If you receive a DUI in South Carolina, your auto insurance rates are bound to rise — it's just a question of by how much.
Need car insurance after a DUI? Compare rates now!
How does a DUI affect car insurance costs in South Carolina?
In South Carolina, a DUI will raise your yearly auto insurance cost by an average value of $567. That’s 94% less than the United States average rate hike after a DUI.
AUTO INSURANCE AFTER A DUI IN SOUTH CAROLINA — AVERAGE YEARLY PREMIUM
|Area||Avg. Annual Rate — without DUI||Avg. Annual Rate — with DUI||Avg. Increase After DUI|
Purchasing auto insurance in South Carolina after a DUI violation
Purchasing cheap car insurance after a DUI conviction isn’t simple. In fact, a DUI generally triggers a larger rate hike than any other driving transgression — more than an at-fault accident, racing, or reckless driving.
Cheap car insurance after a DUI in South Carolina
If you've been found guilty of a driving under the influence violation in South Carolina, it is important to examine available insurance options carefully. Auto insurance rates after a DUI can vary widely by company. For instance, the most affordable car insurance company with a DUI in South Carolina, State Farm, advertises yearly rates 31% less than the state average insurance premium with a DUI violation. The next-most affordable company for auto insurance after a DUI in South Carolina is Travelers, while the most expensive company is GEICO, with premiums 12% more than average.
AUTO INSURANCE PREMIUMS WITH DUI IN SOUTH CAROLINA — BY COMPANY
|Insurance Company||Avg. Annual Rate — After DUI|
|Southern Farm Bureau||$1,968|
There’s no auto insurance company in particular that offers affordable DUI car insurance. The best way to save after a DUI citation is to look at multiple options.
Compare car insurance quotes online or contact an insurance agent to gauge the choices and find an affordable option.
Looking for new car insurance? Compare rates today!
South Carolina DUI laws
Drivers are DUI in South Carolina when their blood alcohol concentration measures 0.08% or higher. Commercial drivers are held to a stricter standard and are considered DUI when their BAC reads 0.04% or higher.
Drivers under 21 years old are DUI in South Carolina if their BAC is 0.02% or higher.
DUI penalties in South Carolina
The DUI lookback period in South Carolina is 10 years. Multiple DUI offenses within a decade result in harsher penalties.
Penalties are also enhanced for any DUI that leads to injury or death. DUI penalties in South Carolina are also increased for DUI with a passenger under 16 years old.
First-time DUI offenses in South Carolina lead to:
- 48 hours to 30 days in jail or 48 hours of community service
- $400 in fines
- License suspension for six months
A second DUI offense in South Carolina results in:
- Five days to one year in jail or 30 days of community service
- $2,100 to $5,100 in fines
- License suspension for one year
- Requirement to install and use an ignition interlock device
Third-time DUI offenders in South Carolina are subject to:
- 60 days to three years in jail
- $3,800 to $6,300 in fines
- License suspension for two to four years
- Requirement to install and use an IID
Four or more DUI offenses in South Carolina result in:
- One to five years in jail
- A fine determined by the court
- Lifetime driver's revocation
DUI penalties for underage drinkers in South Carolina
Drivers under the legal drinking age of 21 and found to have a BAC of 0.02% or higher are considered DUI in South Carolina.
The first underage DUI in South Carolina results in a suspended license for three months. Subsequent offenses within five years will result in a six-month license suspension.
Sources and references: