Why you can trust The Zebra

The Zebra partners with some of the companies we write about. However, our content is written and reviewed by an independent team of editors and licensed agents. Reference our data methodology and learn more about how we make money.

Author profile picture

Ross Martin

Insurance Writer

  • 4+ years in the Insurance Industry

Ross joined The Zebra as a writer and researcher in 2019. He specializes in writing insurance content to help shoppers make informed decisions.

Ross h…

Author profile picture

Renata Balasco

Senior Content Strategist

  • Licensed Insurance Agent — Property and Casualty

Renata joined The Zebra in 2020 as a Customer Experience Agent. Since 2021, she has worked as licensed insurance professional and content strategist.…

Auto insurance for high risk drivers in Nebraska

If you've been deemed at-fault after an accident, filed an insurance claim, or received a ticket for a serious violation, you could be a candidate for high-risk auto insurance. Auto insurance for drivers with bad records is usually expensive, but the extra cost you receive varies based on your auto insurance company, your driving history and the location in which you live.


What goes into auto insurance rates for high-risk drivers in Nebraska:
  1. At-fault accidents
  2. Speeding
  3. Distracted driving
  4. Racing
  5. Reckless driving
  6. Nebraska driving laws


Car insurance after an at-fault accident in Nebraska

If you're found accountable for an auto collision, you can expect your car insurance costs to increase. In Nebraska, the average insurance premium following an at-fault crash is $1,855, compared to the national average of $2,012. A serious incident like an at-fault crash will stay on your insurance record for as long as three years.


Location With At-Fault Accident — Annual Rate No At-Fault Accident — Annual Rate Yearly Rate Increase
Nebraska $1,855 $1,184 $671
National Average $2,012 $1,397 $615


The best insurance company following an at-fault accident in Nebraska is State Farm. The company's typical rate increase after an incident is $796, resulting in a total rate 43 percent less expensive than the average among all insurers. If you've been at-fault in an accident in Nebraska, avoid Farm Bureau and Allied, which sit at the pricier end of the spectrum.


Company Annual Premium With an At-Fault Collision
State Farm $1,059
Farmers Mutual of Nebraska $1,290
American Family $1,405
Farm Bureau $1,677
Allied $1,833


Does getting a speeding ticket in Nebraska result in higher car insurance rates?

One of the common violations that may earn drivers the "high-risk" tag is speeding. In Nebraska, car insurance premiums rise by $243 per year after a speeding ticket, up to an average per-year rate of $1,427.


Location With a Speeding Ticket — Annual Rate No Speeding Ticket — Annual Rate Yearly Rate Increase
Nebraska $1,427 $1,184 $243
National Average $1,727 $1,397 $330

A great way to get affordable insurance after getting a speeding ticket is to shop around and weigh the options. The cheapest auto insurance after a speeding citation in Nebraska is available through State Farm. State Farm’s average rate after a violation is $434 less than the state average. If you've been caught speeding in Nebraska, Allied probably won't be the cheapest option.


Insurance Company Annual Rate After a Speeding Citation
State Farm $993
Farm Bureau $1,084
Farmers Mutual of Nebraska $1,161
American Family $1,167
Allied $1,244


How does a distracted driving citation affect car insurance rates in Nebraska?

If you are found guilty of distracted driving, one side effect will be increased car insurance rates. In Nebraska, car insurance costs typically go up by $218 per year. That's an 18% increase from the usual annual premium in Nebraska and 26% more than the U.S. average cost of car insurance after a distracted driving ticket.


Location With Distracted Driving — Annual Rate No Distracted Driving — Annual Rate Annual Rate Increase
Nebraska $1,402 $1,184 $218
National Average $1,570 $1,397 $173


The easiest way to find affordable car insurance after a distracted driving citation is to explore your options. The cheapest car insurance company following distracted driving in Nebraska is State Farm, with an average rate of only $927 per year, 34% less than the average distracted driving insurance premium among top insurers.


Insurance Company Annual Rate With Distracted Driving
State Farm $927
Nationwide $1,023
Farmers Mutual of Nebraska $1,060
American Family $1,167
Allied $1,244


How does a citation for racing impact Nebraska car insurance rates?

Racing is considered an extraordinarily serious offense. Insurance companies usually penalize racing tickets with major rate hikes — in fact, Nebraska auto insurance premiums increase by an average of $878 annually after a citation for racing. That's a 74% increase on the average yearly car insurance rate in Nebraska!


Location With a Racing Citation — Annual Rate No Racing Citation — Annual Rate Per-Year Rate Increase
Nebraska $2,062 $1,184 $878
National Average $2,397 $1,397 $1,000


If you have been pulled over for a racing offense, do your homework and shop around for the cheapest rates. In Nebraska, start your search with State Farm, offering rates 52 percent cheaper than the state average for drivers found guilty of racing.


