Virginia Car Insurance After a DUI

Need car insurance after a DUI? Compare rates today!

or
Location pin icon
glyph-shield-checkmarkNo junk mail. No spam calls. Free quotes.

If you get a DUI in Virginia, your car insurance will become more expensive — it's just a question of how much you'll end up paying.


How does a DUI change auto insurance costs in Virginia?


In Virginia, a DUI will raise your yearly auto insurance cost by an average of $526. That’s 109% less than the national average premium jump after a DUI.


CAR INSURANCE AFTER A DUI IN VIRGINIA — AVERAGE ANNUAL PENALTY
AreaAvg. Annual Rate — without DUIAvg. Annual Rate — with DUIAvg. Increase After DUI
Virginia$1,005$1,531+52%
United States$1,548$2,556+65%

Getting car insurance coverage in Virginia after a DUI conviction


Purchasing cheap auto insurance with a DUI conviction is anything but simple. In fact, a DUI typically triggers a larger cost increase than does any single driving transgression — more than an at-fault accident, racing, or reckless driving.


Best auto insurance with a DUI in Virginia

If you have been convicted of a DUI or DWI violation in Virginia, it’s important to weigh your insurance possibilities carefully. Auto insurance costs with a DUI can deviate widely depending on the company. For example, the most affordable car insurer after a DUI in Virginia, State Farm, offers annual rates 35% more affordable than the state average insurance price after a DUI conviction. The next-most affordable company for auto insurance after a DUI in Virginia is Erie, while the most expensive insurer is Allstate, at 47% above average.


CAR INSURANCE PRICES AFTER DUI IN VIRGINIA — BY COMPANY
Insurance CompanyAvg. Annual Rate — After DUI
State Farm$991
Erie$1,312
Progressive$1,395
USAA$1,559
Nationwide$1,739

There’s no auto insurance company in particular that offers cheap DUI auto insurance. The easiest way to limit your losses after a DUI conviction is to compare policies.

Compare car insurance quotes online or reach out to an insurance professional to weigh your choices and find an affordable policy.

Learn more about car insurance and DUIs.


Virginia DUI laws

Drivers are DUI in Virginia when their blood alcohol concentration measures 0.08% or higher. Commercial drivers are held to a stricter standard and are considered DUI when their BAC reads 0.04% or higher.

Drivers under 21 years old are DUI in Virginia if their BAC is 0.02% or higher.


DUI penalties in Virginia

Virginia has a 10-year lookback period for most offenses, though subsequent offenses committed within five years may lead to harsher penalties.

Penalties are also enhanced for high or extremely high BAC levels or for committing a DUI offense while transporting a passenger who is 17 years old or younger.

All DUI offenders must report to an Alcohol Safety Action Program for screening and review. There may be a required attendance in classes or treatment before license reinstatement.

First-time DUI offenses in Virginia lead to:

  • At least $250 in fines
  • License revocation for one year

A second DUI offense in Virginia results in:

  • Up to one year in jail (minimum 10 or 20 days based on BAC)
  • At least $500 in fines
  • License revocation for three years

Third-time DUI offenders in Virginia are guilty of a felony and subject to:

  • At least six months in jail if offense is within five years of a prior conviction
  • At least 90 days in jail if offense is within 10 years of a prior conviction
  • At least $1,000 in fines
  • Indefinite license revocation
  • Possible vehicle forfeiture

A fourth DUI offense in Virginia is a felony charge and results in:

  • At least one year in jail
  • At least $1,000 in fines
  • Indefinite license revocation
  • Possible vehicle forfeiture

In addition to the above penalties, courts in Virginia will require the installation and use of an ignition interlock device for a defined period of time, based on past convictions.

DUI offenders in Virginia may also be responsible for paying restitution of up to $1,000 to first responder agencies responding to a crash or other incident related to a DUI.


DUI penalties for underage drinkers in Virginia

Drivers under the age of 21 are guilty of an underage DUI in Virginia if their BAC is between 0.02% and less than 0.08%. Those whose BAC is 0.08% or above are subject to the same penalties as an adult due to Virginia's Equal Penalties for Under Age 21 clause.

Underage DUI offenders will receive a license suspension for one year and either a minimum fine of $500 or requirement to perform at least 50 hours of community service.

Sources and references:

https://www.dmv.virginia.gov/webdoc/pdf/dmv168.pdf

https://www.dmv.org/va-virginia/automotive-law/dui.php

https://www.edgarsnyder.com/drunk-driving/driving-alcohol-laws/virginia.html

Shop for a new policy now!

or
Location pin icon
glyph-shield-checkmarkNo junk mail. No spam calls. Free quotes.
Kristine Lee LinkedIn

Kristine is a licensed insurance agent and one of The Zebra’s in-house content strategists. With a background in copywriting, she covers the ins and outs of the home and car insurance industries. She has contributed to numerous publications focused on the nuances of insurance, including BestCompany.com.