Ask an Agent
Have a question? We're here to help.
Ask an agent for free
Question

Do I need to report a DUI to my insurance company?

My daughter got a DUI and I was wondering if I needed to report this to my insurance company? She got into an accident with her vehicle and ticketed for a DUI. I will probably sell the vehicle so I'm going to tell my insurance company but so I need to tell them it was damaged in an accident and that my daughter was ticketed?

Dec 7, 2017 Roseville, California

Answer
Author profile picture

Ava Lynch

Insurance Analyst

Credentials
  • 7+ years of Experience in the Insurance Industry

Ava joined The Zebra as a writer and licensed insurance agent in 2016. She now works as a senior insurance contributor, providing insights and data a…

If you're planning on selling the vehicle and have no intention of filing a claim for the damage, you don't need to tell your insurance company about the incident. You can just remove it from your policy. In terms of the DUI ticket, you're not technically required to tell your insurance company. If your insurance company re-runs your daughter's driving report (unlikely but not impossible) at your renewal, she will be rated and charged for a DUI. See our guide, Cheap Car Insurance After a DUI for more information.

Ask an Agent
Have a question? We're here to help.
Ask an agent for free

Insurance is complicated, but it doesn't have to be.

The Zebra searches all of the top insurance companies, in one place, so you can compare the cost and coverage you need to protect your car, home and other property.

Step 1: Tell us a little about yourself

Choose an insurance product and enter your zip code to get started.

Step 2: Sip your coffee while we find the best quotes

Enter the necessary information and then sit back while we find quotes from 100 top insurance carriers.

Icon Fill Form

Step 3: Compare your quotes

Compare quotes side-by-side to find the right match for you, whether it's home, auto, or more.

Icon Agent

Step 4: Let our agents do the hard work for you

Once you pick your policy, our agents are here to get you over the finish line. Then just relax and enjoy your savings.

Compare insurance rates today!

Location pin icon
No junk mail. No spam calls. Free quotes.

Related Questions

Other people are also asking...

Should I file a claim for $3,000 with a deductible of $1,000?

There are a couple of things to think about. With the value of damage and your deductible, the most you would save by filing a claim is 2k. However, most companies will increase your rate after you file a claim. For California in 2018, rates increased an average of $660 per year after an accident. …
Dec 16, 2018 Sacramento, CA

Accident as an excluded driver on my parents' policy?

Although you technically do not have insurance, the other driver is still at-fault for the damages and thus has a legal obligation to pay for the damages caused. You might be ticketed for driving without insurance but that shouldn't impact your parent's ability to have the other driver pa…
Jan 13, 2018 Los Angeles, CA

Can I insure vehicle I am driving in someone else's name?

There's a couple of things to think about here. First, your boyfriend's sister cannot and should not insure the vehicle simply because she does not drive it. Second, although you do not have a license, you should still get the vehicle insured as it is required by law in North Carolina. Th…
Aug 18, 2018 Clayton, NC

Debris fell out of truck and damaged my bumper

I recommend you contact your insurance company and give them all the information regarding the accident. This includes photos of the damage to your vehicle, the highway name, time, the license plate of the at-fault driver, and a vehicle description. Providing as much information as possible will ne…
May 19, 2018 Bakersfield, CA