Why you can trust The Zebra

The Zebra partners with some of the companies we write about. However, our content is written and reviewed by an independent team of editors and licensed agents. Reference our data methodology and learn more about how we make money.

Author profile picture

Ava Lynch

Insurance Analyst

  • 7+ years of Experience in the Insurance Industry

Ava joined The Zebra as a writer and licensed insurance agent in 2016. She now works as a senior insurance contributor, providing insights and data a…

Author profile picture

Ross Martin

Insurance Writer

  • 4+ years in the Insurance Industry

Ross joined The Zebra as a writer and researcher in 2019. He specializes in writing insurance content to help shoppers make informed decisions.

Ross h…

Auto insurance for high risk drivers in Alabama

If you’ve been involved in an at-fault accident, filed a claim, or received a citation for a serious moving violation, you could be a candidate for high-risk car insurance. Auto insurance coverage for drivers with bad records is usually expensive, but the increase in rates you receive depends on your company, your driving history, and the state in which you live.

What goes into car insurance prices for high-risk drivers in Alabama? — table of contents:
  1. At-fault accidents
  2. Speeding
  3. Distracted driving
  4. Racing
  5. Reckless driving
  6. View Alabama driving laws


Auto insurance after an at-fault crash in Alabama


If you are found at-fault for causing an auto accident, you should expect your car insurance rates to increase. In Alabama, the average insurance rate following an at-fault crash is $1,953 compared to the U.S. mean of $2,012. A serious incident like an at-fault collision will remain on your insurance record for up to three years!

Location With At-Fault Accident — Annual Rate No At-Fault Accident — Annual Rate Yearly Rate Increase
Alabama $1,953 $1,358 $595
National Average $2,012 $1,397 $615

The best car insurance company after an at-fault accident in Alabama is USAA. USAA’s usual price increase after a crash is $853, leading to a total rate that's 44% less expensive than the average among all insurance companies. If you've been found at fault in an accident in Alabama, steer clear of State Farm and Mid-Century, which penalizes at-fault drivers more severely.

Insurer Annual Premium With an At-Fault Accident
USAA $1,100
ALFA $1,431
GEICO $1,831
State Farm $2,098
Mid-Century $2,402

Compare quotes now to get insured today!

Location pin icon
No junk mail. No spam calls. Free quotes.

By how much does a speeding ticket raise car insurance rates in Alabama?


Among the common violations that earn drivers the "bad driver" tag is speeding. In Alabama, average car insurance rates rise by $314 per year post-speeding ticket, up to an average per-year price of $1,672.

State With a Speeding Ticket — Annual Rate No Speeding Ticket — Annual Rate Annual Rate Increase
Alabama $1,672 $1,358 $314
National Average $1,727 $1,397 $330

The best way to get cheap auto insurance after a speeding citation is to shop around and weigh the available options. The cheapest car insurance after a speeding ticket in Alabama is available via GEICO. GEICO’s average rate after a citation is $400 less than the state average. If you've been ticketed for speeding in Alabama, Mid-Century probably won't be your cheapest option.

Insurer Annual Premium With a Speeding Violation
GEICO $1,272
ALFA $1,367
Allstate $1,803
Progressive $1,997
Mid-Century $2,226


How does a distracted driving ticket affect car insurance rates in Alabama?


If you are issued a distracted driving citation, your car insurance won't be cheap. In Alabama, car insurance rates typically increase by $165 each year. That's a 12% increase from the usual annual premium in Alabama, and 4% less than the national average cost of car insurance with a distracted driving offense.

Location With Distracted Driving — Annual Rate No Distracted Driving — Annual Rate Annual Rate Increase
Alabama $1,523 $1,358 $165
National Average $1,570 $1,397 $173

The best way to find affordable auto insurance after a distracted driving ticket is to compare carriers. The cheapest auto insurance company after being cited for distracted driving in Alabama is GEICO, with a typical rate of only $813 per year, 47% less than the average distracted driving insurance rate by all insurers.

Company Annual Rate After Distracted Driving
GEICO $813
USAA $816
ALFA $1,367
State Farm $1,454
Allstate $1,803


How do racing violations affect car insurance in Alabama?


Racing is treated as an extremely serious violation. Car insurance companies typically penalize racing citations severely — in fact, Alabama car insurance rates increase by $800 annually after a citation for racing. That is a 59% increase in the usual annual auto insurance premium in Alabama!

Location With a Racing Citation — Annual Rate No Racing Citation — Annual Rate Annual Rate Increase
Alabama $2,158 $1,358 $800
National Average $2,397 $1,397 $1,000

If you've been cited for racing, do your due diligence and seek out the most affordable rates. In Alabama, start your search by checking out USAA, with prices 24% cheaper than the state average after a racing violation.

