Progressive Insurance Review

  • With 3.7/5 stars in 2023, Progressive is an average insurance company.
  • Read Progressive reviews, complaints and prices before you buy.
Location pin icon
No junk mail. No spam calls. Free quotes.
carrier-img

Why you can trust The Zebra

The Zebra partners with some of the companies we write about. However, our content is written and reviewed by an independent team of editors and licensed agents. Reference our data methodology and learn more about how we make money.

Author profile picture

Renata Balasco

Content Strategist

Credentials
  • Licensed Insurance Agent — Property and Casualty

Renata joined The Zebra in 2020 as a Customer Experience Agent. Since 2021, she has worked as licensed insurance professional and content strategist.…

Author profile picture

Mark Friedlander

Director, Corporate Communications, Insurance Information Institute

Mark Friedlander has over 30 years of experience in the insurance industry. He is the Director, Corporate Communications, at the Insurance Informatio…

Author profile picture

Ross Martin

Manager, Content Quality

Credentials
  • Licensed Insurance Agent — Property and Casualty

Ross joined The Zebra as a writer and researcher in 2019. As a licensed insurance agent, he specializes in writing insurance content to help shoppers…

Progressive insurance: Ratings and reviews

3.7 100% filled Star icon 100% filled Star icon 100% filled Star icon 70.00000000000001% filled Star icon 0% filled Star icon

Rating from The Zebra Question mark icon

The nation's second most popular auto insurance company, Progressive holds a market share of more than 14% in the U.S. With more than $38 billion in direct premiums written, Progressive has more customers than USAA, Farmers and Nationwide. Let’s explore what makes this insurance carrier so popular, as well as some common coverage options and discounts.

100% filled Star icon 100% filled Star icon 100% filled Star icon 70.00000000000001% filled Star icon 0% filled Star icon
3.7 stars Rating from The Zebra
Ratings based on price, customer service, coverage, and financial strength.
Get a Quote at Progressive
Pros
  • Customizable coverage for both auto and home policies

  • Caters to drivers interested in bundling

  • Offers an array of qualifying discounts

  • Ranked 5th overall in The Zebra's Customer Satisfaction Survey for car insurance

Cons
  • Slightly above average price

  • Additional home insurance options are limited

  • Does not offer perks for enrolling in homeowners insurance

  • Ranks poorly for claims satisfaction by J.D. Power


Is Progressive a good insurance company?

The majority of The Zebra's review incorporates how well Progressive scores in terms of customer service. In order to determine that we looked at the following third-party ratings.

Claims Satisfaction: Below average

  • Progressive earned Below average marks in J.D. Power's most recent auto claims satisfaction study[1]

Customer Satisfaction: Below average

  • J.D. Power also rated Progressive as Below average in overall auto customer satisfaction[2]

Complaint Index: Average

  • The National Association of Insurance Commissioners (NAIC) receives Average customer complaints for Progressive[3]

Financial Strength: A+ (Superior)

  • Progressive received an A+ (Superior) financial strength rating from A.M. Best for its ability to pay out claims[4]

The Zebra Customer Satisfaction Survey

In addition to third-party ratings, we also incorporated the results from our own consumer survey where we ranked which car insurance companies are the best based on feedback from real customers. In this survey, Progressive scored 8.54/10 overall. Below you can see where Progressive ranked for some of the individual categories.

The Zebra medal icon
Top 5 in claims satisfaction

8.65/10 – Progressive ranked 4th for claims satisfaction.

The Zebra medal icon
Top 5 in ease of use

8.84/10 – Progressive ranked 3rd for ease of interaction. 

The Zebra medal icon
Top 5 in customer service

8.66/10 – Progressive ranked 5th for customer service satisfaction.

The Zebra medal icon
Top 5 in online satisfaction

8.83/10 – Progressive ranked 3rd for online satisfaction.


How much does Progressive insurance cost?

Currently, the national average for a 6 month car insurance policy is $880, whereas Progressive is about $941 or roughly 7% more expensive than a typical policy, so definitely not one of the cheapest auto insurance options available, although it is worth mentioning that they are one of the cheaper companies for home insurance

The table below shows how Progressive auto insurance compares against other top insurers. 

Average Monthly Cost by Insurance Carrier
Company Avg. Monthly Premium
Travelers $112
USAA $114
Nationwide $123
GEICO $129
State Farm $131
Chubb $148
Farmers $149
Progressive $157
Allstate $201
Updated: 05/30/23.

Similar to any insurance company, pricing for Progressive auto insurance does vary based on your age and generally will get cheaper the older you get. Progressive also has the Name Your Price tool which allows you to tell them how much you'd like to pay for auto coverage.

The table below shows Progressive's car insurance premiums for different age brackets. 

Progressive Costs by Age Group
Age Group Avg. Monthly Premium
Teens $610
20s $210
30s $157
40s $146
60s $138
50s $134
Updated: 05/30/23.

Dynamic auto insurance data methodology

Methodology: The auto insurance rates displayed above and throughout this page are dynamic, meaning the data will refresh when the most recent information is made available. Rates are based on a sample driver profile — a 30-year-old single male driver with a Honda Accord and full coverage. This profile was adjusted based on common pricing factors used by major car insurance companies, like age, coverage level, driving record and others.

Discounts offered

Auto insurance discounts are dependent on certain qualifications and state availability. Below are some of the ways you can lower your monthly rate for Progressive. 

  • Multi-policy - if you bundle another policy with your auto insurance, such as a Progressive home or renters policy, you can earn a multi-policy discount. Progressive claims this will save you 5% on average
  • Multi-vehicle - Progressive rewards multi-vehicle customers with a discount which they claim will same you 12% on average
  • Continuous coverage - insurers see drivers with long insurance history as safe drivers. As such, Progressive will reward you for your consitent insurance coverage with its own discount
  • Homeowners discount - Progressive offers a ~10% discount to auto policyholders who own their homes. Note you are not required to carry home insurance through Progressive in order to qualify

In addition to what's listed above, Progressive offers other driver-based discounts including good student and teen driver, as well as some quote-specific discounts like sign online, pay-in-full, and automatic payment. View all of Progressive's discounts here

Search, compare and buy all on one site. Start saving today!

Location pin icon
No junk mail. No spam calls. Free quotes.

What types of coverage does Progressive offer?

Another key component of Progressive's review is the types of coverage options they offer.

Progressive provides all state-specific and basic coverage options you might need, including liability, collision, comprehensive, and uninsured/underinsured motorist coverages. Below are some of Progressive’s custom coverage options and perks the company offers.

  • Bundling options - in addition to homeowners and renters policies, Progressive offers several other types of insurance that may be bundled together including boat, motorcycle, RV, condo, and even pet insurance. View the full list of Progressive's products here.
  • Roadside assistance - Progressive’s roadside assistance coverage provides lock-out service, fuel delivery, flat-tire changes and battery recharge regardless of your location
  • Rideshare coverage - if you're a rideshare driver, Uber's and Lyft’s coverage options do not fully protect your vehicle, but Progressive’s rideshare coverage enables your coverage to kick in once you're awaiting a ride request
  • Rental car reimbursement - if your vehicle is undrivable after being involved in a "covered" accident (i.e. not regular maintenance), Progressive will reimburse your car rental costs

Read more about Progressive's coverages here.

Progressive logo

Progressive Snapshot

Progressive's Snapshot program is a usage-based insurance program, offering an average of $145 off premiums for drivers who track their driving habits with the app. Progressive uses a telematics device to monitor the times of day you drive, sudden changes in speed, and your mileage to better predict your driving habits and create your premium. Note you’ll need to have this device in your vehicle for one six-month policy period before the data can revise your premium. Remember that Snapshot could lead to a higher premium if it records your bad driving habits.


Real-life customer experience

In an effort to provide even more insight into the Progressive customer experience, we reached out to The Zebra's employees to see who has used Progressive as their own personal carrier. Below is what one of our writers, Ava, had to say.

Quick facts:

  • Customer since 2020 (3 years)
  • Only has an auto policy
  • Has never filed a claim

Q: How do you feel about the coverage level Progressive provides, your monthly premiums, and the overall level of customer service provided? 

A: I pay my policy in full — it’s a 6-month policy. It gives me a discount and I like not having to think about monthly bills. My rate has increased policy over policy but that is expected with industry trends.

The level of service is solid — I like their app as it’s really easy to use if I ever were to need to add or change coverage. I’ve never filed a claim so haven’t experienced what their claims process is like — which I think is where you find out if a company is a good one or not. 

 

Q: Have you used Progressive's telematics program?

A: I used Snapshot and everything was going great until I let my dad borrow my car. Let's just say that his driving style did not align with what Progressive considered to be worthy of a discount.

 

Q: Would you recommend Progressive coverage to others?

A: I would recommend getting a quote — I got quotes from a handful of notable carriers and Progressive was the cheapest. I’ve never filed a claim so haven’t experienced what their claims process is like — which I think is where you find out if a company is a good one or not.


Progressive insurance review: Summary

In short, Progressive is a forward-thinking major insurance company offering a wide range of coverage options and reasonable prices. The company's bundling options and telematics program give customers a lot of choice in how they obtain their coverage. Overall, The Zebra believes that Progressive is a great option for a wide number of customers.