Insurer Annual Rate With Racing
State Farm $993
American Family $1,167
Progressive $1,996
Farmers Mutual of Nebraska $2,107
Mid-Century $2,156


How does a citation for reckless driving impact Nebraska car insurance rates?

As one of the most serious driving violations, reckless driving is a certain way to pay more for auto insurance. Insurers increase prices by $764 per year following a reckless driving citation. That comes out to 65% higher than the average car insurance rate in Nebraska, and 10% less than the U.S. average penalty for reckless driving.


Location With Reckless Driving — Annual Rate No Reckless Driving — Annual Rate Yearly Rate Increase
Nebraska $1,949 $1,184 $764
National Average $2,395 $1,397 $998


If you have a reckless driving offense on your record, you should shop around to get the best rate. In Nebraska, the most budget-friendly insurer after reckless driving is State Farm.


Insurer Annual Rate After Reckless Driving
State Farm $993
American Family $1,167
Farm Bureau $1,715
Mid-Century $1,990
Progressive $1,996

If you're looking for auto insurance as a high-risk driver, the best course of action is to shop around and find the best possible policy.

Compare auto insurance rates.

Location pin icon
No junk mail. No spam calls. Free quotes.


Nebraska driving laws

Nebraska driving laws are in place to keep the roads safe. While there are many specific laws related to driving in Nebraska, the following provides a snapshot into some of the common driving laws. Have a look to make sure that you stay on the right side of Nebraska driving laws. 


Speeding in Nebraska

When are you speeding in Nebraska?

Nebraska is a state with plenty of wide-open space. As such, it can be tempting to drive above the posted speed limits. While speed limits vary in different areas of Nebraska, these basic guidelines can be a good rule of thumb for which to follow. 

  • 75 miles per hour on interstate highways (unless otherwise designated)
  • 70 mph on an expressway, freeway or super-two highway that is part of the state highway system
  • 65 mph on any other part of the state highway system
  • 55 mph on highways with dustless surfaces
  • 50 mph on gravel highways
  • 25 mph in residential areas
  • 20 mph in business districts


Penalties for speeding in Nebraska

Speeding in Nebraska carries very specific fines, listed below. Bear in mind these fines may double in construction and school zones. 

  • Up to 5 mph over the limit: $10
  • Between 6 and 10 mph over: $25
  • Between 10 and 15 mph over: $75
  • Between 15 and 20 mph over: $125
  • Between 20 and 35 mph over: $200
  • More than 35 mph over: $300


The state of Nebraska uses a points system to discourage poor driving habits. Along with the above penalties, expect the following points penalties:

  • 5 mph or less over the limit: 1 point
  • Between 5 and 10 mph over: 2 points
  • Between 10 and 35 mph over the limit: 3 points
  • More than 35 mph over the limit: 4 points

Reckless driving in Nebraska

What is reckless driving in Nebraska?

Reckless driving can encompass a variety of different behaviors. In Nebraska, reckless driving is defined as driving “in such a manner as to indicate an indifferent or wanton disregard for the safety of persons or property.”  

The state also designates willful reckless driving separately, defining it as driving in a way that indicates “willful disregard for the safety of persons or property.” Drivers can face stiff penalties regardless of whether or not they have caused any damage. 


Penalties for reckless driving in Nebraska

If you are found in violation of Nebraska's reckless driving laws, you can expect the following penalties to apply:

A first reckless driving conviction is a Class III misdemeanor and carries the following penalties: 

  • Up to three months in prison
  • A fine of up to $500

A first willful reckless driving offense is a Class III misdemeanor, but goes somewhat further in its penalties:

  • Six points added to your license
  • Up to three months in prison
  • A fine of up to $500
  • License revoked between 30 days to one year

A second conviction for either reckless or willful reckless driving is a Class II misdemeanor and carries these penalties:

  • License revoked between 60 days and two years
  • Up to six months in prison
  • A fine of up to $1,000
  • Car impounded from two months to one year

Third or subsequent convictions of reckless or willful reckless driving is considered a Class I misdemeanor with the following consequences: 

  • Up to one year in prison
  • A fine of up to $1,000
  • License revoked for one year
  • Car impounded

Distracted driving in Nebraska

What is distracted driving in Nebraska?

Distracted driving causes countless accidents each year. It can come in many forms, from changing the radio station to thinking about what you watched on television last night. One of the most common forms of distraction comes from texting while driving. Fortunately, Nebraska has enacted laws against texting and driving to help prevent accidents. All drivers, regardless of age, are banned from texting while driving. 

Penalties for distracted driving in Nebraska

Nebraska has cracked down on texting and driving. Each violation of Nebraska’s texting and driving laws will add three points to your license as well as the following fines:

  • $200 fine for the first offense
  • $300 fine for a second offense
  • $500 fine for any further offenses


Racing in Nebraska

What counts as racing in Nebraska?

