If you receive a DUI in the state of Nebraska, your auto insurance is going to get more expensive — it's only a question of by how much.
How will a DUI alter auto insurance premiums in Nebraska?
In Nebraska, a DUI offense will lift your annual car insurance premium by an average value of $368. That’s 199% less than the United States average rate hike following a DUI.
CAR INSURANCE WITH A DUI IN NEBRASKA — AVERAGE ANNUAL PREMIUM
|Location||Avg. Annual Rate — without DUI||Avg. Annual Rate — with DUI||Avg. Increase After DUI|
How to find car insurance coverage in Nebraska with a DUI violation
Finding affordable car insurance after a DUI violation is far from easy. In fact, a DUI often brings about a greater rate increase than any other driving violation — more than an at-fault accident, racing, or reckless driving. Nebraska is a relatively benign place in which to commit a DUI: its car insurance price hikes are among the nation's most lenient.
Best auto insurance after a DUI in Nebraska
If you're convicted of a DUI or DWI offense in Nebraska, it’s important to assess all possible insurance choices carefully. Car insurance rates following a DUI can deviate greatly depending on the company. For instance, the best cheap auto insurer with a DUI in Nebraska, State Farm, offers annual rates 34% less than the statewide average insurance price after a DUI violation. The next-cheapest choice for car insurance after a DUI in Nebraska is American Family, while the most expensive insurer is Farmers, with premiums 33% more than average.
CAR INSURANCE RATES AFTER DUI IN NEBRASKA — BY INSURANCE COMPANY
|Insurance Company||Avg. Annual Rate — After DUI|
|Iowa Farm Bureau||$1,430|
There is no auto insurance company in particular that offers low-cost DUI auto insurance. The best course of action to limit your losses after a DUI conviction is to shop around.
Compare auto insurance quotes online or contact an insurance agent to assess your choices and find an affordable DUI insurance policy.
Learn more about car insurance and DUIs.
Got a DUI? Find cheap insurance today!
Nebraska DUI laws
Nebraska considers drivers to be DUI when their blood alcohol concentration measures 0.08% or higher. Commercial drivers are DUI in Nebraska when their BAC is 0.04% or higher.
Drivers under 21 years old are DUI when their BAC reads 0.02% or higher.
In Nebraska, even if your BAC is below the legal limit, you may be considered DUI if you are exhibiting behaviors that lead officers to suspect you are impaired or intoxicated.
DUI penalties in Nebraska
Nebraska has a lookback period of 15 years. After the first DUI, any subsequent offenses within 15 years will result in harsher penalties. In addition, penalties are enhanced for any DUI in which the driver has a BAC of 0.15% or higher.
Penalties are also increased for any DUI that causes injury or death.
The first three DUI offenses in Nebraska are misdemeanors. A third DUI is a felony if the driver has a BAC of 0.15%. Four or more offenses are felonies and carry a maximum penalty of 20 years in jail for a fourth offense or 50 years for a fifth.
First-time DUI offenses in Nebraska lead to:
- Seven to 60 days in jail
- $500 in fines
- A 60-day license revocation
- 180-day license suspension for failing a BAC test
- Possible installation and use of an ignition interlock device for six months
A second DUI offense in Nebraska results in:
- 30 to 180 days in jail
- $500 in fines
- 18-month license revocation
- Possible installation and use of an IID 45 days after revocation period
Third-time DUI offenders in Nebraska are subject to:
- 90 days to one year in jail
- $1,000 in fines
- License revoked for 15 years
DUI penalties for underage drinkers in Nebraska
There are no specific laws for underage DUI in Nebraska. Instead, underage drinkers are subject to the same DUI penalties as those over 21 years old.
There may, however, be a reduction in fines for underage DUI:
- Up to $100 in fines for a first offense
- Up to $200 in fines for the second offense within one year
- Up to $300 in fines for third and subsequent offenses within one year
Sources and references: