Texas Car Insurance with a DUI

If you receive a DUI in Texas, your auto insurance is going to get more expensive — it's only a question of how large the penalty will be.


How will a DUI alter car insurance in Texas?


In Texas, a DUI offense can increase your annual car insurance premium by an average of $762. That’s 44% less than the national average rate hike after a DUI.


CAR INSURANCE AFTER A DUI IN TEXAS — AVERAGE ANNUAL PENALTY
Location Avg. Annual Rate — without DUI Avg. Annual Rate — with DUI Avg. Increase After DUI
Texas $1,415 $2,178 +54%
United States $1,548 $2,556 +65%

Finding auto insurance in Texas with a DUI conviction


Finding affordable auto insurance in the wake of a DUI violation isn’t simple. In fact, a DUI often brings about a bigger premium increase than any single road violation — more than an at-fault accident, racing, or reckless driving.


Low-cost car insurance after a DUI in Texas

If you're convicted of a DUI or DWI violation in Texas, it’s key to mull over each of your insurance choices carefully. Auto insurance premiums following a DUI can vary substantially by insurer. For example, the least expensive car insurance company with a DUI in Texas, GEICO, advertises annual rates 16% less than the statewide average insurance rate with a DUI. The second-cheapest insurer for auto insurance after a DUI in Texas is USAA, while the priciest firm is Allstate, with prices 71% above average.


CAR INSURANCE RATES WITH DUI IN TEXAS — BY INSURER
Insurance Company Avg. Annual Rate — After DUI
GEICO $1,831
USAA $1,842
State Farm $2,001

There is no car insurer in particular that offers inexpensive DUI car insurance. The recommended way to save in the wake of a DUI citation is to shop around.

Compare car insurance quotes online or reach out to an insurance agent to assess your choices and find a cost-effective policy.

Learn more about car insurance and DUI infractions.

Find DUI car insurance today!

or
Location pin icon
No junk mail. No spam calls. Free quotes.

DWI penalties in Texas

There is no maximum DWI lookback period in Texas. Instead, all prior DWI convictions are taken into account when an impaired driver is sentenced for a DWI offense.

Penalties are enhanced when charged with DWI if a passenger under 15 years old is present.

First-time DWI offenses in Texas lead to:

  • Three to 180 days in jail
  • Up to $2,000 in fines
  • Loss of driver's license for up to a year
  • Possible requirement to attend a DWI Education Program
  • Possible requirement to install and use an ignition interlock device

A second DWI offense in Texas results in:

  • One month to one year in jail
  • Up to $4,000 in fines
  • Loss of driver's license for up to two years
  • Annual fee of $1,000 to $2,000 for three years to retain license
  • Possible requirement to attend a DWI Intervention Program
  • Possible requirement to install and use an IID

Third-time DWI offenders in Texas are subject to:

  • Two to 10 years in prison
  • $10,000 in fines
  • Loss of driver's license for up to two years
  • Annual fee of $1,000 to $2,000 for three years to retain license
  • Possible requirement to attend a DWI Intervention Program
  • Possible requirement to install and use an IID

DWI penalties for underage drinkers in Texas

Anyone under the age of 21 is considered a minor in Texas. Minors guilty of a DWI face penalties for repeated DWI offenses.

For a first-time underage DWI, offenders will:

  • Be fined up to $500
  • Perform 20 to 40 hours of community service
  • Receive a 30-day license suspension

A second underage DWI offense leads to:

  • Up to $500 in fines
  • 40 to 60 hours of community service
  • License suspension for 60 days

A third underage DWI offense in Texas results in:

  • Up to 180 days in jail
  • $500 to $2,000 in fines
  • License suspension for 180 days

Sources and references:

https://www.txdot.gov/inside-txdot/division/traffic/safety/sober-safe/intoxication.html

https://www.dmv.org/tx-texas/automotive-law/dui.php

https://www.edgarsnyder.com/drunk-driving/driving-alcohol-laws/texas.html

Kristine Lee photo
Kristine LeeManager, Content and Data

Kristine is a licensed insurance agent who joined The Zebra in 2019 as an in-house content researcher and writer. Before joining The Zebra, she was a freelance copywriter for over five years. 

She is an authority on all things insurance and covers the ins and outs of auto, home, life and renters insurance. Her specialty is in providing data-backed insights and information to help insurance shoppers make informed decisions.

Kristine's insurance expertise and research have been cited by publications such as CNBC, BadCredit.orgCar and Driver, Business Insider, Yahoo!, The Balance, Nationwide and Elephant.