Methodology — how The Zebra reviews insurance companies

The team of insurance experts at The Zebra considers the company's standing in five main categories to come up with an overall rating. These metrics are weighted according to importance and are detailed below:

  • Price (20%): Using the base profile detailed below, we compared the company's average rate with the national average. If it surpassed this average, we gave a lower rating; if it fell below, we awarded a higher rating.
  • Coverage (20%): The highest-scoring companies offer a variety of coverage options, including bundling options, roadside assistance, telematics, beyond-basic coverage levels, and a variety of other coverage types.
  • Customer service (30%): We averaged ratings from JD Power, the NAIC complaint index to come up with a rating for the company's customer service. In instances when a company is not rated, we may use alternative rating agencies such as the Better Business Bureau and Trust Pilot.
  • Financial strength (10%): We use AM Best to determine a company's financial standing. In some cases when a company is not rated by AM Best, we may use an alternative measure such as Demotech.
  • The Zebra's Customer Satisfaction Survey (20%): The Zebra conducts an annual survey measuring customer satisfaction for many of the top insurance companies with the goal of ranking both the best auto insurance companies and best home insurance companies. Read more below.

For our auto insurance review, we analyzed more than 83 million insurance rates spanning every U.S. ZIP code using a sample user profile: a 30-year-old single male driver with a Honda Accord, good credit and full coverage at these levels:

  • $50,000 per person/$100,000 per incident for bodily injury liability
  • $50,000 per incident for property damage liability
  • $500 deductibles for collision and comprehensive coverage

For our home insurance review, rates are based on a sample user profile: a 45-year-old married homeowner living in a 2,500-square-foot single-story home built in 2011 with these coverage levels:

  • $200,000 for the dwelling
  • $20,000 for other structures
  • $100,000 for personal property
  • $100,000 for personal liability
  • $1,000 deductible

These sample premiums are dynamic and automatically refresh whenever the newest data is made available.

To generate pricing for particular rating factors, we adjusted this profile based on common pricing factors used by major car insurance companies. These factors include credit score, coverage level and others.

For The Zebra's Customer Satisfaction Survey, findings are based on an online quantitative survey of 4,134 current U.S. auto and home insurance customers, with Census-balanced sampling by age, gender and region. Categories with n=<20 responses are considered insufficient sample size and are not reported. This survey was developed by The Zebra and executed by independent research firm Maru/Blue in 2023.


Progressive insurance: Frequently asked questions

As one of the most popular insurance companies in the United States, Progressive is in a strong position financially and has relatively few consumer complaints per the NAIC. But it's worth noting that the company may fall short for customer service and claims satisfaction. While this is something to look out for if you're considering Progressive, it's still a reputable company with a wide array of coverage options and available discounts.

Progressive is available in all 50 states plus Washington, D.C.

Progressive's willingness to pay claims is something to watch out for — JD Power rated Progressive as below average for claims satisfaction.

Experts at The Zebra found that GEICO is cheaper than Progressive by about $28 per month.

Get quotes from 100+ companies with The Zebra!

Location pin icon
No junk mail. No spam calls. Free quotes.

Customer Questions about Progressive

Other people are also asking...

How many cars can I have on my progressive policy?

Hey there, thanks for reaching out! Most insurance companies — including Progressive — will allow a max of four cars per policy. Of course, it's always a good idea to check with your insurance company directly if you are unsure about whether or not all your vehicles will be covered.If you have…
Jul 14, 2019 North Chesterfield, VA

I'm selling my car and canceling insurance. When I buy another car a few months from now, will I get higher rates for a lapse in coverage?

You are right — having a lapse in coverage will cause your rates to be higher in the future. I recommend getting a non-owners policy, which it sounds like Progressive is already offering to you. This is essentially a liability-only policy when you do not own a vehicle, or are between vehicle owners…
May 22, 2019 Los Angeles, CA

Grace period for adding new vehicle with Progressive

For most major car insurance companies, you are correct. The state does not give any grace period to have the vehicle covered, but insurance companies will transfer coverage for a time frame - usually between 2-4 weeks. I'd call progressive and get proof of coverage called a letter of experien…
Jun 13, 2018 Portland, OR

Why won't my insurance recognize or cover Tesla labor rates?

Each insurance company has different guidelines when it comes to how they handle claims and repairs. As long as they are following the guidelines agreed to within your policy documents, then they are meeting the requirements on their end, so refer back to your policy and check what's covered a…
Jul 8, 2019 Columbia, MD

About The Zebra

The Zebra is not an insurance company. We publish data-backed, expert-reviewed resources to help consumers make more informed insurance decisions.

  • The Zebra’s insurance content is written and reviewed for accuracy by licensed insurance agents.
  • The Zebra’s insurance content is not subject to review or alteration by insurance companies or partners.
  • The Zebra’s editorial team operates independently of the company’s partnerships and commercialization interests, publishing unbiased information for consumer benefit.
  • The auto insurance rates published on The Zebra’s pages are based on a comprehensive analysis of car insurance pricing data, evaluating more than 83 million insurance rates from across the United States.