Hawaii Car Insurance with a DUI

If you receive a DUI or DWI in Hawaii, your auto insurance rates are bound to rise: it's just a question of how much extra you'll pay. However, by shopping carefully and comparing rates, you can mitigate the costs of car insurance after a driving under the influence citation.


How to find affordable auto insurance in Hawaii after a DUI


Finding cheap car coverage after a DUI violation isn’t simple. In fact, a DUI usually results in a larger premium increase than any other driving violation — more than racing, reckless driving, or an at-fault accident. Hawaii is an especially bad state in which to be convicted of a DUI: its car insurance rate hikes are among the nation's harshest.


The most affordable car insurance after a DUI in Hawaii

If you're convicted of a DWI or DUI violation in Hawaii, it’s important to examine all possible insurance options thoroughly. Car insurance rates after a DUI may deviate substantially by company. For example, the most affordable auto insurance company with a DUI in Hawaii, State Farm, offers annual rates 60% more affordable than the state mean insurance premium with a DUI conviction. The second-cheapest option for auto insurance with a DUI in Hawaii is USAA, while the most expensive insurer is Liberty Mutual, with prices 102% pricer than average.


CHEAPEST CAR INSURANCE COMPANIES FOR DRIVERS WITH A DUI
Insurance CompanyAvg. Annual Rate — After DUI
State Farm$1,311
USAA$1,895
GEICO$3,070
Allstate$3,563

No single auto insurance company offers truly affordable car insurance after a DUI. The easiest way to save money post-DUI violation is to shop around.

Compare auto insurance quotes online or reach out to an insurance expert to survey the landscape and discover a reasonable policy.


How will a DUI affect car insurance in Hawaii?


In Hawaii, a DUI will increase your annual auto insurance rate by an average of $2,201. That is 50% more than the United States mean rate increase following a DUI.


CAR INSURANCE AFTER A DUI IN HAWAII — AVERAGE ANNUAL COST
AreaAvg. Annual Rate — no DUIAvg. Annual Rate — with DUIAvg. Increase After DUI
Hawaii$1,045$3,247+211%
United States$1,548$2,556+65%

Learn more about car insurance and DUI violations.

Compare rates and find cheap DUI car insurance today!

or
Location pin icon
glyph-shield-checkmarkNo junk mail. No spam calls. Free quotes.

Hawaii DUI laws

Drivers are deemed to be DUI in Hawaii if their blood alcohol concentration measures 0.08% or higher. Commercial drivers are DUI with a BAC of 0.04% and those under 21 years old are DUI if their BAC measures 0.02% or higher.


DUI penalties in Hawaii

Hawaii's lookback period is five years. Multiple DUI offenses within this period enhance the penalties of driving under the influence.

First-time DUI offenses in Hawaii lead to:

  • Generally no jail time, but the possibility of two to five days in jail
  • $150 to $1,000 in fines
  • Up to one year license revocation
  • $25 fee toward a neurotrauma special fund
  • $25 fee toward a trauma system special fund
  • Possibility of 72 hours of community service
  • Possibility of participation in a substance abuse program
  • Vehicle is impounded

A second DUI offense in Hawaii results in:

  • Five to 30 days in jail
  • $500 to $1,500 in fines
  • License revocation for up to two years
  • $25 fee toward a neurotrauma special fund
  • $25 fee toward a trauma system special fund
  • Possibility of up to 240 hours of community service
  • Attendance in a substance abuse program
  • Vehicle is impounded

Third-time DUI offenders in Hawaii are subject to:

  • 10 to 30 days in jail
  • $500 to $2,500 in fines
  • License revocation for up to two years
  • $25 fee toward a neurotrauma special fund
  • $25 fee toward a trauma system special fund
  • Vehicle is impounded

Repeated DUI offenses in Hawaii will result in the violator being declared a habitual offender. Additional offenses are treated as class C felonies and can lead to a lifetime revocation of an offender's driver's license. A habitual offender's vehicle may also be forfeited to the state.


DUI penalties for underage drinkers in Hawaii

Anyone less than 21 years old suspected of driving under the influence or found to have a measurable BAC is considered DUI in Hawaii.

For a first-time underage DUI, offenders will:

  • Pay a fine between $50 and $500
  • Need to attend an alcohol abuse education/counseling program for up to 10 hours (a parent/guardian must attend as well if offender is under 18 years old)
  • Have a 180-day license suspension (30 day absolute suspension if 18 or older, 150 days limited suspension for work/counseling)
  • May be required to perform up to 36 hours of community service

A second underage DUI offense leads to:

  • $300 to $1,000 in fines
  • License suspended for one year
  • Up to 50 hours of community service

A third underage DUI offense in Hawaii results in:

  • $300 to $1,000 in fines
  • Two-year license revocation
  • Up to 100 hours of community service

Sources and references:

https://www.dmv.org/hi-hawaii/automotive-law/dui.php

https://www.dmv.com/hi/hawaii/dui-dwi

https://dui.drivinglaws.org/hawaii.php

http://www.duiarresthelp.com/states/hawaii/dui-first-offense.php

https://www.nolo.com/legal-encyclopedia/hawaii-dui-dwi-33646.html

https://www.edgarsnyder.com/drunk-driving/driving-alcohol-laws/hawaii.html

https://www.criminalandmilitarydefensehawaii.com/DUI/Underage-DUI.aspx

The ZebraThe nation's leading independent insurance comparison site

The Zebra is an independent insurance advisor and quote comparison site with headquarters in Austin, Texas. Utilizing its real-time quote comparison tool, The Zebra partners with companies such as Allstate, Liberty Mutual, and Progressive to help consumers browse pricing, coverage, and service level for both home and auto insurance policies.