Car Insurance Rates by State

Compare auto insurance rates by state and see how your premiums stack up.

Compare all car insurance companies at once.

or
Location pin icon
glyph-shield-checkmark No junk mail. No spam calls. Free quotes.

How where you live impacts auto insurance rates

 

One of the primary factors used in car insurance pricing is location. Average car insurance rates by state may vary based on regulations and insurance companies’ efforts to set prices based on these differences.

For instance, drivers in no-fault states such as Michigan and Florida often pay more for insurance than do drivers in other areas of the country.

Review our data below to get a rough idea of how much you might pay for car insurance based on your location. If you want a more accurate picture of your costs, get car insurance quotes online.

 

Table of contents:
  1. Car insurance rates by state
  2. The cheapest states for car insurance
  3. The most expensive states for car insurance
  4. State-by-state car insurance minimums
  5. How to handle insurance when moving to a new state

 

Average 2021 car insurance rates by state

See below an alphabetical list of U.S. states with corresponding average monthly car insurance costs. Learn more about our methodology.

State Average Monthly Auto Insurance Premium
Alaska $116
Alabama $108
Arkansas $142
Arizona $118
California $152
Colorado $142
Connecticut $129
Washington D.C. $119
Delaware $135
Florida $194
Georgia $128
Hawaii $90
Iowa $96
Idaho $105
Illinois $107
Indiana $99
Kansas $133
Kentucky $154
Louisiana $192
Massachusetts $109
Maryland $120
Maine $92
Michigan $211
Minnesota $117
Missouri $141
Mississippi $125
Montana $129
North Carolina $84
North Dakota $110
Nebraska $127
New Hampshire $80
New Jersey $125
New Mexico $106
Nevada $145
New York $141
Ohio $77
Oklahoma $129
Oregon $111
Pennsylvania $112
Rhode Island $156
South Carolina $122
South Dakota $120
Tennessee $105
Texas $125
Utah $109
Virginia $86
Vermont $88
Washington $101
Wisconsin $90
West Virginia $119
Wyoming $122

 

Which U.S. states have the cheapest car insurance?

The states with the most affordable car insurance rates are Ohio, New Hampshire and North Carolina. Each of these eastern states boasts average auto insurance rates at least 40% lower than the national average of $124 per month. The state that enjoyed the largest decrease in average insurance rates over the past year was Michigan, at 18%.

10 CHEAPEST STATES FOR AUTO INSURANCE
State 2021 Average Monthly Rate Change vs. 2020 Rate
Ohio $77 -9.5%
New Hampshire $80 -5.8%
North Carolina $84 +0.7%
Virginia $86 +2.3%
Vermont $88 -8.0%
Wisconsin $90 -7.3%
Hawaii $90 -1.8%
Maine $92 +17.7%
Iowa $96 +5.2%
Indiana $99 +2.3%
National Average $124 -4.3%


In general, less-densely populated states — and those with drivers qualifying as low-risk — enjoy the cheapest car insurance rates. Many of America’s most affordable car insurance states are lower-density locales such as Maine, Vermont and Iowa. The cheapest region in the U.S. for car insurance is New England ($103 per month), followed closely by the Great Lakes ($116). 

 

What are the most expensive states for car insurance?

The states with the highest auto insurance rates are Michigan, Louisiana, and Florida. Two of these states — Michigan and Florida — are no-fault car insurance states, meaning every driver involved in an incident pays for their own injuries and damages.

In states with no-fault laws, car insurance companies raise rates to account for the added financial risk they bear. Louisiana’s rates are atypically expensive due to the state's high number of uninsured drivers and its elevated risk of flood and hurricane damages.

