Maine Car Insurance with a DUI

If you get a DUI in Maine, your car insurance will become more expensive — it is just a matter of how large the penalty will be.


How does a DUI change car insurance costs in Maine?


In Maine, a DUI conviction will raise your annual auto insurance premium by an average of $422. That is 161% less than the national average premium hike after a DUI.


CAR INSURANCE AFTER A DUI IN MAINE — AVERAGE ANNUAL PENALTY
LocationAvg. Annual Rate — no DUIAvg. Annual Rate — with DUIAvg. Increase After DUI
Maine$935$1,357+45%
United States$1,548$2,556+65%

Finding car insurance in Maine with a DUI conviction


Finding cheap car insurance after a DUI offense is not straightforward. In fact, a DUI typically triggers a larger rate hike than any other driving violation — more than an at-fault accident, reckless driving, or racing.


Best auto insurance after a DUI in Maine

If you’re convicted of a DWI or DUI violation in Maine, it is important to consider your insurance choices carefully. Car insurance prices after a DUI may vary widely depending on the company. For instance, the cheapest car insurance company with a DUI in Maine, State Farm, provides annual prices 33% less than the state average insurance premium with a DUI conviction. The next-most affordable company for auto insurance with a DUI in Maine is Concord Group Insurance, while the most expensive company is Allstate, with premiums 51% more than average.


AUTO INSURANCE RATES WITH DUI IN MAINE — BY INSURER
Insurance CompanyAvg. Annual Rate — After DUI
State Farm$906
Concord Group Insurance$1,122
Progressive$1,207
GEICO$1,423
MMG Insurance$1,518

There’s no car insurance company specifically offering cheap DUI auto insurance. The easiest way to save after a DUI conviction is to shop policies.

Compare car insurance quotes online or reach out to an insurance professional to gauge the choices and find the cheapest policy.

Learn more about car insurance and DUI violations.

Compare top companies and find affordable coverage today!

or
Location pin icon
glyph-shield-checkmarkNo junk mail. No spam calls. Free quotes.

Maine DUI rules

Driving under the influence is also commonly referred to as operating under the influence, or OUI, in Maine.

You are DUI in Maine if your blood alcohol concentration is 0.08% or higher. Commercial drivers are OUI with a BAC of 0.04%. As a zero-tolerance state, those under 21 years old are considered OUI with any degree of measurable BAC.


OUI penalties in Maine

The lookback period in Maine is 10 years except in the case of offenders convicted of a felony OUI. Those with a felony OUI on their record are subject to a lifetime lookback period and can expect harsher penalties for any subsequent OUIs.

In Maine, a first and second OUI offense are each class D misdemeanors. Third and subsequent OUIs are deemed class C felonies.

First-time OUI offenses in Maine lead to:

  • $500 to $2,000 in fines, plus court costs
  • License suspension of 150 days
  • Possible requirement to install and use an ignition interlock device
  • One-year conditional license

A second OUI offense in Maine results in:

  • Seven days to one year in jail
  • $700 to $2,000 in fines
  • License suspension of up to three years
  • Can no longer obtain a work-restricted license or register a vehicle
  • May be required to install an IID
  • Must take part in an alcohol program
  • Ten-year conditional license

Third-time OUI offenders in Maine are subject to:

  • 30 days to five years in prison
  • $1,100 to $5,100 in fines
  • License suspension for six years
  • Required attendance in an alcohol program
  • Ten-year conditional license

A fourth OUI results in:

  • Six months to five years in prison
  • Fines between $2,100 and $5,100
  • License suspension for eight years
  • Required attendance in an alcohol program
  • Ten-year conditional license

In some cases, OUI offenders may be able to reduce the time their license is suspended by petitioning to install and use an IID.

Maine increases penalties for those convicted of an aggravated OUI. An aggravated OUI occurs when:

  • A driver's BAC is 0.15% or higher
  • Is driving 30 miles per hour over the speed limit
  • Attempts to evade police
  • Is transporting a passenger under 21 years old

Drivers who are convicted of three or more OUIs within five years are declared habitual offenders. Habitual offenders may have their license revoked indefinitely.

In Maine, driving with a suspended license subjects a driver to enhanced fines and penalties, including forfeiture and seizure of their vehicle.

An OUI leading to a fatality may lead to permanent license revocation and up to 30 years in prison.


OUI laws for underage drinkers in Maine

An underage OUI in Maine where the offender's BAC is below 0.08% results in a one-year license suspension. If transporting another passenger under 21 years old, the suspension is increased by 180 days.

Underage drivers with a BAC higher than 0.08% are subject to the same criminal penalties as an adult offender, but their license must be suspended for one year.

Sources and references:

https://www.maine.gov/dps/bhs/impaired-driving/laws.html

https://www.dmv.org/me-maine/automotive-law/dui.php

https://www.edgarsnyder.com/drunk-driving/driving-alcohol-laws/maine.html

https://www.nicholschurchill.com/maine-defender/change-maines-look-back-law-ouis/

https://www.webblawmaine.com/blog/oui-offense-felony/

Kristine Lee LinkedIn

Kristine is a licensed insurance agent and one of The Zebra’s in-house content strategists. With a background in copywriting, she covers the ins and outs of the home and car insurance industries. She has contributed to numerous publications focused on the nuances of insurance, including BestCompany.com.