Insurer Annual Rate With Racing
USAA $1,640
GEICO $1,844
Allstate $2,174
Progressive $2,258
ALFA $2,271


How reckless driving affects car insurance rates in Alabama


Among the most serious driving violations, reckless driving is a surefire way to end up paying more for car insurance. Auto insurance companies raise rates by an average of $895 annually following a reckless driving citation. That's 66% greater than the typical auto insurance rate in Alabama and 8% less than the national average price increase for a reckless driving violation.

Location With Reckless Driving — Annual Rate No Reckless Driving — Annual Rate Annual Rate Increase
Alabama $2,252 $1,358 $895
National Average $2,395 $1,397 $998

If you're cited for reckless driving, compare insurance companies to find the best premium. In Alabama, the most affordable carrier with a reckless driving ticket is USAA.

Insurance Company Annual Rate With Reckless Driving
USAA $1,132
Allstate $2,174
Progressive $2,258
ALFA $2,271
State Farm $2,418

If you're looking for car insurance as a high-risk driver, your best option is to do plenty of research and compare policies from trusted insurers.

Find the cheapest car insurance in Alabama today!

Location pin icon
No junk mail. No spam calls. Free quotes.

Alabama driving laws

Traffic laws in Alabama are in place to protect drivers and pedestrians from injury and death. Laws in Alabama forbid such infractions as excessive speeding, reckless driving, distracted driving, and racing. In addition, laws are in place to identify who is at fault for an accident and what events constitute an at-fault accident.


Speeding in Alabama

When are you speeding in Alabama?

The statutory speed limits in Alabama are:

  • 30 miles per hour in an urban area
  • 35 miles per hour on an unpaved road
  • 45 miles per hour on a county paved road (unless otherwise posted)
  • 55 miles per hour in other locations
  • 65 miles per hour where posted
  • 70 miles per hour where posted on the interstate

In certain locations and where posted, Alabama may enforce minimum speed limits. In such places, it is unlawful to drive under the posted minimum speed limit in normal weather and road conditions.

You may also be considered speeding in Alabama if you are driving unreasonably fast for conditions, such as inclement weather like rain, snow, or heavy winds.

Penalties for speeding in Alabama

Traffic fines for speeding in Alabama differ depending on the county in which the infraction has taken place. Additionally, fines are often increased for speeding 25 miles per hour or higher over the posted limit.

Individual county speeding fines are listed by county on the Alabama Traffic Service Center website.

In addition to county-imposed fines, speeding in Alabama will also result in the accumulation of points against your driver’s license:

  • Two points for speeding one to 25 miles per hour over the speed limit
  • Five points for speeding 26 miles per hour or more over the speed limit

Receiving 12 to 14 points over a two-year period will result in a license suspension for 60 days. More points equate to lengthier suspension periods.

Points remain on your record for two years, after which they will no longer count against you. However, your traffic conviction itself will remain on your record.


Reckless driving in Alabama

What is reckless driving in Alabama?

Alabama law considers reckless driving to be defined as driving any vehicle “carelessly and heedlessly in willful or wanton disregard for the rights or safety of persons or property, or without due caution and circumspection and at a speed or in a manner so as to endanger or be likely to endanger any person or property.”

In other words, driving dangerously in Alabama may result in you being charged with reckless driving.

Penalties for reckless driving in Alabama

A first-time reckless driving conviction in Alabama results in:

  • Five to 90 days in jail
  • $25 to $500 in fines
  • Six points added to your driving record
  • Possible license suspension for up to six months

Penalties for a second reckless driving conviction in Alabama are:

  • 10 days to six months in jail
  • $50 to $500 in fines
  • Six points added to your driving record
  • Possible license suspension for up to six months

A third conviction within a year of a prior conviction may result in license revocation.


Distracted driving in Alabama

What is distracted driving in Alabama?

You are guilty of distracted driving in Alabama if you are operating a wireless device, such as a phone, while actively driving on the road. This includes using a device to send or read texts or emails, watch videos, or otherwise operate the device.

You are, however, allowed to use the voice-activated features of your device while driving in Alabama. Since Alabama does not have a hands-free law, you are allowed to hold your device while driving. You are also allowed to select a contact to call, but cannot send or read any communication with any contacts.

You are also allowed to use the GPS or navigational functionality of your device while driving, provided that your destination is pre-programmed before driving.

Any mobile device use is prohibited for drivers who are 16 years old. In addition, 17-year-olds cannot use a phone while driving if they have had their license for less than six months.

Read here for more on texting and driving statistics.

Penalties for distracted driving in Alabama

The penalties for distracted driving in Alabama are:

  • $25 for a first offense
  • $50 for a second offense
  • $75 for a third or subsequent offense
  • Two points added to your driving record per offense


Racing in Alabama

What is racing in Alabama?

Racing in Alabama is defined as one or more vehicles conducting a:

  • Race, speed competition, or contest
  • Drag race or acceleration contest
  • Test of physical endurance
  • Exhibition of speed or acceleration
  • Or attempt to make a speed record on any public highway.

In Alabama, a drag race is further defined as two or more vehicles competing in an attempt to outdistance one another or to compare relative speeds or acceleration over a certain distance or within a certain time limit.

Racing in Alabama is further defined as one or more vehicles attempting to outgain or outdistance another vehicle, to arrive at a destination before another vehicle, or to test the physical stamina or endurance of a driver over a long-distance route.

Penalties for racing in Alabama

An offender’s first conviction for racing in Alabama will result in:

  • $500 in fines
  • Five to 90 days in jail (or 30 days of probation)
  • Prohibition from driving on public roads for six months
  • License suspension
  • Vehicle impound

A second racing conviction in Alabama leads to:

  • $3, 000 in fines
  • 10 days to six months in jail (or six months of probation)
  • Prohibition from driving on public roads for one year
  • License suspension
  • Vehicle impound

A third or subsequent conviction for racing in Alabama results in:

  • $6, 000 in fines
  • One year in jail (or one year of probation)
  • Prohibition from driving on public roads for one year
  • License suspension
  • Vehicle impound

In addition, in 2015 a new law not only increased the penalties for drag racing in Alabama, but made it possible to be fined simply for observing or organizing a drag race.


At-fault accidents in Alabama

How is an at-fault accident defined in Alabama?

Alabama is considered an “at-fault” state. In the case of an accident, fault can be assigned to a driver and they will be held liable for the cost of damage, injury, and other loss.

Accidents must be reported to the Alabama Department of Public Safety within 30 days of taking place if the accident resulted in injury, death, or damages exceeding $250.

Drivers in Alabama are required to maintain mandatory liability insurance with minimums of:

  • $25, 000 death and bodily injury to one person
  • $50, 000 death and bodily injury to two or more people
  • $25, 000 for damage or destruction of property belonging to others

Penalties for at-fault accidents in Alabama

Driving or at-fault accidents in Alabama without the required minimum liability insurance results in a fine of $200 for the first offense.

A second offense results in a fine of $300. Three or more offenses lead to fines of $400 for each occurrence.

In each case, failure to pay the fine within 45 days will result in a 90-day license suspension and $100 reinstatement fee.


Sources and references:

Auto insurance for high risk drivers in Alabama

Have a specific question about high risk car insurance in Alabama? Ask one of our licensed agents!

Will requesting roadside assistance impact premium increases in the future?

Unfortunately, using your roadside assistance is considered a claim since you are using coverage on your policy. Most insurance companies will allow you to use your roadside assistance three times. This may be why your insurance rates will go up after the third claim. Since having roadside through …
Apr 5, 2019 Madison, AL

Does liability cover my damages caused by a windstorm?

Unfortunately, no. The damage to your car will not be covered if you only have liability insurance. Liability insurance only covers damages and injuries that you cause to others. There is no coverage to repair any damages to your car. Comprehensive coverage would cover your car for damage caused by…
Aug 16, 2018 Briliant, AL

If my Alabama registration tags expire, do I still have to carry insurance?

Alabama requires that registered vehicles must also be insured. If your registration tags expire and you want to renew them then you must have active auto insurance before the new tags will be issued. If you let the tags expire and you are no longer planning on driving the vehicle then you would no…
Aug 12, 2017 Tuscaloosa, AL

Can my fiancé and I share an insurance policy?

Thank you for reaching out to us here at The Zebra. You can call our agency at 888-444-8949 to speak to one of our Licensed Insurance Advisors. They can shop you around with carriers we partner with in your state, in order to find you the best policy that meets your needs. If you are interested, yo…
Jul 22, 2022 Birmingham, AL

About The Zebra

The Zebra is not an insurance company. We publish data-backed, expert-reviewed resources to help consumers make more informed insurance decisions.

  • The Zebra’s insurance content is written and reviewed for accuracy by licensed insurance agents.
  • The Zebra’s insurance editorial content is not subject to review or alteration by insurance companies or partners.
  • The Zebra’s editorial team operates independently of the company’s partnerships and commercialization interests, publishing unbiased information for consumer benefit.
  • The auto insurance rates published on The Zebra’s pages are based on a comprehensive analysis of car insurance pricing data, evaluating more than 83 million insurance rates from across the United States.