Rhode Island Car Insurance with a DUI

If you are convicted of DUI in Rhode Island, your car insurance will get more expensive — it's a question of by how much.


How does a DUI affect car insurance in Rhode Island?


In Rhode Island, a DUI offense will increase your annual auto insurance premium by an average of $1,967. That’s 44% more than the United States average premium hike after a DUI.


CAR INSURANCE WITH A DUI IN RHODE ISLAND — AVERAGE ANNUAL PENALTY
LocationAvg. Annual Rate — no DUIAvg. Annual Rate — with DUIAvg. Increase After DUI
Rhode Island$2,103$4,069+94%
United States$1,548$2,556+65%

How to find auto insurance in Rhode Island with a DUI violation


Finding affordable car insurance in the wake of a DUI conviction is anything but straightforward. In fact, a DUI typically results in a greater rate hike than does any single driving infraction — more than an at-fault accident, reckless driving, or racing. Rhode Island is an especially unfortunate state in which to be convicted of a DUI: its car insurance rate hikes are among the US' harshest.


Cheap auto insurance after a DUI in Rhode Island

If you’re found guilty of a DWI or DUI violation in Rhode Island, it is essential to mull over available insurance choices with care. Car insurance prices after a DUI can vary greatly depending on the company. For example, the cheapest auto insurer with a DUI in Rhode Island, GEICO, offers annual rates 32% less than the statewide average insurance rate with a DUI violation. The next-most affordable company for car insurance with a DUI in Rhode Island is Progressive, while the most expensive company is Amica, with rates 94% more than average.


AUTO INSURANCE RATES WITH DUI IN RHODE ISLAND — BY INSURER
Insurance CompanyAvg. Annual Rate — After DUI
GEICO$2,753
Progressive$3,100
Allstate$4,252
Nationwide$4,654

There’s no auto insurance company in particular that offers affordable DUI car insurance. The most effective way to save money post-DUI conviction is to shop around.

Compare auto insurance quotes online or contact your insurance professional to weigh the choices and find a cost-effective DUI insurance policy.

Learn more about car insurance and DUIs.


Rhode Island DUI laws

Drivers are DUI in Rhode Island when their blood alcohol concentration measures 0.08% or higher. Commercial drivers are held to a stricter standard and are considered DUI when their BAC reads 0.04% or higher.

Drivers under 21 years old are DUI in Rhode Island if their BAC is 0.02% or higher.


DUI penalties in Rhode Island

The lookback period for DUI in Rhode Island is five years. Multiple DUI offenses within this timeframe may lead to harsher penalties and fines.

Additionally, penalties are enhanced for a DUI leading to injury or death or in which a child under 13 years old was being transported.

First-time DUI offenses in Rhode Island in which the violator's BAC was at least 0.08% but less than 0.10% lead to:

  • Up to one year in jail
  • $100 to $300 in fines
  • License suspension for 30 to 180 days
  • 10 to 60 hours of community service

A first-time DUI offense in Rhode Island with a BAC of 0.10% to less than 0.15% results in:

  • Up to one year in jail
  • $100 to $400 in fines
  • License suspension for three to 12 months
  • 10 to 60 hours of community service
  • Must attend a DUI course
  • Must undergo alcohol treatment

A first-time DUI offense with a BAC of 0.15% or higher leads to:

  • Up to one year in jail
  • $500 in fines
  • License suspension for three to 18 months
  • 20 to 60 hours of community service
  • Must attend a DUI course
  • Must undergo alcohol treatment

A second DUI offense in Rhode Island with a BAC of at least 0.08% but less than 0.15% results in:

  • 10 days to one year in jail
  • At least $400 in fines
  • License suspension for one to two years
  • Must undergo alcohol treatment
  • Possible requirement to install and use an ignition interlock device for one to two years

A second DUI offense with a BAC of 0.15% or higher subjects an offender to:

  • Six months to one year in jail
  • At least $1,000 in fines
  • License suspension for two years
  • Possible requirement to install and use an IID for up to two years

Three or more DUI offenses with a BAC of at least 0.08% and less than 0.15% in Rhode Island lead to:

  • One to three years in jail
  • At least $400 in fines
  • License suspension for one to three years
  • Must undergo alcohol treatment
  • Possible requirement to install and use an IID for up to two years
  • Vehicle may be forfeited to the state

Three or more DUI offenses with a BAC of 0.15% or higher result in:

  • Three to five years in jail
  • $1,000 to $5,000 in fines
  • License suspension for three years
  • Possible requirement to install and use an IID for up to two years
  • Vehicle may be forfeited to the state

DUI penalties for underage drinkers in Rhode Island

Underage DUI in Rhode Island may result in the following penalties:

  • Sentencing to the Rhode Island Training School
  • Fines and fees
  • Mandatory community service
  • Suspended license
  • Alcohol abuse counseling and treatment

Sources and references:

https://www.dmv.org/ri-rhode-island/automotive-law/dui.php

https://www.edgarsnyder.com/drunk-driving/driving-alcohol-laws/rhode-island.html

Find affordable car insurance with a DUI today!

or
Location pin icon
glyph-shield-checkmarkNo junk mail. No spam calls. Free quotes.
Ava Lynch LinkedIn

Ava worked in the insurance industry as an agent for four-plus years. Currently providing insights and analysis as one of The Zebra’s resident property insurance experts, Ava has been featured in publications such as U.S. News & World Report, GasBuddy, and Yahoo! Finance.