Why you can trust The Zebra

The Zebra partners with some of the companies we write about. However, our content is written and reviewed by an independent team of editors and licensed agents. Reference our data methodology and learn more about how we make money.

Author profile picture

Ava Lynch

Insurance Analyst

  • 7+ years of Experience in the Insurance Industry

Ava joined The Zebra as a writer and licensed insurance agent in 2016. She now works as a senior insurance contributor, providing insights and data a…

Author profile picture

Kristine Lee

Insurance Analyst

  • Licensed Insurance Agent — Property and Casualty
  • 4+ years of Experience in the Insurance Industry

Kristine is a licensed insurance agent who joined The Zebra in 2019 as an in-house content researcher and writer. Before joining The Zebra, she was a…

Auto insurance for high risk drivers in Maine

If you have caused a crash, filed a claim, or received a ticket for a serious violation, you could be a candidate for high-risk auto insurance. Car insurance coverage for drivers with bad records is typically pricey, but the price increases you face may depend on your car insurance company, your driving history, and the location in which you reside.


What comprises car insurance prices for high-risk drivers in Maine:
  1. At-fault accidents
  2. Speeding
  3. Distracted driving
  4. Racing
  5. Reckless driving
  6. Maine driving laws


Car insurance after an at-fault crash in Maine

If you're found accountable for causing an auto accident, you should expect your auto insurance rates to increase. In Maine, the average insurance rate following an at-fault crash is $1,527, compared to the nationwide mean of $2,012. A serious accident like an at-fault crash can stay on your insurance record for up to three years!

Location With At-Fault Accident — Annual Rate No At-Fault Accident — Annual Rate Annual Rate Increase
Maine $1,527 $927 $600
National Average $2,012 $1,397 $615


The best insurance company following an at-fault accident in Maine is MMG Insurance. MMG Insurance’s typical premium increase after an incident is $581, leading to a premium 38 percent less expensive than the average among all insurance companies. If you're deemed at-fault in a collision in Maine, steer clear of Allstate and United Financial, which penalize at-fault drivers more severely.


Insurance Company Annual Rate With an At-Fault Accident
MMG Insurance $946
State Farm $1,046
GEICO $1,204
Allstate $1,533
United Financial $1,705



What's the impact of a speeding ticket on car insurance in Maine?

One of the ways in which drivers earn the "high-risk" designation is speeding. In Maine, car insurance premiums rise by $214 per year post-speeding ticket, up to an average annual price of $1,141.

State With a Speeding Ticket — Annual Rate No Speeding Ticket — Annual Rate Yearly Rate Increase
Maine $1,141 $927 $214
National Average $1,727 $1,397 $330


The best way to find cheap car insurance after getting a ticket for speeding is to shop around and weigh the options. The cheapest car insurance after a speeding ticket in Maine is available through MMG Insurance. MMG Insurance’s average rate after a violation is $196 less than the state typical. If you've been cited for speeding in Maine, MetLife probably won't be your cheapest option.


Insurer Annual Premium After a Speeding Citation
MMG Insurance $945
GEICO $1,052
Allstate $1,209
MetLife $1,262


What impact does a distracted driving ticket have on car insurance rates in Maine?

A distracted driving citation means you can expect your car insurance costs to rise. In Maine, auto insurance rates typically go up by $298 per year. That's a 32% increase from the usual annual premium in Maine and 73% more than the national average cost of auto insurance after a ticket for distracted driving.

Location With Distracted Driving — Annual Rate No Distracted Driving — Annual Rate Annual Rate Increase
Maine $1,225 $927 $298
National Average $1,570 $1,397 $173


The easiest way to find cheap auto insurance after a distracted driving ticket is to shop a variety of options. The most affordable insurer after a ticket for distracted driving in Maine is Concord Group, with a typical rate of just $721 per year, 41% less than the average distracted driving insurance rate from all insurers.


Insurance Company Annual Rate With Distracted Driving
Concord Group $721
State Farm $873
MetLife $887
GEICO $1,074
Allstate $1,163


How does a ticket for racing impact Maine car insurance prices?

Racing is treated as a very serious offense. Insurance companies often penalize racing tickets with major rate hikes — in fact, Maine auto insurance rates rise by $735 annually following a ticket for racing. That represents a 79% increase from the usual annual auto insurance rate in Maine!


Location With a Racing Citation — Annual Rate No Racing Citation — Annual Rate Annual Rate Increase
Maine $1,662 $927 $735
National Average $2,397 $1,397 $1,000


If you have been cited for racing, do your due diligence and seek out the best rates. In Maine, grab a quote from State Farm, with rates 42 percent less than the state average for drivers found guilty of racing.


