Need car insurance after a DUI? Compare rates today!
If you happen to are convicted of DUI in Washington, your auto insurance will get more expensive — it's a question of by how much.
How does a DUI change auto insurance in Washington?
In Washington, a DUI will lift your annual car insurance premium by an average of $610. That’s 80% less than the U.S. average premium hike after a DUI.
AUTO INSURANCE AFTER A DUI IN WASHINGTON — AVERAGE ANNUAL PENALTY
|Area||Avg. Annual Rate — no DUI||Avg. Annual Rate — with DUI||Avg. Increase After DUI|
Getting car insurance in Washington with a DUI
Finding inexpensive auto insurance after a DUI conviction isn’t easy. In fact, a DUI often triggers a bigger rate increase than any other driving violation — more than reckless driving, racing, or an at-fault accident.
Best car insurance after a DUI in Washington
If you're convicted of a DUI or DWI offense in Washington, it’s essential to consider your insurance possibilities carefully. Auto insurance prices after a DUI may deviate greatly depending on the company. For example, the least expensive auto insurance company with a DUI in Washington, State Farm, advertises annual rates 36% more affordable than the state average insurance premium after a DUI conviction. The second-cheapest insurer for car insurance after a DUI in Washington is PEMCO Insurance, and the most expensive insurer is Farmers, with rates 50% pricer than average.
CAR INSURANCE RATES WITH DUI IN WASHINGTON — BY PROVIDER
|Insurance Company||Avg. Annual Rate — with DUI|
There’s no car insurance company in particular offering inexpensive DUI car insurance; however. The most effective strategy to limit your losses post-DUI citation is to shop around to find a less costly option.
Compare auto insurance policies online or contact your insurance expert to weigh the choices and find the best policy.
Learn more about car insurance and DUIs.
Shop for a policy today!
Washington DUI laws
Drivers are DUI in Washington when their blood alcohol concentration measures 0.08% or higher. Commercial drivers are held to a stricter standard and are considered DUI when their BAC reads 0.04% or higher.
Drivers under 21 years old are DUI in Washington if their BAC is 0.02% or higher.
DUI penalties in Washington state
The DUI lookback period in Washington State is seven years. Repeated DUI offenses within this timeframe subject offenders to harsher penalties and fines.
In addition, a BAC of 0.15% or higher, a DUI with a passenger under 16 years old, or reckless or negligent driving results in enhanced penalties.
First-time DUI offenses in Washington lead to:
- 24 consecutive hours to 364 days in jail
- $940.50 to $5,000 in fines
- License suspension for 90 days
- Possible requirement to use an interlock ignition device for at least one year
A second DUI offense in Washington results in:
- 30 to 364 days in jail
- $1,195.50 to $5,000 in fines
- License revocation for two years
- Possible requirement to use an IID for at least five years
Penalties for three or more DUI offenses in Washington are:
- 90 to 364 days in jail
- $2,045.50 to $5,000 in fines
- License revocation for three years
- Possible requirement to use an IID for at least 10 years
In addition to the above penalties, a judge may order DUI offenders an alcohol or drug education program, 24/7 Sobriety Program, victim impact program, or treatment.
DUI penalties for underage drinkers in Washington
A driver under age 21 with a BAC less than 0.08% is still DUI in Washington. Penalties include up to 90 days in jail and a fine of up to $1,000. An underage DUI offender's license may be suspended until they turn 21.
Sources and references: