State Farm Insurance Review

  • With 4.6/5 stars in 2023, State Farm is a very good insurance company.
  • Read State Farm reviews, complaints and prices before you buy.
Location pin icon
No junk mail. No spam calls. Free quotes.
carrier-img

Why you can trust The Zebra

The Zebra partners with some of the companies we write about. However, our content is written and reviewed by an independent team of editors and licensed agents. Reference our data methodology and learn more about how we make money.

Author profile picture

Renata Balasco

Senior Content Strategist

Credentials
  • Licensed Insurance Agent — Property and Casualty

Renata joined The Zebra in 2020 as a Customer Experience Agent. Since 2021, she has worked as licensed insurance professional and content strategist.…

Author profile picture

Ross Martin

Manager, Content Quality

Credentials
  • Licensed Insurance Agent (former) — Property and Casualty

Ross joined The Zebra as a writer and researcher in 2019. As a licensed insurance agent, he specializes in writing insurance content to help shoppers…

State Farm insurance: Ratings and reviews

4.6 100% filled Star icon 100% filled Star icon 100% filled Star icon 100% filled Star icon 59.999999999999964% filled Star icon

Rating from The Zebra Question mark icon

State Farm dominates in the auto insurance space with a market share of 16%. The insurance company's coverage spans the U.S. Those who prefer a more personal experience can easily get in contact with State Farm's network of agents. This popular insurance company also boasts good ratings from reputable third parties, with positive assessments of its customer satisfaction and financial outlook. Let’s explore what makes this insurance carrier so popular, as well as some common coverage options and discounts.

100% filled Star icon 100% filled Star icon 100% filled Star icon 100% filled Star icon 59.999999999999964% filled Star icon
4.6 stars Rating from The Zebra
Ratings based on price, customer service, coverage, and financial strength.
Get a Quote at State Farm
Pros
  • Local agents nationally available

  • Cheaper car insurance premiums

  • Ranked 3rd overall in The Zebra's Customer Satisfaction Survey for car insurance

Cons
  • More expensive home insurance rates

  • Less custom coverage options


Is State Farm a good insurance company?

A large part of The Zebra's review score incorporates how well State Farm is rated in terms of customer service. In order to determine that we looked at the following third-party ratings.

Claims Satisfaction: Above average

  • State Farm earned Above average marks in J.D. Power's most recent auto claims satisfaction study[1]

Customer Satisfaction: Above average

  • J.D. Power also rated State Farm as Above average in overall auto customer satisfaction[2]

Complaint Index: Below average

  • The National Association of Insurance Commissioners (NAIC) receives Below average customer complaints for State Farm[3]

Financial Strength: Superior

  • State Farm received an Superior financial strength rating from A.M. Best for its ability to pay out claims[4]

The Zebra Customer Satisfaction Survey

In addition to third-party ratings, we also incorporated the results from our own consumer survey where we ranked which car insurance companies are the best based on feedback from real customers. In this survey, State Farm scored 8.71/10 overall. Below you can see where State Farm ranked for some of the individual categories.

The Zebra medal icon
Top 5 for overall satisfaction

8.71/10 – State Farm ranked 5th for best overall auto insurance company.

The Zebra medal icon
Top 5 for ease of interaction

8.97/10 – State Farm took 1st place in the ease of interaction category. 

The Zebra medal icon
Top 5 in customer service

8.91/10 – State Farm took 4th place for customer service. 


How much does State Farm insurance cost?

Currently, the national average for a 6 month car insurance policy is $880, whereas State Farm is about $785 or roughly 11% cheaper than a typical policy, so this carrier is worth checking out as it may be among the cheapest auto insurance options available.

The table below shows how State Farm auto insurance compares against other top insurers.

Average Monthly Cost by Insurance Carrier
Company Avg. Monthly Premium
State Farm $131
Allstate $201
American Family $131
Farmers $149
GEICO $129
Nationwide $123
Progressive $157
Travelers $112
USAA $114

Similar to any insurance company, pricing for State Farm auto insurance does vary based on your age and generally will get cheaper the older you get. State Farm does offer the Steer Clear program to teens and young drivers as a way to lower insurance rates by using a combination of app-based telematics and driving education. 

The table below shows State Farm's car insurance premiums for different age brackets. 

State Farm Costs by Age Group
Age Group Avg. Monthly Premium
Teens $431
20s $184
30s $133
40s $131
50s $125
60s $121

Dynamic auto insurance data methodology

Methodology: The auto insurance rates displayed above and throughout this page are dynamic, meaning the data will refresh when the most recent information is made available. Rates are based on a sample driver profile — a 30-year-old single male driver with a Honda Accord and full coverage. This profile was adjusted based on common pricing factors used by major car insurance companies, like age, coverage level, driving record and others.

Discounts offered

Auto insurance discounts are dependent on certain qualifications and state availability. Below are some of the ways you can lower your monthly rate for State Farm. 