Insurance Company Annual Rate With Racing
State Farm $959
Concord Group $1,084
MMG Insurance $1,322
Allstate $1,471
GEICO $1,483


How does reckless driving in Maine impact car insurance rates?

Among the most serious moving violations, reckless driving is a certain way to raise your insurance rates. Car insurance companies increase rates by an average of $487 per year after reckless driving. That's 53% greater than the typical car insurance rate in Maine, and 27% less than the U.S. average penalty for a reckless driving ticket.


Location With Reckless Driving — Annual Rate No Reckless Driving — Annual Rate Annual Rate Increase
Maine $1,414 $927 $487
National Average $2,395 $1,397 $998


If you're dealing with a reckless driving conviction, shop around to get the most affordable rate. In Maine, the most affordable car insurance company after reckless driving is State Farm.


Insurer Annual Rate After Reckless Driving
State Farm $959
Concord Group $1,084
GEICO $1,272
MMG Insurance $1,322
Allstate $1,471

If you're looking for car insurance as a high-risk driver, your best option is to do your research and find the policy that fits.


Start saving today!

Location pin icon
No junk mail. No spam calls. Free quotes.


Maine Driving Laws

Though it’s known for its natural beauty and rural settings, Maine still has its share of busy roads. As such, there are a number of laws in place to ensure the safety of drivers and pedestrians alike. The law is fairly strict on issues related to speeding, drinking and driving, and general rules for how to act when you are on the road. If you want to keep yourself safe and prevent a run-in with the law, have a look at some of Maine’s driving laws as listed below.

Speeding in Maine

When Are You Speeding in Maine?

Maine speeding laws are relatively comparable to other areas of the country. The state asks you to maintain a “careful and prudent speed” for the driving conditions present. Unless otherwise posted, you are speeding in Maine if you go over the following:

  • 15 miles per hour in school zones
  • 25 mph in business or residential zones
  • 45 mph on all other public ways unless otherwise posted

However, Maine has slightly higher than average speeds in sections of its interstate highway, where limits top out at 75 mph in remote sections of the state.

Penalties for Speeding in Maine

If you are caught in violation of Maine speeding laws, you can expect there to be consequences. Alongside a potential license suspension of up to 15 days and points being added to your driving record, you are looking at fines in the following amounts:

  • $114 for 1-9 mph over the limit
  • $129 for 10 to 14 mph over
  • $170 for 15 to 19 mph over
  • $230 for 20 to 24 mph over
  • $278 for 25 to 29 mph over

If caught going 30 mph or more over the speed limit, penalties become much more severe. It is considered a class E crime and you could face:

  • $1,000 in fines
  • A license suspension from 30 to 180 days
  • Imprisonment up to six months
  • One year probation


Reckless Driving in Maine

What is Reckless Driving in Maine?

Reckless driving in Maine is commonly referred to as “driving to endanger.” This can encompass a variety of poor driving behaviors and is broadly defined as driving in a way that endangers people or property.

Penalties for Reckless Driving in Maine

In most circumstances, reckless driving is known as a Class E crime. The penalties depend on the charge brought against you, but typically include the following:

  • Up to six months imprisonment
  • A fine of up to $1,000
  • License suspension from 30 to 180 days

A step up from standard driving to endanger is called “aggravated driving to endanger,” which carries even stiffer penalties. It is considered a Class C crime and, if convicted, you can expect to face the following consequences:

  • Up to five years imprisonment
  • A fine of up to $5,000
  • License suspension from 180 days to two years

Drag racing in Maine also falls into the category of reckless driving, which is considered a Class C crime and falls into the “aggravated punishment” category.


Distracted Driving in Maine

What is Distracted Driving in Maine?

There’s no shortage of distractions vying for your attention while you drive. The term “distracted driving” can encompass anything that takes your mind, body, or eyes off the actual task of driving. This can range from talking to fellow passengers, changing the radio station, or even just thinking about what you had for dinner last night.

Distracted driving results in a number of accidents that could be otherwise preventable. One of the biggest problems surrounding distracted driving includes the use of mobile devices while driving. While some states outlaw the use of them entirely while driving, Maine allows their usage so long as it is not to text while driving.

Penalties for Distracted Driving in Maine

There’s been a concerted effort to get people to stop texting and driving in Maine. As such, it carries particularly stiff penalties.

A first offense carries a fine of $250, while drivers who are caught multiple times within a three-year period can expect a higher fine of at least $500 and suspension of their license that gets more severe with each offense:

  • 2nd offense: 30-day suspension
  • 3rd offense: 60-day suspension
  • 4th offense: 90-day suspension


DUI/OUI in Maine

What is a DUI in Maine?