10 MOST EXPENSIVE STATES FOR AUTO INSURANCE
State 2021 Average Monthly Rate Change vs. 2020 Rate
Michigan $211 -18.4%
Florida $194 -0.06%
Louisiana $192 +1.8%
Rhode Island $156 -10.5%
Kentucky $154 -16.1%
California $152 -2.1%
Nevada $145 -12.4%
Arkansas $142 +0.2%
Colorado $142 -3.7%
New York $141 -3.1%
National Average $124 -4.3%


Most states — even the most expensive locations for car insurance — observed decreases in insurance costs than increases. Arkansas and Louisiana drivers were among the unlucky few Americans to receive a small price hike on insurance over the past year, while others faced decreases of as much as 18%. New York and Arkansas made their first appearances among the most expensive states, supplanting Oklahoma and Delaware.

The priciest region in the U.S. for auto insurance was the Far West, with California and Nevada among the most expensive states.

Many factors lead to a state’s average insurance rates being expensive.

Key factors include:

  • No-fault insurance laws
  • Large numbers of uninsured drivers
  • High numbers of claims (via the number of vehicles on the road or natural disasters)

Car insurance rates are set based on a variety of rating factors, including age, gender, profession, driving record, credit score, coverage level and specific location.

 


 

State minimum requirements for auto insurance

Insurance is regulated at the state level, so each state carries its own set of requirements for the minimum coverage you are legally obligated to hold as a driver. These requirements include limits for bodily injury liability (BI), property damage (PD), uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage (UM/UIM), and personal injury protection (PIP). Almost every state requires some level of bodily injury protection and property damage, but requirements for UM/UIM and PIP vary. Check out the table below to find your state’s minimum insurance requirements.

