louisiana

When Are You Speeding in Louisiana?

Louisiana driving laws feature “absolute speed limits,” placing you in violation of the law by driving just one mile per hour over the limit. You can also be ticketed in Louisiana for traveling at what a law enforcement official considers to be an unsafe speed, even if you are within the bounds of the posted limit. This is especially true when it is foggy or road conditions are not ideal.

Louisiana expects its drivers to travel at “reasonable and prudent” speeds. Basic speed limits throughout most of the state are as follows:

  • 70 mph on interstate and controlled access highways
  • 65 mph on other multi-lane divided highways which have partial or no control of access
  • 55 mph on other highways

Local authorities are able to establish their own speed limits, though they are not allowed to exceed the maximum limits above.

Penalties for Speeding in Louisiana

Speeding puts you and other drivers at risk. As such, the consequences of exceeding the speed limit can be quite serious. If found in violation of Louisiana speeding laws, you can expect to face the following penalties:

First offense:

  • A fine of up to $175
  • Up to 30 days in jail
  • Possible license suspension

Subsequent offenses:

  • A fine of up to $500
  • Up to 90 days in jail
  • Possible license suspension

Reckless Driving in Louisiana

What is Reckless Driving in Louisiana?

Reckless driving in Louisiana is defined as operating a vehicle “in a criminally negligent or reckless manner.” This could encompass a variety of poor driving behaviors, but generally refers to any action that could put yourself or others in danger while you are behind the wheel.

Penalties for Reckless Driving in Louisiana

First conviction:

  • A fine of up to $200 and/or imprisonment up to 90 days

Subsequent convictions:

  • A fine between $25 and $500 and/or imprisonment between 10 days and six months

If you are convicted of reckless driving in Louisiana three times within a twelve-month period, you can possibly have your license suspended for 24 months.

DUI Laws in Louisiana

What are the DUI Laws in Louisiana?

You are in breach of Louisiana DUI laws if you are caught driving with a blood-alcohol level above .08%. However, if you are a minor or are driving with a commercial license, that level is even lower, coming in at .02% and .04% respectively. It is important to note that this law also covers the use of drugs including barbiturates, tranquilizers, amphetamines, and marijuana.

If you are accused of drunk driving in Louisiana, it’s possible in some cases to plea down to a lighter charge of reckless driving. This is sometimes called a “wet reckless,” which carries much lighter penalties than a DUI. However, if convicted of a wet reckless in Louisiana, you will still face an extra $100 in penalties if alcohol is involved.

Penalties for DUI in Louisiana

DUI laws in Louisiana (also known as DWI laws) carry stiff penalties. These penalties change in severity if the driver:

  • Has a blood alcohol level above .2%
  • Has prior DUI offenses
  • Is underage
  • Has a minor in the car
  • Has a commercial license

If it is your first offense, expect the following penalties:

  • Imprisonment between two days and six months
  • License suspension of 90 days
  • A fine of up to $1,000 (plus court costs)

Second offense:

  • Imprisonment for a minimum of 48 hours
  • License suspension for up to one year
  • A fine of up to $1,000 (plus court costs)

Third offense (felony conviction):

  • Imprisonment from 45 days to five years
  • License revoked for two years
  • Automobile seized by the state
  • Substance abuse treatment
  • A fine of up to $2,000 (plus court costs)

Distracted Driving in Louisiana

What is Distracted Driving in Louisiana?

Distracted driving is defined as anything that takes your concentration away from the road while driving. There are many things vying for your attention while you are behind the wheel, from songs on the radio to thoughts about what you’ll eat for dinner. Unfortunately, distracted driving in Louisiana is a major problem that results in accidents that are often preventable.

In an effort to combat this problem, Louisiana passed laws to prohibit the use of mobile devices to engage in texting and driving. If you are a driver under the age of 18, it is illegal for you to use a mobile device even if it is technically hands-free.

Penalties for Distracted Driving in Louisiana

If you are caught breaking texting and driving laws in Louisiana, you can expect the following penalties:

  • First violation: Fine of up to $500
  • Subsequent violations: Fine of up to $1,000
  • If the offender is involved in a crash, the fine will double

Racing in Louisiana

What is Racing in Louisiana?

Racing in Louisiana is defined as one or more vehicles attempting to “outgain, outdistance, or prevent another vehicle from passing.” Not only is racing illegal in Louisiana, it can also be incredibly dangerous, putting yourself and others at risk.