Drinking and driving in Maine is a major problem that leads to lots of traffic accidents. Operating under the influence is the equivalent of a DUI in Maine. Commonly known as an OUI, you are breaking the law if you take the wheel with a blood alcohol content of .08% or higher.

In Maine, it is possible in some cases to plea an OUI charge down to what is often called a “wet reckless.” This carries more lenient sentencing, along the lines of a driving to endanger charge.

Penalties for a DUI in Maine

If you get caught drinking and driving in Maine, you can expect pretty serious consequences. For instance, even the first time you are caught you can expect the following penalties:

  • 150-day license suspension
  • $500 in fines

These consequences get even more severe with each offense or if you are traveling over 30 mph over the speed limit, you have a passenger under the age of 21, or your blood alcohol level exceeds .15%. These aggravating factors may lead to a minimum jail time of 48 hours.

If you are under the age of 21, the state has an even stricter set of consequences for operating under the influence in Maine. If you have any measurable amount of alcohol in your body, you can expect the following:

  • License revoked for one year
  • License revoked for at least 18 months if you refuse a test
  • License revoked for an additional 180 days if you have a passenger under 21 years old

If you are under 21 and have a blood-alcohol level higher than .08%, you can also be prosecuted for an OUI, which carries the penalties listed above.


At-fault Accident in Maine

What is an At-fault Accident in Maine?

Maine is a fault-based state in regards to who bears the financial responsibility for losses in a car accident. If you cause an accident, it is up to your car insurance carrier to assume responsibility for injuries, property damage, lost income, or any other issues that may arise.

For these reasons, Maine requires certain minimum liability coverage for all drivers. These limits are as follows:

  • $50,000 to cover bodily injury or death of one person
  • $100,000 to cover bodily injury or death liability
  • $25,000 to cover property damage per accident

Maine also allows for a single “Combined Single Limit” of $125,000.

Penalties for At-fault Accidents in Maine

Accidents happen. However, if the accident is serious and your insurance policy reaches its limits, you are then held personally responsible for any money outstanding. This is why it is so important to have the proper insurance coverage. Higher limits can protect you from having to pay out of pocket.

Should you be caught driving without insurance, you can expect penalties as well. If you cannot provide proof of insurance after an accident or after being pulled over you could be fined anywhere from $100 to $500 and even see your license revoked and your vehicle registration suspended. Moreover, without the safety net of auto insurance, you can expect to have to pay any and all damages out of pocket if found at fault in an accident.


Sources and references:

  • http://www.mainelegislature.org/legis/statutes/29-a/title29-asec2074.html
  • https://courts.maine.gov/maine_courts/traffic/schedule.pdf
  • https://www.drivinglaws.org/resources/maine-reckless-driving-laws-and-penalties.html
  • https://www.maine.gov/dps/bhs/impaired-driving/laws.html
  • https://www.mainelegislature.org/legis/statutes/29-A/title29-Asec2119.html
  • https://www.nolo.com/legal-encyclopedia/maine-car-insurance-laws.html

Auto insurance for high risk drivers in Maine

Have a specific question about high risk car insurance in Maine? Ask one of our licensed agents!

Can I still get insurance if I just found out that my car has structural damage?

Sorry to hear about your accident and the resulting damages. This is a tricky situation. If the car was fixed and deemed safe by your car insurance company, I'm not exactly sure how Carfax is finding it to be considered otherwise. My advice would be to contact your insurance company.If the car…
Oct 16, 2019 Bangor, ME

Failure to submit a breathalyzer's impact on car insurance rates?

This can be tricky to answer. In Maine, they have a law called Implied Consent. Basically, if you refuse to submit to a sobriety test, you can have your license immediately suspended. This suspension can last up to six years. Furthermore, because this is considered an administrative suspension, no …
Aug 17, 2018 Bangor, ME

Will my renters insurance pay for me to stay in a hotel if my house is damaged?

Renters insurance is extremely valuable since it is often inexpensive and provides lots of coverage when things go wrong. Specifically in your situation, your renters policy should include a "loss of use" provision that would cover temporary living expenses if you weren't able to liv…
Apr 13, 2017 Augusta, ME

About The Zebra

The Zebra is not an insurance company. We publish data-backed, expert-reviewed resources to help consumers make more informed insurance decisions.

  • The Zebra’s insurance content is written and reviewed for accuracy by licensed insurance agents.
  • The Zebra’s insurance editorial content is not subject to review or alteration by insurance companies or partners.
  • The Zebra’s editorial team operates independently of the company’s partnerships and commercialization interests, publishing unbiased information for consumer benefit.
  • The auto insurance rates published on The Zebra’s pages are based on a comprehensive analysis of car insurance pricing data, evaluating more than 83 million insurance rates from across the United States.