Explore insurance rating factors and average premiums for car insurance in the Golden State.
Your car insurance rates are impacted by more than just your location. Auto insurance rates comprise myriad factors, including a driver's age and driving history.
We reviewed average California car insurance rates by each of the most common rating factors. Read on to learn how much auto insurance costs in your state — or submit your zip to receive personalized quotes from popular insurers.
It’s a fact of life: as you age, your auto insurance premiums change. Typically, auto insurance is pricier for young drivers and teens, as auto insurance companies see newer drivers as less responsible.
|Age||Average Yearly Premium|
If you're facing the pricey prospect of insuring a teen driver, it's worth noting California is the 34th cheapest state in which to purchase car insurance for a 16-year-old.
One benefit of getting hitched — aside from the honeymoon — is the better deal you may receive on your car insurance policy. In the state of California, married drivers save $73 per year on car insurance policies. This is less than the national savings of $76.
|Marital Status||Average Annual Rate|
Car insurance coverage for divorced drivers in California is the 9th most expensive in the nation. If you are paying too much for your car insurance policy, don't be afraid to shop around. You never know what savings you'll find!
Car insurance companies use credit score to get an idea of a potential customer's reliability. Data trends show drivers with good credit histories are often more dependable car insurance customers: they are less likely to file claims covered by auto insurance. California, however, outlaws the use of credit score as an insurance rating factor, meaning you'll pay the same car insurance rate no matter your credit history.
|Credit Tier||Average Annual Rate|
|Very Poor (300-579)||$1,649.21|
|Very Good (740-799)||$1,649.21|
If you’re determined to be at fault in a car accident or found guilty of a driving infraction, your auto insurance premiums are bound to rise. The more red flags you rack up, the pricier your auto insurance becomes.
In California, your first minor at-fault crash leads to a penalty of $862.80 per year in auto insurance premiums. A DUI — considered among the most grievous driving violations — may grow your insurance rates in California by as much as $2,977.05.
|Violation||Average Yearly Premium|
|DUI or DWI||$4,689.59|
|At-Fault Accident (<$1,000)||$2,575.34|
|At-Fault Accident ($1,000-$2,000)||$2,676.87|
|At-Fault Accident (>$2,000)||$2,575.34|
|Speeding (21-25 MPH > limit)||$2,324.98|
|Speeding (16-20 MPH > limit)||$2,324.98|
If you're facing above-average car insurance payments, consider insurance shopping to find inexpensive coverage that suits you.
How much you pay per month for car insurance depends on the tier of coverage you purchase. Liability-only coverage typically costs less, while low-deductible comprehensive coverage costs more. In California, the rate difference between state-minimum liability-only coverage and comprehensive coverage with a $500 deductible is $908.
|Coverage Level||Average Annual Premium|
|$100K/$300K/$100K Bodily Injury/Property Damage — Liability-Only||$802|
|$100K/$300K/$100K Bodily Injury/Property Damage — $1,000 Comprehensive/Collision||$1,527|
|$100K/$300K/$100K Bodily Injury/Property Damage — $500 Comprehensive/Collision||$1,710|
|$50K/$100K/$50K Bodily Injury/Property Damage — Liability Only||$718|
|$50K/$100K/$50K Bodily Injury/Property Damage — $1,000 Comprehensive/Collision||$1,443|
|$50K/$100K/$50K Bodily Injury/Property Damage — $500 Comprehensive/Collision||$1,626|
|State Minimum — Liability Only||$573|
|State Minimum — $1,000 Comprehensive/Collision||$1,297|
|State Minimum — $500 Comprehensive/Collision||$1,481|
If you're facing above-average auto insurance costs, think about comparing policies to get inexpensive coverage that covers your vehicle appropriately.