Penalties for Racing in Louisiana

If you are caught in violation of Louisiana racing laws, you could be in for some rather steep penalties which increase with subsequent offenses. Along with the possible suspension of your license, you could also face the following consequences.

First offense:

  • Up to 30 days imprisonment
  • A fine of up to $175

Subsequent offenses:

  • Up to 90 days imprisonment
  • A fine of up to $500

Should an occurrence of racing in Louisiana result in serious bodily injury or death of another person, the penalties grow much more severe.

  • A fine between $500 and $2,000
  • A mandatory sentence of one year in prison with the possibility of up to five years

At-fault Accident in Louisiana

What is an At-fault Accident in Louisiana?

As Louisiana is an at-fault state in regards to car insurance, the person responsible for the accident is also on the line for any harm that results from it. More accurately, the insurance carrier of the driver at fault will be responsible up to the driver’s limits.

All drivers in Louisiana are required to carry a certain amount of coverage known as liability insurance. This covers bodily injury as well as property damage that could have occurred as a result of an accident caused by you, a family member, or someone else with permission to drive your car. Minimum liability car insurance in Louisiana is set at the following:

  • $15,000 to cover bodily injury of one person
  • $30,000 to cover total bodily injury or death
  • $25,000 to cover property damage per accident

Penalties for At-fault Accidents in Louisiana

Accidents happen. If you find yourself at fault in an accident in Louisiana, it’s likely that your insurance will kick in to absorb most costs, provided you have the correct coverage that is. While you are likely to see your premiums rise, your insurance provides you with insulation against personal liability in most cases. However, if you are caught driving without insurance in Louisiana, you will be facing some serious penalties, including:

  • A fine of $500 to $1,000
  • The suspension of your license
  • Registration revoked for 180 days
  • Impoundment of your car

More importantly, however, if you are uninsured and find yourself in an accident, you will be held personally responsible and can be sued to cover the following costs:

  • Medical bills
  • Lost wages
  • Pain and suffering
  • Damaged property

These costs are required to be paid out of pocket and can even be taken from your wages if the court deems it necessary.


Sources and references:

  • http://legis.la.gov/legis/Law.aspx?d=88480
  • http://legis.la.gov/legis/Law.aspx?d=78753
  • https://www.drivinglaws.org/resources/louisiana-reckless-operation-driving-laws-and-penalties.htm
  • https://www.drivinglaws.org/resources/traffic-tickets/speed-violations/louisiana-speeding-laws.htm
  • https://dui.drivinglaws.org/la.php
  • http://legis.la.gov/legis/Law.aspx?d=630881
  • http://legis.la.gov/legis/Law.aspx?d=88496
  • https://www.nolo.com/legal-encyclopedia/if-youre-car-accident-you-dont-have-insurance.html
  • https://www.nolo.com/legal-encyclopedia/louisiana-car-insurance-laws.html
  • https://www.ldi.la.gov/docs/default-source/documents/publicaffairs/consumerpublications/auto-insurance-guide.pdf?sfvrsn=15

Auto insurance for high risk drivers in Louisiana

Have a specific question about high risk car insurance in Louisiana? Ask one of our licensed agents!

What should I do with my car insurance after I pay off my car loan?

3. It depends on the value of your vehicle. The answer to your third question is subjective and up to each individual to decide what suits their needs best. That being said, you should try to get a fairly accurate idea of your vehicle's actual cash value (ACV) since that is what GEICO would pa…
Jul 11, 2018 Slidell, LA

Do I have to list my spouse on my policy if she isn't driving?

Your spouse must be listed on your insurance policy regardless of driving status. Since insurance is all about properly rating risk, companies will require that your spouse be listed on your policy to know who they are and are not covering. In most instances, if your spouse won't be driving th…
Feb 14, 2016 Lake Charles, LA

About The Zebra

The Zebra is not an insurance company. We publish data-backed, expert-reviewed resources to help consumers make more informed insurance decisions.

  • The Zebra’s insurance content is written and reviewed for accuracy by licensed insurance agents.
  • The Zebra’s insurance editorial content is not subject to review or alteration by insurance companies or partners.
  • The Zebra’s editorial team operates independently of the company’s partnerships and commercialization interests, publishing unbiased information for consumer benefit.
  • The auto insurance rates published on The Zebra’s pages are based on a comprehensive analysis of car insurance pricing data, evaluating more than 83 million insurance rates from across the United States.