Louisiana Car Insurance with a DUI

If you get a DUI in Louisiana, your car insurance is going to get more expensive — it's just a question of by how much.


How does a DUI influence car insurance costs in Louisiana?


In Louisiana, a DUI offense will lift your annual car insurance premium by an average of $1,100. That is 0% than the national average rate increase after a DUI.


CAR INSURANCE AFTER A DUI IN LOUISIANA — AVERAGE ANNUAL PENALTY
LocationAvg. Annual Rate — no DUIAvg. Annual Rate — with DUIAvg. Increase After DUI
Louisiana$2,379$3,479+46%
United States$1,548$2,556+65%

How to find car insurance in Louisiana with a DUI conviction


Finding affordable auto insurance after a DUI violation isn’t straightforward. In fact, a DUI often results in a larger premium increase than does any other driving infraction — more than an at-fault accident, reckless driving, or racing.


Low-cost auto insurance after a DUI in Louisiana

If you have been found guilty of a DUI or DWI violation in Louisiana, it’s crucial to review each of your insurance possibilities with care. Auto insurance rates after a DUI can fluctuate greatly by company. For instance, the cheapest car insurance company with a DUI in Louisiana, Southern Farm Bureau, offers annual premiums 53% less than the state mean insurance rate with a DUI. The next-cheapest insurer for car insurance after a DUI in Louisiana is State Farm, while the most expensive company is GEICO, at 39% above average.


CAR INSURANCE RATES WITH DUI IN LOUISIANA — BY COMPANY
Insurance CompanyAvg. Annual Rate — After DUI
Southern Farm Bureau$1,635
State Farm$2,195
Allstate$3,622
Progressive$4,301

There’s no auto insurance company in particular that offers cheap DUI auto insurance. The best way to save after a DUI violation is to shop policies.

Compare auto insurance quotes online or contact an insurance agent to assess your choices and discover an affordable plan.

Learn more about car insurance and DUI infractions.

Compare rates and get coverage today.

or
Location pin icon
glyph-shield-checkmarkNo junk mail. No spam calls. Free quotes.

Louisiana DUI laws

In Louisiana, DUI is also commonly referred to as DWI, or driving while impaired.

You are DWI in Louisiana when your blood alcohol concentration measures 0.08% or higher. Commercial drivers are DWI when their BAC is 0.04% or higher. Those under the age of 21 are DWI in Louisiana if their BAC reads 0.02% or higher.


DWI penalties in Louisiana

The lookback period in Louisiana is ten years. Repeated DWI offenses within this time period will result in harsher penalties and fines. First and second offenses are deemed misdemeanors. Subsequent offenses will be considered felonies.

Drivers whose BAC is 0.20% or higher are subject to enhanced fines and penalties as well.

A DWI leading to the death of another can result in the offender spending up to 30 years in prison, in addition to enhanced fines and penalties.

First-time DWI offenses in Louisiana lead to:

  • Up to six months in jail
  • Up to $1,000 in fines, plus court costs
  • License suspension for one year

A second DWI offense in Louisiana results in:

  • 48 hours to six months in jail
  • Up to $1,000 in fines, plus court costs
  • License suspension for two years
  • May be required to install and use an interlock ignition device for at least six months

Third-time DWI offenders in Louisiana are subject to:

  • Mandatory 30 days in jail
  • One to five years in prison
  • Up to $2000 in fines, plus court costs
  • License suspension for three years
  • Vehicle forfeiture and seizure
  • Six weeks of inpatient and one year of outpatient substance abuse treatment
  • Possibility of home incarceration for the remainder of a sentence

A fourth DWI offense in Louisiana results in:

  • Mandatory 30 days in jail
  • Up to 30 years in prison
  • Up to five years of home incarceration
  • Up to $5,000 in fines, plus court costs
  • License suspension for three years
  • Vehicle forfeiture and seizure
  • Six weeks of inpatient and one year of outpatient substance abuse treatment

Courts may also ask DWI offenders to undergo substance abuse treatment, attend driver improvement programs, or perform community service.


DWI rules for underage drinkers in Louisiana

Louisiana is a zero-tolerance state for DWI. Those under 21 years old with a BAC reading between 0.02% and less than 0.08% are guilty of an underage DWI in Louisiana. Those whose BAC is 0.08% or higher are subject to the same fines and penalties as an adult.

For a first-time underage DUI, offenders will:

  • Be fined between $100 and $250
  • Receive a one-year license suspension
  • Must complete a driver improvement program and substance abuse program

Two or more underage DUI offenses lead to:

  • 10 days to three months in jail
  • Fines between $150 and $500
  • Receive a one-year license suspension

Sources and references:

Class D and E Drivers License Guide

Section II Drivers License Laws

https://www.dmv.org/la-louisiana/automotive-law/dui.phpAutomotive Law in Louisiana

Drinking and Driving Laws in Louisiana

http://www.lafayetteowilawyer.com/louisianaowifirstoffense/louisianaunder21owi/Louisiana Law

The Zebra

The Zebra is the nation's leading independent insurance comparison site. The Zebra compares more than 100 insurance companies and provides agent support and educational resources to ensure drivers are equipped to make the most informed decisions about their home and auto insurance.