Racing in Nebraska is defined as using “one or more vehicles in an attempt to outgain or outdistance another vehicle.” The state further defines “drag racing” as two or more vehicles that are “side by side at accelerating speeds in a competitive attempt to outdistance each other.” Both of these are illegal in the state of Nebraska. 

Penalties for racing in Nebraska

If you are caught racing in Nebraska, you are guilty of a Class II misdemeanor. The following penalties will be applied.

  • Five points added to your license
  • Up to six months in prison
  • A fine of up to $1,000

At-fault accident laws in Nebraska

How are at-fault accidents legislated in Nebraska?

Nebraska requires certain insurance coverage of all drivers. All drivers are required to carry liability coverage, which pays for damages caused by the at-fault driver. The minimum liability insurance required by Nebraska is as follows:

  • $25,000 in bodily injury coverage per person
  • $50,000 in total bodily injury coverage per accident
  • $25,000 in property damage


Nebraska also requires drivers to have uninsured/underinsured coverage, which protects you against drivers who do not carry coverage or who don’t carry enough coverage. Here is the minimum uninsured/underinsured coverage required:

  • $25,000 bodily injury coverage per person
  • $50,000 bodily injury coverage per accident


Penalties for at-fault accidents in Nebraska

If you are found at fault in an accident in Nebraska, it is up to you -- or more likely your insurance -- to pay for damages. If you are properly insured, your insurance company will take care of these damages. The only penalty is likely to be a rise in your insurance rates. 

However, if you only carry the state-mandated minimum of liability coverage, it’s possible that you could exceed those limits in the event of an expensive accident. If this occurs, you could be held personally liable for any further damages. For this reason, it is often suggested that drivers carry more than the bare minimum coverage. 

If you are found guilty of driving with no insurance in Nebraska, you are charged with a Class II misdemeanor and can expect the following penalties to apply:

  • Up to six months in prison
  • A fine of up to $1,000
  • Suspension of license until proof of insurance can be shown
  • Filing of an SR-22 certificate

Of course, these are just the legal penalties. Should you be found at-fault in an accident without insurance, you are personally liable for all damages. This can be far more expensive than any fine or insurance premium. 


DUI in Nebraska

What is a DUI in Nebraska?

Intoxicated driving in Nebraska is considered having a Blood Alcohol Concentration (BAC) of .08% or higher. However, the state has a separate distinction for High BAC which is reserved for any driver with .15% BAC or over. This carries even harsher penalties. 

Penalties for a DUI in Nebraska

If you are found to be guilty of a DUI in Nebraska, you can expect harsh penalties. The following are some of the basic guidelines that you can expect if your BAC is .08% or over. 

First conviction:

  • Six points added to your license
  • Seven to 60 days in jail
  • Up to $500 in fines (plus court fees)
  • License revoked up to six months

Second conviction:

  • Six points added to your license
  • Thirty days to six months in jail
  • Up to a $500 fine (plus court fees)
  • License revoked up to 18 months

Third offense:

  • Twelve points added to your license
  • Ninety days to one year in jail
  • Up to a $1,000 fine
  • License revoked up to 15 years

Learn more about Nebraska's car insurance rules.

Sources and references:

  • https://nebraskalegislature.gov
  • http://dhhs.ne.gov

Auto insurance for high risk drivers in Nebraska

Have a specific question about high risk car insurance in Nebraska? Ask one of our licensed agents!

Should I contact the police and insurance company days after I rear ended a car?

It is unlikely that the other driving contacting the police days after the accident will result in any citation. Unless they were called to the scene, they probably won't even be able to write an accident report. In the majority of rear-end crashes, the driver in the back is normally considere…
Dec 5, 2017 Omaha, Nebraska

Should I cancel my policy if I sold my vehicle and won't be getting another car for a month?

Canceling your auto insurance when you sell a vehicle sounds like a good idea until you realize the potential pitfalls of doing so. While it may not make sense to maintain auto insurance when you no longer own a vehicle, consider the fact that you still have to have insurance to test drive a vehicl…
Mar 9, 2016 Lincoln, NE

About The Zebra

The Zebra is not an insurance company. We publish data-backed, expert-reviewed resources to help consumers make more informed insurance decisions.

  • The Zebra’s insurance content is written and reviewed for accuracy by licensed insurance agents.
  • The Zebra’s insurance editorial content is not subject to review or alteration by insurance companies or partners.
  • The Zebra’s editorial team operates independently of the company’s partnerships and commercialization interests, publishing unbiased information for consumer benefit.
  • The auto insurance rates published on The Zebra’s pages are based on a comprehensive analysis of car insurance pricing data, evaluating more than 83 million insurance rates from across the United States.