State
Bodily Injury Property Damage Uninsured motorist BI Uninsured motorist PD Personal Injury Protection
Alabama $25,000 per person/$50,00 per accident $25,000 per accident None None None
Alaska $50,000 per person/$100,000 per accident $25,000 per accident None None None
Arizona $25,000 per person/$50,00 per accident $15,000 per accident None None None
Arkansas $25,000 per person/$50,00 per accident $25,000 per accident None None None
California $15,000 per person/$30,000 per accident $5,000 per accident None None None
Colorado $25,000 per person/$50,00 per accident $15,000 per accident None None None
Connecticut $25,000 per person/$50,00 per accident $25,000 per accident $25,000 per person/ $50,000 per accident None None
Delaware $25,000 per person/$50,00 per accident $10,000 per accident None None $15,000 per person/ $30,000 per accident
Florida None $10,000 per accident None None $10,000
Georgia $25,000 per person/$50,00 per accident $25,000 per accident None None None
Hawaii $20,000 per person/$40,000 per accident $10,000 per accident None None $10,000
Idaho $25,000 per person/$50,00 per accident $15,000 per accident None None None
Illinois $25,000 per person/$50,00 per accident $20,000 per accident $25,000 per person/ $50,000 per accident None None
Indiana $25,000 per person/$50,00 per accident $25,000 per accident None None None
iowa $20,000 per person/$40,000 per accident $15,000 per accident None None None
Kansas $25,000 per person/$50,00 per accident $25,000 per accident $25,000 per person/ $50,000 per accident None $4,500
Kentucky $25,000 per person/$50,00 per accident $25,000 per accident None None $10,000
Louisana $15,000 per person/$30,000 per accident $25,000 per accident None None None
Maine $50,000 per person/ $100,000 per accident $25,000 per accident $50,000 per person/ $100,000 per accident None $2,000
Maryland $30,000 per person/ $60,000 per accident $15,000 per accident $30,000 per person/ $60,000 per accident $15,000 None
Massachusetts $20,000 per person/ $40,000 per accident $5,000 per accident $20,000 per person/ $40,000 per accident None $8,000
Michigan $50,000 per person/ $100,000 per accident $10,000 per accident None None $250,000 for those with qualified health coverage
Minnesota $30,000 per person/ $60,000 per accident $10,000 per accident $25,000 per person/ $50,000 per accident None $40,000
Mississippi $25,000 per person/$50,00 per accident $25,000 per accident None None None
Missouri $25,000 per person/ $50,000 per accident $10,000 per accident $25,000 per person/ $50,000 per accident None None
Montana $25,000 per person/$50,00 per accident $20,000 per accident None None None
Nebraska $25,000 per person/$50,00 per accident $25,000 per accident $25,000 per person/ $50,000 per accident None None
Nevada $25,000 per person/$50,00 per accident $20,000 per accident None None None
New Hampshire $25,000 per person/$50,00 per accident $25,000 per accident $25,000 per person/ $50,000 per accident $25,000 per accident $1,000
New Jersey $15,000 per person/ $30,000 per accident $5,000 per accident $15,000 per person/ $30,000 per accident None $15,000
New Mexico $25,000 per person/$50,00 per accident $10,000 per accident None None None
New York $25,000 per person/$50,00 per accident $10,000 per accident $25,000 per person/ $50,000 per accident None $50,000
North Carolina $30,000 per person/ $60,000 per accident $25,000 per accident $30,000 per person/ $60,000 per accident $25,000 None
North Dakota $25,000 per person/$50,00 per accident $25,000 per accident $25,000 per person/ $50,000 per accident None $30,000
Ohio $25,000 per person/$50,00 per accident $25,000 per accident None None None
Oklahoma $25,000 per person/$50,00 per accident $25,000 per accident None None None
Oregon $25,000 per person/$50,00 per accident $20,000 per accident $25,000 per person/ $50,000 per accident None $15,000
Pennsylvania $15,000 per person/ $30,000 per accident $5,000 per accident None None $5,000
Rhode Island $25,000 per person/$50,00 per accident $25,000 per accident None None None
South Carolina $25,000 per person/$50,00 per accident $25,000 per accident $25,000 per person/ $50,000 per accident $25,000 per accident None
South Dakota $25,000 per person/$50,00 per accident $25,000 per accident $25,000 per person/ $50,000 per accident None None
Tennesee $25,000 per person/$50,00 per accident $15,000 per accident None None None
Texas $30,000 per person/ $60,000 per accident $25,000 per accident None None None
Utah $25,000 per person/ $65,000 per accident $15,000 per accident None None $3,000
Vermont $25,000 per person/$50,00 per accident $10,000 per accident $50,000 per person/ $100,000 per accident $10,000 per accident None
Virginia $25,000 per person/$50,00 per accident $20,000 per accident $25,000 per person/ $50,000 per accident $20,000 None
Washington $25,000 per person/$50,00 per accident $10,000 per accident None None None
Washington, D.C. $25,000 per person/$50,00 per accident $10,000 per accident $25,000 per person/ $50,000 per accident $5,000 per accident None
West Virginia $25,000 per person/$50,00 per accident $25,000 per accident $25,000 per person/ $50,000 per accident $25,000 per accident None
Wisconsin $25,000 per person/$50,00 per accident $10,000 per accident $25,000 per person/ $50,000 per accident None None
Wyoming $25,000 per person/$50,00 per accident $20,000 per accident None None None

There are a few details to note regarding certain states and their coverage requirements. 

  • In Kansas, in addition to PIP requirements, drivers can get up to $900 per month for disability or loss of income, $25 a day for in-home services, $4,500 for rehabilitation and $2,000 for funeral or cremation costs.
  • Maine, New Hampshire and Pennsylvania have medical payments coverage that operates like PIP.
  • Michigan requires property protection insurance, which acts like PIP but for property damage, with limits of $1 million.
  • Car insurance is not mandatory in New Hampshire, but if you opt into insurance, the table above lists the minimum requirements.
  • The state of New York has an additional $50,000 per person and $100,000 per accident in the event of death in that accident.
  • The following states also have underinsured motorist insurance in addition to uninsured motorist coverage: Connecticut, Kansas, Minnesota, New Hampshire, Washington D.C., North Dakota and South Dakota.

 


 

How to handle car insurance when moving to a new state

If you’re moving from one state to another, car insurance might be low on your list of logistical issues. However, if you want to carry continuous coverage — and stay insured against the threat of costly damages — you need to modify your auto insurance when moving, whether in- or out-of-state.

 

A guide to car insurance and moving between states

You'll need to update your car insurance policy when moving for two reasons: state regulations and location-specific pricing.

 

State insurance laws

If you’re moving from one state to another, you must update your car insurance policy. Because car insurance is regulated at the state level, your policy needs to be written to accommodate the laws in your new home state.

If you were to move from California to Texas, your insurance coverage requirements would change. California has minimum coverage levels of $15,000 per person (bodily injury coverage), $30,000 per accident (bodily injury coverage), and $5,000 per property damage accident. Texas’ minimum coverage levels are much higher: $30,000 per person and $60,000 per accident for bodily injury coverage, and $25,000 for total property damage.

 

State Average Monthly Premium w/ State Minimum Coverage
California $53
Texas $48

 

Due largely to the difference in coverage requirements, the difference between average auto insurance premiums in California and Texas is approximately $5 per month (more than $60 per year).

Additionally, your premiums and insurance policies may change if you move to or from a no-fault state. No-fault insurance requires that all drivers pay for their own medical bills associated with any claim. While damages to your vehicle or property are covered by the at-fault party, any bodily injury losses would not. In theory, this eases the burden on small claims courts and the healthcare system.

If you move to a no-fault state, you’ll be required to add personal injury protection. Personal injury protection (PIP) provides coverage for medical expenses and work loss protection for you and your passengers — regardless of fault. The amount of PIP coverage required varies by state.

The following states are no-fault: Florida, Hawaii, Kansas, *Kentucky, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, New Jersey, *New York, North Dakota, *Pennsylvania and *Utah.

*In Kentucky, New York, Utah, and Pennsylvania, you may elect to participate in no-fault coverage.

 

Location-specific car insurance pricing

The pricing system of car insurance makes it imperative to update your policy when moving — whether you're planning an inter- or intrastate move. Your auto insurance premium is made up of myriad factors, including your location — down to your ZIP code. Location is a primary rating factor, meaning it goes a long way toward determining your rate.

Living near a coastline or beach can raise your rates, as your vehicle could be more susceptible to flooding or hurricane damage. This is also true for areas with higher population densities, as you could be more likely to get into an accident in these areas. Instances of theft and vandalism could be more common in higher-density areas as well.

 


 

How to change car insurance when moving out of state

This process may change depending on the state to which you're moving. If you move to a state in which your current insurance company writes policies, the simplest option is to call a representative at your car insurance company and have a new policy written for your new state.

However, this isn’t always the cheapest solution. Even if you maintain a policy with the same company, your rates are likely to change, for better or worse. Your best option is to shop around and get car insurance quotes prior to your move, finding the company with the cheapest insurance rates in your new residence.

Even if looking for a new car insurance policy isn’t very high on your moving to-do list, it’s still hugely important. If you’re looking to save time and energy in this process, have the following ready before you start shopping.

  • Personal information of all drivers, including driver's licenses, date of birth, and residence — if different from yours.
  • Your address in your new state
  • Driving history of all drivers on the policy
  • Desired insurance coverage
  • Insurance history
  • Average annual mileage
  • Vehicle information: This includes the vehicle identification number (VIN), date of purchase, and if the vehicle is leased, financed or owned

This won’t be all the information you need to get a quote, but it will help give you the most accurate rates as quickly as possible.

If you’re moving within your state, you will still need to update your car insurance. Car insurance is priced by ZIP code, so even moving to a new neighborhood can impact rates. Be sure to call your insurer to inform the company of your new address.

 


 

How to update your registration when moving states

Vehicle registration is handled through each state's department of motor vehicles (DMV). In many cases, you can submit your driver’s license, proof of insurance, and vehicle title information to the DMV online. From there, your state-specific plates and registration documents will be mailed to you.

Changing your registration could be a more involved process, depending on your state's rules. Check your new state’s DMV page for details and required documentation.

