Auto insurance requirements in Nebraska
Nebraska law requires that all drivers carry certain levels of car insurance coverage in order to be legal. Proof of this coverage must be carried when behind the wheel. Furthermore, this proof must be shown at the request of any law enforcement official.
Read on to find out more about mandatory car insurance in Nebraska as well as optional coverages that add further protection.
|Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Coverage|
Liability insurance coverage in Nebraska
Liability coverage is legally required in Nebraska and pays for bodily injuries and property damage of those that you harm in an at-fault accident. It also pays for the injured party’s lost wages and pain and suffering. Your liability coverage never pays for your injuries or damages to your property.
Uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage in Nebraska
Uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage is legally required in Nebraska and pays for injury and lost wages that you or your passengers may suffer in the event that you are in an accident with an uninsured driver who is at fault. The coverage limits are determined by each individual state and normally split into two categories, bodily injury per person and bodily injury per accident. In Nebraska, the minimum is listed as 25/50 and explained below.
What are state-mandated car insurance limits in Nebraska?
In the car insurance industry, a limit is the maximum amount your insurance company will pay to cover a claim. Liability coverage limits are determined by each individual state and are normally split into three categories: bodily injury per person, bodily injury per accident, and property damage. In Nebraska, the minimum is listed as 25/50/25 and explained below:
- $25,000 in bodily injury coverage per person is the maximum dollar amount that will be paid for a single person that you injure in an auto accident.
- $50,000 in bodily injury coverage per accident is the maximum dollar amount that will be paid for all injuries that you cause in an accident in which more than one person is hurt.
- $25,000 in property damage per accident is the total dollar amount that will be paid for damage that you cause in an accident.
Uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage is set up similarly to the bodily injury portion of your liability coverage. Because property damage is not included, these limits break down as follows:
- $25,000 in bodily injury coverage per person is the maximum dollar amount that will be paid for a single person injured in your vehicle by an uninsured driver.
- $50,000 in bodily injury coverage per accident is the maximum dollar amount that will be paid for all injuries in your vehicle by an uninsured driver if more than one person is hurt.
Do Nebraska’s required insurance minimums provide enough coverage?
Nebraska’s car insurance minimums are roughly on par with most other states. However, carrying the bare minimum coverage is rarely enough to fully protect you and your assets. Liability limits can be reached quite quickly with even moderate injuries. This is especially true if you injure multiple people. The $25,000 property damage limit is just shy of the average cost of a new vehicle. Therefore if you want to ensure that you are properly covered, increasing these limits is a great idea.
Furthermore, Nebraska requires no coverage for your own vehicle. If you want your own car to be protected, you would need to add extra coverage options.
Nebraska’s penalties for driving without proof of insurance
If you are found guilty of driving with no insurance in Nebraska, you are charged with a Class II misdemeanor and can expect the following penalties to apply:
- A fine of at least $50
- Suspension of your license until proof of insurance can be shown
- Filing of an SR-22 certificate
Optional car insurance coverage in Nebraska
Nebraska law requires liability and uninsured/underinsured motorist coverages, but most insurance carriers offer a number of other helpful coverage options. Here is a list of some of the more common options available:
- Comprehensive: This coverage pays for damages to your vehicle that occur in non-collision circumstances. It covers perils such as theft and damage related to weather events.
- Collision: This coverage pays for damages that result from a collision with another vehicle or stationary object.
- Loan/Lease Payoff: Sometimes referred to as gap coverage, this coverage can pay the difference between what you owe on a loan and what your car’s actual cash value. This can help in the event that you owe more than your car is actually worth.
- Medical Payments: In the event of an accident, this coverage goes towards paying for your medical expenses as well as those in your vehicle.
- Rental Car Reimbursement: If your car is rendered undrivable, this coverage can help pay for a rental car until yours can be fixed.
- Roadside Assistance: Many insurance companies offer some form of roadside assistance that can help with things such as flat tires, dead batteries, and towing expenses.
Why it's important to adhere to Nebraska’s car insurance requirements
Carrying car insurance in Nebraska is mandatory. Not only is it a legal requirement, but it’s a good way to protect yourself and your assets. Adding coverage or increasing your current limits is always recommended to add even more protection. However, if you’re worried about an increase in your premiums, it may be time to shop for cheaper coverage. The Zebra is a great place to start, giving you the opportunity to see side-by-side insurance quotes from the nation’s top carriers.
Enter your ZIP below to get started.
Compare insurance rates today!