Massachusetts Car Insurance with a DUI

If you get a DUI in Massachusetts, your car insurance will be more expensive — it's just a question of by how much.


How does getting a DUI impact car insurance rates in Massachusetts?


In Massachusetts, a DUI will lift your annual car insurance premium by an average of $1,112. That is 1% more than the national mean rate jump following a DUI.


AUTO INSURANCE AFTER A DUI IN MASSACHUSETTS — AVERAGE ANNUAL COST
AreaAvg. Annual Rate — no DUIAvg. Annual Rate — with DUIAvg. Increase After DUI
Massachusetts$1,463$2,575+76%
United States$1,548$2,556+65%

How to find car insurance in Massachusetts after a DUI


Finding affordable car insurance in the wake of a DUI violation is far from easy. In fact, a DUI typically brings about a more substantial cost increase than any other driving violation — more than racing, reckless driving, or an at-fault accident. Massachusetts is a very bad state in which to be convicted of a DUI: its auto insurance rate raises are some of America's harshest.


Best car insurance after a DUI in Massachusetts

If you have been found guilty of a driving under the influence offense in Massachusetts, it is critical to examine your insurance options carefully. Car insurance premiums following a DUI can vary substantially depending on the insurer. For instance, the best cheap auto insurance company after a DUI in Massachusetts, GEICO, offers yearly prices 36% more affordable than the state average insurance rate with a DUI violation. The second-cheapest insurer for car insurance after a DUI in Massachusetts is Plymouth Rock, while the most expensive firm is Travelers, with premiums 31% pricer than average.


CAR INSURANCE RATES AFTER A DUI IN MASSACHUSETTS — BY INSURER
Insurance CompanyAvg. Annual Rate — After DUI
GEICO$1,658
Plymouth Rock$1,695
Progressive$2,358
Arbella$2,529
Safety Insurance$3,131
MetLife$3,281

There’s no auto insurer in particular offering low-cost DUI auto insurance. The recommended way to save in the wake of a DUI conviction is to compare policies.

Compare auto insurance quotes online or contact your insurance agent to assess your choices and discover a cost-effective DUI insurance policy.

Learn more about car insurance and DUIs.

Shop car insurance and find an affordable policy today!

or
Location pin icon
glyph-shield-checkmarkNo junk mail. No spam calls. Free quotes.

Massachusetts DUI/OUI laws

In Massachusetts, driving under the influence (DUI) is commonly referred to as operating under the influence, or OUI.

You are OUI in Massachusetts if your blood alcohol concentration measures 0.08% or higher. Commercial drivers are held to a stricter limit of 0.04%, and drivers under 21 years old are OUI if their BAC reads 0.02% or higher.


OUI penalties in Massachusetts

There is no maximum lookback period in Massachusetts. This means all past OUI convictions are taken into account when a court decides an offender's sentence and penalties.

Additionally, most penalties are applicable to OUI violators of all ages. Penalties may also vary slightly based on the specifics of an impaired driver's OUI offense.

In Massachusetts, third and subsequent OUI charges are felonies.

First-time DUI offenses in Massachusetts lead to:

  • Up to two-and-a-half years in jail
  • $500 to $5,000 in fines
  • License suspension for one year
  • Possible attendance in an alcohol education program

A second DUI offense in Massachusetts results in:

  • 60 days to two-and-a-half years in jail
  • $600 to $10,000 in fines
  • License suspension for two years
  • Possible attendance in an alcohol education program
  • Mandatory installation and use of an ignition interlock device

Third-time DUI offenders in Massachusetts are subject to:

  • 180 days to two-and-a-half years in jail or two-and-a-half to five years in prison
  • $1,000 to $15,000 in fines
  • License suspension for eight years
  • Possible attendance in an alcohol education program
  • Mandatory installation and use of an ignition interlock device
  • Vehicle registration may be revoked

A fourth OUI offense in Massachusetts leads to:

  • Two to two-and-a-half years in jail or two-and-a-half to five years in prison
  • $1,500 to $25,000 in fines
  • License suspension for 10 years
  • Possible attendance in an alcohol education program
  • Mandatory installation and use of an ignition interlock device
  • Vehicle registration may be revoked
  • Vehicle may be forfeited and seized

A fifth OUI offense in Massachusetts results in:

  • Two to two-and-a-half years in jail or two-and-a-half to five years in prison
  • $2,000 to $50,000 in fines
  • Potential lifetime license revocation
  • Possible attendance in an alcohol education program
  • Mandatory installation and use of an ignition interlock device
  • Vehicle registration may be revoked
  • Vehicle may be forfeited and seized

Penalties are substantially increased for OUI with a suspended license, with a child under 14 years old in the car, or when OUI is fatal.


DUI penalties for underage drinkers in Massachusetts

In addition to the penalties outlined above, underage OUI offenders in Massachusetts must complete a youth alcohol program.

OUI offenders between 18 and 21 years old receive an additional six-month license suspension. Those under 18 years old receive an additional one-year license suspension.

Sources and references:

https://www.dmv.org/ma-massachusetts/automotive-law/dui.php

https://www.edgarsnyder.com/drunk-driving/driving-alcohol-laws/massachusetts.html

The Zebra

The Zebra is the nation's leading independent insurance comparison site. The Zebra compares more than 100 insurance companies and provides agent support and educational resources to ensure drivers are equipped to make the most informed decisions about their home and auto insurance.