 


 

Additional resources and methodology

The big takeaway for car insurance when moving from one state to another is to shop around and compare rates. Because your rates will be impacted by different rating factors in your new state (such as coverage and claims history), you will have a different premium and an entirely new policy. Use this opportunity to compare car insurance premiums from as many insurers as possible.

The Zebra's rate methodology is based on our annual State of Auto Insurance analysis, using a standard driver profile: a 30-year-old single male driver of a Honda Accord.

 

State comparisons for auto insurance rates

AZ vs. FL FL vs. CA IL vs. TX NJ vs. CA OR vs. WA
AZ vs. TX FL vs. CO IL vs. WI NJ vs. FL PA vs. CA
CA vs. AZ FL vs. GA KY vs. CA NJ vs. NC PA vs. FL
CA vs. ID FL vs. NC MA vs. CA NJ vs. PA TX vs. AK
CA vs. NV FL vs. TX MA vs. FL NY vs. CA TX vs. CO
CA vs. OR GA vs. CA MI vs. AZ NY vs. CO TX vs. NJ
CA vs. TX GA vs. TX MI vs. CA NY vs. FL TX vs. OR
CO vs. CA IL vs. AZ MI vs. CO NY vs. NJ TX vs. WA
CT vs. CA IL vs. FL MI vs. FL NY vs. TX VA vs. CA
CT vs. FL IL vs. IN MI vs. TX OR vs. AZ VA vs. FL

 

Map of Alabama Car Insurance
Map of Alaska Car Insurance

Alaska

the Last Frontier

Map of Arizona Car Insurance
Map of Arkansas Car Insurance

Arkansas

the Natural State

Map of California Car Insurance
Map of Colorado Car Insurance
Map of Connecticut Car Insurance
Map of Delaware Car Insurance

Delaware

the First State

Map of Florida Car Insurance
Map of Georgia Car Insurance
Map of Hawaii Car Insurance
Map of Idaho Car Insurance

Idaho

the Gem State

Map of Illinois Car Insurance
Map of Indiana Car Insurance
Map of Iowa Car Insurance
Map of Kansas Car Insurance
Map of Kentucky Car Insurance
Map of Louisiana Car Insurance
Map of Maine Car Insurance

Maine

the Pine Tree State

Top Cities
Portland
Lewiston
Bangor
Map of Maryland Car Insurance

Maryland

the Old Line State

Map of Massachusetts Car Insurance
Map of Michigan Car Insurance
Map of Minnesota Car Insurance
Map of Mississippi Car Insurance

Mississippi

the Magnolia State

Map of Missouri Car Insurance
Map of Montana Car Insurance

Montana

the Treasure State

Map of Nebraska Car Insurance
Map of Nevada Car Insurance
Map of New Hampshire Car Insurance
Map of New Jersey Car Insurance
Map of New Mexico Car Insurance
Map of New York Car Insurance
Map of North Carolina Car Insurance
Map of North Dakota Car Insurance

North Dakota

the Peace Garden State

Map of Ohio Car Insurance
Map of Oklahoma Car Insurance
Map of Oregon Car Insurance
Map of Pennsylvania Car Insurance
Map of Rhode Island Car Insurance
Map of South Carolina Car Insurance
Map of South Dakota Car Insurance
Map of Tennessee Car Insurance
Map of Texas Car Insurance
Map of Utah Car Insurance
Map of Vermont Car Insurance

Vermont

the Green Mountain State

Top Cities
Burlington
Essex
South Burlington
Map of Virginia Car Insurance
Map of Washington Car Insurance
Map of West Virginia Car Insurance

West Virginia

the Mountain State

Top Cities
Charleston
Huntington
Parkersburg
Map of Wisconsin Car Insurance
Map of Wyoming Car Insurance

Wyoming

the Equality or Cowboy State

Map of Washington D.C. Car Insurance

Washington, D.C.

The Nation's Capital