Maine Car Insurance Laws

Auto insurance requirements in Maine

Maine law requires that all drivers carry a certain amount of insurance coverage before getting behind the wheel. Proof of this coverage must be carried while driving and must be shown at the request of law enforcement officials. Have a look below at the required coverages in Maine as well as some optional coverages that could protect you further.

Minimum Liability Coverage: 50/100/25
Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Coverage (UM/UIM)Medical Payments
  • $50,000 for bodily injury per person
  • $100,000 for bodily injury per accident
  • $25,000 for property damage per accident
  • $10,000 per person
  • $2,000 per person

If you currently lease or finance your vehicle, your leasing company or lender could require further insurance to cover any physical damage that could occur. 

 

Maine uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage (UM/UIM)

If you or your passengers are injured by a driver who cannot pay damages due to the lack of sufficient coverage, uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage kicks in to pay for your medical expenses. Bear in mind that Maine only requires the bodily injury portion of this coverage, meaning that your vehicle would not be covered unless you add further coverage.

 

Medical payments coverage in Maine

Often referred to as “med pay,” medical payments coverage is a form of insurance that applies to medical bills or funeral expenses incurred by you or those in your vehicle. The typical limit for this coverage usually falls between $5,000 and $10,000 and is available regardless of who is at fault.

 

Liability coverage in Maine

Liability insurance covers the bodily injury, property damage, pain and suffering, lost wages, and funeral expenses of those that you injure in an at-fault car accident. This coverage never pays for your injuries or property damages. The limits required are typically written out with three different numbers. These numbers in Maine are 50/100/25 and are explained in greater detail below.

 

What are state-mandated car insurance limits?

Limits are the highest dollar amount that your insurance company will pay in the event of a claim. Often, you choose your limits at the start of your policy. If you are unsure of your coverage limits, they can often be found on your car insurance declaration page.

Most states have a limit that they impose as well. State limits are the lowest amounts of insurance which you can carry and still be considered a legal driver. The required med pay coverage is fairly straightforward, with limits of $2,000 per person. However, the other required coverages are a little more nuanced. Have a look at the breakdown of how these limits work below:

 

Liability insurance limits in Maine

Maine’s liability limits are set as three separate numbers, explained in greater detail below:

  • Maine’s $50,000 limit for bodily injury per person is the total dollar amount that your insurance company will pay for any single person that you injure in a car accident.
  • The $100,000 limit for bodily injury per accident is the maximum amount provided by your insurer for all injured parties in an accident that you cause.
  • The $25,000 property damage per accident is the limit of how much your insurer will pay to repair or replace property damaged in an accident for which you are at fault.

Maine also allows drivers the option of a single combined limit, meaning that you can use any combination of bodily injury or property damage up to the $125,000 combined limit. 

 

Uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage limits

Uninsured/underinsured coverage is set up in a similar fashion to liability coverage in that it has different limits for different situations. The only required UM/UIM coverage in Maine is for bodily injury, which is split in a similar fashion to the liability limits above: per person and per accident. 

  • Maine’s $50,000 UM/UIM per person covers any one person in your car up to this limit for injuries sustained by an at-fault driver. 
  • The $100,000 UM/UIM limit is the total amount that your insurer will pay for all those injured in your vehicle by an uninsured or underinsured driver. 



Do Maine's required insurance minimums provide enough coverage?

Maine is one of the few states that requires a substantial amount of automobile insurance. Bodily injury liability limits are quite high and the uninsured/underinsured coverage has equally robust limits to match. However, Maine still requires no insurance to cover your own vehicle, which can leave you at risk. Furthermore, it’s always just a good idea to carry as much liability coverage as you can reasonably afford, especially if you have significant assets. 



Maine’s penalties for driving without proof of insurance

If you are unable to provide proof of insurance while driving, you could be fined anywhere from $100 to $500, see your license revoked, and have your vehicle registration suspended.

 

Optional car insurance coverage in Maine

Maine law requires liability, UM/UIM, and med pay insurance in order to drive legally. However, there are a number of additional coverage options that can add further protection.

  • Collision: Collision coverage goes toward repairing damages sustained in a collision with another vehicle or fixed object (other than animals).
  • Comprehensive: Comprehensive insurance covers your vehicle in non-collision damages, though it also covers animal collisions. Collision and comprehensive are often referred to as full coverage when purchased together. 
  • Loan/lease payoff: Because of the speed in which automobiles depreciate, this coverage can be quite helpful if your car is totaled and you end up owing more on a car than what its worth, which is often referred to as its actual cash value. This coverage is especially smart if you are leasing or financing your vehicle.
  • Roadside assistance: If you break down on the highway, this coverage can help pay for towing, fixing flats, or even overnight stays in some cases. 
  • Rental Car Reimbursement: If your car needs to be repaired after an accident, this coverage could help pay for a rental until yours is fixed. 

 

Why adhering to Maine’s car insurance requirements is important

Keeping the right amount of car insurance is not only legally required, but is also a great way to protect yourself and your assets. While Maine requires more auto insurance coverage than most states, it’s always a good idea to consider expanding coverage to make sure you are properly covered. If the cost of adding coverage is concerning, you may want to think about shopping around for a new policy. The Zebra can help you find insurance quotes from the top insurance companies, allowing you to compare them side by side so you can find the policy you need. 

 

Ready to save? Compare car insurance companies now!

or
Location pin icon
glyph-shield-checkmarkNo junk mail. No spam calls. Free quotes.
Ross Martin LinkedIn

As a licensed insurance agent, Ross is responsible for researching and writing about all matters related to auto and home insurance. He has a background in writing and education, as well as a master's degree from Royal Holloway, University of London. He has been quoted by CNET, iDriveSafely.com, and Kin Insurance.