  • Multi-policy- State Farm claims a savings of 17% if auto insurance is bundled with homeowners, condo, renters or life.
  • Multi-vehicle- Covering two or more vehicles with State Farm can lead to a multi-vehicle discount. While the amount of this discount may vary, State Farm advertises savings of up to 20%.
  • Accident-free- If you've been a State Farm customer for three continuous, accident-free years, you may qualify for this discount. The longer you are insured by State Farm without an accident, the bigger your discount will be.
  • Driver training- Those who are under age 21 and drive your vehicle regularly can take an approved driver education course to be eligible for this discount.

In addition to what's listed above, State Farm offers other driver-based discounts including good student and student away at school as well as some vehicle-specific discounts like passive restraint, anti-theft and newer vehicle safety. View all of State Farm's discounts here

Search, compare and buy all on one site. Start saving today!

Location pin icon
No junk mail. No spam calls. Free quotes.

What types of coverage does State Farm offer?

Another key component of State Farm's review is the types of coverage options they offer.

Standard coverages for liability, collision, comprehensive, uninsured/underinsured motorist and medical payments are provided by State Farm. Detailed below are some optional coverages that can be added to a State Farm auto policy.

  • Bundling options - in addition to homeowners and renters policies, State Farm offers several other types of insurance that may be bundled together including boat, motorcycle, RV, condo, and even health insurance. View the full list of State Farm's products here.
  • Roadside assistance - State Farm’s roadside assistance package pays for reasonable expenses if your vehicle breaks down. It covers up to one hour of the mechanical labor (at the breakdown site), towing to the nearest repair location, lockout services, and delivery of gas, oil, battery or change of tire.
  • Rideshare coverage - This coverage will extend your car’s coverage while you’re driving for companies like Uber and Lyft. With State Farm’s rideshare coverage, all of your personal coverage transfers when you’re working — even your roadside assistance coverage.
  • Rental car and travel expenses coverage - State Farm’s rental car coverage pays for a rental vehicle while your car is in the shop after a collision or comprehensive claim. Coverage for travel expenses covers your lodging, food, and transportation if you’re stranded after an accident more than 50 miles away from your home.

Read more about State Farm's coverages here.

state farm logo

State Farm Drive Safe & Save

Drive Safe & Save is State Farm’s usage-based insurance program. Drive Safe & Save utilizes a telematics device to track the way you drive and determine your premium. If you exhibit good driving habits, you can earn as much as 30% off your State Farm insurance premium.


Real-life customer experience

To help readers get even more insight into the State Farm customer experience, we reached out to The Zebra's employees to see who has used State Farm as their own personal carrier. Below is what some had to say.

Beth

Quick facts:

  • Customer for 3 years
  • Has auto, homeowners and life insurance through State Farm
  • Has filed a homeowners claim

Q: Have you ever filed a claim? If so, how would you rate the experience?

A: I filed a claim recently after a storm made a mess on my rental home out-of-state. They were quick to handle the claim and get someone out to check on things, even with the whole city in chaos.

The only frustration was that after the contractor had gone to do the estimate on the roof, I had to call State Farm several times myself over the course of two weeks to actually find out what the estimate was. I was disappointed that the information sat in the system for two weeks and I hadn't been contacted when I was anxiously awaiting news about a possible roof replacement. So, all in all, I'd give an 8/10 on that particular claim.

Q: Have you ever considered using telematics through your company?

A: Yes, my partner and I both have Drive Safe and Save in our vehicles and get a discount from this.


Matthew

Quick facts:

  • Customer since 2020
  • Has filed a claim
  • Also has home and life insurance through State Farm

Q: How do you feel about the coverage level they provide, your monthly premiums, and the overall level of customer service provided? 

A: State Farm coverage feels adequate, but nothing amazing. Our premiums were great when we initially bundled,  but prices have been increasing at every renewal to the point that we're ready to shop around before our next billing cycle. Their customer service, I will say, has been excellent.

Q: On a scale of 1 to 5 (five being the best), how would you score your experience with your carrier?

A: I would give State Farm a 3.


State Farm insurance review: Summary

In conclusion, State Farm's large presence in the insurance market affords it several positives: local agents are always available, discount opportunities are plentiful, and it boasts a long history of customer sattisfaction and financial stability. Rates remain about average and coverage is available nation wide. The Zebra believes State Farm is always worth checking out when shopping around for new auto insurance.

