South Dakota Car Insurance with a DUI

If you receive a DUI in South Dakota, your auto insurance is going to get more expensive — it's just a matter of by how much.


How does a DUI change car insurance in South Dakota?


In South Dakota, a DUI will boost your yearly car insurance premium by an average value of $639. That is 72% less than the United States average premium hike after a DUI.


CAR INSURANCE AFTER A DUI IN SOUTH DAKOTA — AVERAGE ANNUAL PENALTY
LocationAvg. Annual Rate — no DUIAvg. Annual Rate — with DUIAvg. Increase After DUI
South Dakota$1,708$2,347+37%
United States$1,548$2,556+65%

Shopping for car insurance coverage in South Dakota with a DUI


Purchasing affordable car insurance after a DUI offense is anything but simple. In fact, a DUI generally results in a larger premium increase than any other driving violation — more than racing, reckless driving, or an at-fault accident. South Dakota is a relatively benign state in which to commit a DUI: its insurance penalties are among the nation's most lenient.


Cheap auto insurance after a DUI in South Dakota

If you're found guilty of a driving under the influence violation in South Dakota, it is critical to weigh your insurance options with care. Car insurance premiums following a DUI can vary greatly depending on the company. For example, the least expensive auto insurer after a DUI in South Dakota, State Farm, offers annual rates 51% below the state average insurance price with a DUI. The second-cheapest company for auto insurance after a DUI in South Dakota is American Family, and the most expensive firm is Liberty Mutual, with premiums 111% above average.


CAR INSURANCE RATES AFTER A DUI IN SOUTH DAKOTA — BY INSURER
Insurance CompanyAvg. Annual Rate — After DUI
State Farm$1,150
American Family$1,480
Progressive$1,865
Farmers$2,140
Iowa Farm Bureau$3,191

There’s no car insurance company in particular offering cheap DUI auto insurance. The easiest course of action to limit your losses after a DUI conviction is to shop policies.

Compare car insurance quotes online or contact an insurance agent to survey the landscape and find a cost-effective DUI insurance policy.

Learn more about car insurance and DUI violations.


South Dakota DUI rules

Drivers are DUI in South Dakota when their blood alcohol concentration measures 0.08% or higher. Commercial drivers are held to a stricter standard and are considered DUI when their BAC reads 0.04% or higher.

Based on observation of potential impairment, drivers in South Dakota may also be considered DUI if their BAC is below 0.08% but above 0.05%.

Drivers under 21 years old are DUI in South Dakota if their BAC is 0.02% or higher.


DUI penalties in South Dakota

The DUI lookback period in South Dakota is 10 years. Multiple DUI offenses within this timeframe can lead to enhanced penalties.

In all cases, DUI offenders may be required to participate in a 24/7 sobriety program or install and use an ignition interlock device for a time period determined by the court. There may also be a requirement to undergo mandatory testing with law enforcement.

DUI offenders with a BAC of 0.17% or higher must also undergo an evaluation by a state-approved chemical dependency counselor at their own expense.

First-time DUI offenses in South Dakota lead to:

  • Up to one year in jail
  • Up to $2,000 in fines
  • License revocation for 30 days to one year
  • Restricted license for up to one year

A second DUI offense in South Dakota results in:

  • Up to one year in jail
  • Up to $2,000 in fines
  • License revocation for one year
  • Restricted license for a period determined by the court

A third DUI offense in South Dakota is a class six felony and subjects offenders to:

  • Up to two years in jail
  • Up to $4,000 in fines
  • License revocation for one year
  • Restricted license for a period determined by the court
  • Mandatory chemical dependency counseling
  • Mandatory participation in a 24/7 sobriety program

A fourth DUI offense in South Dakota is a class five felony. Penalties are:

  • Up to 10 years in jail
  • Up to $20,000 in fines
  • License revocation for two years
  • Mandatory participation in a 24/7 sobriety program

Five or more DUI offenses in South Dakota lead to harsher sentences and fines.


DUI penalties for underage drinkers in South Dakota

An underage DUI offense in South Dakota may lead to up to 30 days in jail and fines of up to $500. In addition, an offender's license will be suspended for 30 days for a first offense, 180 days for a second offense, or one year for three or more DUI offenses.

Sources and references:

https://dps.sd.gov/safety-enforcement/highway-safety/safety-priorities/impaired-driving

https://www.dmv.org/sd-south-dakota/automotive-law/dui.php

https://www.edgarsnyder.com/drunk-driving/driving-alcohol-laws/south-dakota.html

https://statelaws.findlaw.com/south-dakota-law/what-are-the-south-dakota-dui-laws.html

Compare car insurance policies today!

or
Location pin icon
glyph-shield-checkmarkNo junk mail. No spam calls. Free quotes.
Ava Lynch LinkedIn

Ava worked in the insurance industry as an agent for four-plus years. Currently providing insights and analysis as one of The Zebra’s resident property insurance experts, Ava has been featured in publications such as U.S. News & World Report, GasBuddy, and Yahoo! Finance.