Finding cheap car insurance in Alabama with a DUI: what to know
Finding affordable car insurance after a DUI conviction isn’t easy. In fact, a DUI typically brings about a larger rate increase than does any other driving violation — more than racing, reckless driving, or an at-fault accident.
If you receive a DUI in Alabama, your auto insurance rates are bound to rise: it's just a question of how much more you'll pay. If you're convicted of a DUI violation, it's important to shop wisely and compare insurance rates to find the cheapest option.
The best cheap auto insurance after a DUI in Alabama
If you have been found guilty of a DWI or DUI offense in Alabama, it’s important to assess all possible insurance choices thoughtfully. Auto insurance prices in the wake of a DUI may deviate greatly by company. For instance, the cheapest car insurance company with a DUI in Alabama, USAA, offers annual prices 18% below the state average insurance premium after a DUI conviction. The second-most affordable company for auto insurance after a DUI in Alabama is Progressive, while the most expensive insurer is Alfa, with rates 54% above the mean.
CHEAPEST CAR INSURANCE COMPANIES FOR DRIVERS WITH A DUI
|Insurance Company||Avg. Annual Rate — After DUI|
There’s no auto insurance company in particular that offers inexpensive DUI car insurance. The best way to save money post-DUI conviction is to shop policies.
Compare auto insurance policies online or contact an insurance professional to assess your choices and find an affordable plan.
How does a DUI affect car insurance premiums in Alabama?
In Alabama, a DUI can increase your annual car insurance premium by an average of $895. That’s 23% less than the national average rate hike after a DUI.
AUTO INSURANCE AFTER A DUI IN ALABAMA — AVERAGE ANNUAL PENALTY
|Location||Avg. Annual Rate — without DUI||Avg. Annual Rate — with DUI||Avg. Increase After DUI|
Find affordable car insurance after a DUI by comparing rates.
Alabama DUI laws
In Alabama, you're considered to be driving under the influence or driving while impaired, if:
- You have a blood alcohol concentration of 0.08% or more
- Or you are under the influence of drugs, alcohol, or other substances that render you incapable of safely operating a vehicle
Commercial drivers are held to an even stricter BAC. If you're driving a commercial vehicle with a BAC of 0.04% or higher, you're considered to be DUI.
While 21 is the legal drinking age, 20% of youths aged 12 to 20 engage in underage drinking. If they get behind the wheel of a car, they're considered to be DUI with a BAC of just 0.02% or more.
Alabama is also a state that considers a motorist DUI even if they're not presently driving. If you are in physical control of the vehicle you may be considered to be DUI in Alabama.
DUI penalties in Alabama
If you're caught under the influence of alcohol or drugs while driving in Alabama, you're subject to a slew of penalties. Though repeat offenders are subject to the harshest penalties, even first-time offenders will find DUIs costly, both in the cost of fines and time spent in jail.
First-time DUI offenders in Alabama:
- Can be imprisoned for up to one year in municipal or county jail (no minimum sentence)
- Must pay a fine between $500 and $2,000, plus $100 to the Impaired Drivers Trust Fund
- Are given a mandatory 90-day license suspension
- Must attend DUI school
In Alabama, second-time DUI offenses lead to:
- 48 consecutive hours of imprisonment, up to a maximum of one year, or no less than 20 days of community service
- A fine of $1,000 to $5,000, plus $100 to the Impaired Drivers Trust Fund
- A one-year driver's license revocation
A third DUI conviction in Alabama within five years results in:
- Mandatory 60-day imprisonment, which cannot be probated or suspended, and up to one year total in jail
- A $2,000 to $10,000 fine, plus $100 to the Impaired Drivers Trust Fund
- A three-year revocation of your driver's license
Four or more DUI convictions in Alabama within five years is considered a class-C felony. Penalties for such convictions are:
- One to 10 years imprisonment
- A $4,000 to $10,000 fine
- And a five-year revocation of your driver's license
All offenders may be subject to longer license suspensions than defined based on:
- Their BAC at the time of the arrest
- The type of license they hold
- If the DUI led to an accident
Double penalties for 0.15 BAC in Alabama
Drivers with a BAC of at least 0.15 receive at least double the minimum penalty for DUI.
DUI penalties for underage drinkers in Alabama
Drivers under 21 years of age who are found to have a BAC over 0.02% receive a 30-day license suspension for first-time DUI offenses and must attend substance abuse treatment. They’re also responsible for paying the same fines as those over 21 years old.
Subsequent DUI offenses by a driver under 21 years old may lead to the convicted losing their license for a longer period of time.
Sources and references:
- Alabama Car Insurance Laws
- Auto Insurance Rate Trends in Alabama
- Average Cost of Car Insurance in Alabama
- Birmingham, AL Car Insurance
- Car Insurance for High-Risk Drivers in Alabama
- Huntsville, AL Car Insurance
- Mobile, AL Car Insurance
- Montgomery, AL Car Insurance
- SR-22 Car Insurance in Alabama
- Temporary Car Insurance in Alabama