Methodology — how The Zebra reviews insurance companies

The team of insurance experts at The Zebra considers the company's standing in five main categories to come up with an overall rating. These metrics are weighted according to importance and are detailed below:

  • Price (20%): Using the base profile detailed below, we compared the company's average rate with the national average. If it surpassed this average, we gave a lower rating; if it fell below, we awarded a higher rating.
  • Coverage (20%): The highest-scoring companies offer a variety of coverage options, including bundling options, roadside assistance, telematics, beyond-basic coverage levels, and a variety of other coverage types.
  • Customer service (30%): We averaged ratings from JD Power, the NAIC complaint index to come up with a rating for the company's customer service. In instances when a company is not rated, we may use alternative rating agencies such as the Better Business Bureau and Trust Pilot.
  • Financial strength (10%): We use AM Best to determine a company's financial standing. In some cases when a company is not rated by AM Best, we may use an alternative measure such as Demotech.
  • The Zebra's Customer Satisfaction Survey (20%): The Zebra conducts an annual survey measuring customer satisfaction for many of the top insurance companies with the goal of ranking both the best auto insurance companies and best home insurance companies. Read more below.

For our auto insurance review, we analyzed more than 83 million insurance rates spanning every U.S. ZIP code using a sample user profile: a 30-year-old single male driver with a Honda Accord, good credit and full coverage at these levels:

  • $50,000 per person/$100,000 per incident for bodily injury liability
  • $50,000 per incident for property damage liability
  • $500 deductibles for collision and comprehensive coverage

For our home insurance review, rates are based on a sample user profile: a 45-year-old married homeowner living in a 2,500-square-foot single-story home built in 2011 with these coverage levels:

  • $200,000 for the dwelling
  • $20,000 for other structures
  • $100,000 for personal property
  • $100,000 for personal liability
  • $1,000 deductible

These sample premiums are dynamic and automatically refresh whenever the newest data is made available.

To generate pricing for particular rating factors, we adjusted this profile based on common pricing factors used by major car insurance companies. These factors include credit score, coverage level and others.

For The Zebra's Customer Satisfaction Survey, findings are based on an online quantitative survey of 4,134 current U.S. auto and home insurance customers, with Census-balanced sampling by age, gender and region. Categories with n=<20 responses are considered insufficient sample size and are not reported. This survey was developed by The Zebra and executed by independent research firm Maru/Blue in 2023.


State Farm insurance: Frequently asked questions

State Farm is a good choice for many due to its national availability, extensive network of agents, plentiful discount opportunities, and competitive car insurance rates. They consistently rank high in customer and claims satisfaction and are financially stable according to AM Best. The Zebra believes State Farm is always worth checking out when shopping around for new auto or home insurance.

State Farm homeowners insurance typically covers damage to the physical structure of your home, personal property, liability protection, and loss of use. The specific coverages depend on the policy details and any endorsements or riders added.

State Farm offers customers rental car reimbursement to help cover the cost of a rental while their vehicle is not drivable or being repaired. This includes the daily rental rate, mileage charges, and related taxes as long as they are within the limits listed on your Declarations page. They even have partnerships with Hertz and Enterprise to offer lower rates to State Farm customers.

Our data shows that State Farm car insurance rates are slightly below the national average, possibly due to their discounts and policy volume. However, individual rates can vary based on location, coverage, and personal profiles.

Get quotes from 100+ companies with The Zebra!

Location pin icon
No junk mail. No spam calls. Free quotes.

Customer Questions about State Farm

Other people are also asking...

Does State Farm require you have a police report to file a claim?

Most insurance companies do not require you to have a police report to file a claim. Double-check with State Farm to make sure but you shouldn't have any problems. Keep in mind, this incident will go on your son's driving record as an at-fault accident for the next five years which could …
Sep 26, 2018 Chesterfeild, MI

My car was towed by an apartment complex. Will State Farm reimburse me for the towing cost?

Roadside assistance covers towing but it won't cover your car being towed by someone else. Unfortunately, that means State Farm will likely not cover the cost of your car being towed from just being parked in the wrong location in an apartment complex. Sorry for the inconvenience. If you have …
Aug 20, 2019 Crosby, TX

I started a claim but canceled it with no payout. Why is it on my CLUE report?

Unfortunately, if you start the claims process, the insurance company can list it on your CLUE report through LexisNexis which contains your claims history — even if there was no payout or resolution. You can dispute with State Farm to see if they will remove it, but at this point, that is really t…
Jul 7, 2019 La Mirada, CA

Does State Farm match auto insurance quotes with other companies?

In truth, no. Car insurance companies determine their rates based on their previous years' filings (loss to revenue ratio) in addition to other factors. State Farm and GEICO have different loss histories and net profits, and therefore will have different quotes (with no reason or incentive to …
May 7, 2019 Bentonville, AR

About The Zebra

The Zebra is not an insurance company. We publish data-backed, expert-reviewed resources to help consumers make more informed insurance decisions.

  • The Zebra’s insurance content is written and reviewed for accuracy by licensed insurance agents.
  • The Zebra’s insurance editorial content is not subject to review or alteration by insurance companies or partners.
  • The Zebra’s editorial team operates independently of the company’s partnerships and commercialization interests, publishing unbiased information for consumer benefit.
  • The auto insurance rates published on The Zebra’s pages are based on a comprehensive analysis of car insurance pricing data, evaluating more than 83 million insurance rates from across the United States.